We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous homestay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thevercad Alleppey Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thevercad Alleppey Homestay
Save
You added Thevercad Alleppey Homestay to your Saves list
Kainakary, Alappuzha 688 501, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 146 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous homestay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We enjoyed great hospitality from George, BIndu and their family during our four day stay in August. The Kerala food was tasty and generous, although a challenge for our 12 year old son.The beautiful homestay, right next to the river, has been in the family for six generations. Make sure you explore the local walking paths as well as the backwaters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Thevercad homestay is a beautiful property by the water, great food, great hospitality, great boat trip around all the little river off-shots. George, Bindu and Thomas are very welcoming and helpful - and it is a great place to stay for a day or 2. The only thing that I had hoped for was to be more integrated into real India family life - would liked to have eaten with them rather than them serving us, would like it if their sons had hung out with our sons etc, but other than that - great stay in the backwaters.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

George and Bindu are the nicest host you could dream of, and Bindu's keralan cuisine is truly excellent. The rooms are spotless, just by the canal, and you can see a whole life passing by all day long.

The location in Kainakary is great, offering plenty of possibilities to explore the quiet village life in the backwaters and the rice paddies, either by boat or just walking around, just the right distance away from the agitation of Allepey. Everyone is smiling as you pass by the various farms, schools and churches of the area.

Highly recommendable !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Set in one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever stayed in, right next to a lovely serene backwater, Thevercad was an amazing place to relax in for a couple of days. From the moment we arrived, George, Bindu and the rest of the family proved to be wonderful hosts. The room was lovely - large with a comfortable bed, decent (quiet) air con, and an amazing outdoor bathroom with a tree growing in the middle of it! Bindu's food was plentiful, varied, and delicious - I ate great food at other homestays but this seemed to be a truly authentic Keralan culinary experience. It is located about 10 kms outside of Alleppey in one of the backwater villages, so it was well away from the bustle of the town.

We did the sunset boat tour which, not taking into account the weird rabbit farm we stopped at which just had a load of very hot looking rabbits kept in small cages, was absolutely incredible and watching the sunset from the lake was an unforgettable experience. The next morning we did the canoe tour of the backwaters near the homestay, and that afternoon we took ourselves off on a walk through the rice paddy fields and then along the backwaters, passing the locals who were going about their everyday business. Everyone was so friendly, and the children seemed fascinated by the two foreigners walking past their houses! The reason I came to Kerala is because I saw a programme years ago which featured the houseboats, and I fell in love with the idea of staying on a houseboat, floating down these beautiful rural backwaters. In the end I didn't even end up going on a houseboat, but I don't feel that I missed out in the slightest. The great thing about the canoe and sunset cruise is that the boats could fit down the narrower passages that the houseboats wouldn't have a chance of fitting into, so it seemed that we saw more not doing a houseboat.

If you are looking for a way to experience the beautifully serene backwaters which is slightly different to the usual houseboat approach, then Thevercad Homestays fits the bill perfectly! (though if you still want to do a houseboat, George can organise this for you)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed in the two rooms with our daughter son-in-law and our twin grandchildren. The hosts were very friendly and hospitable. The couple had 3 boys and a daughter and all of them were pleasant company particularly for our grandchildren.
The rooms were inside a heritage house but with modern amenities. They were very clean. The breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner over 3 days were delicious and sumptuous. They never repeated a single item and we could taste home grown mangoes, jackfruit (the firsts in the season) and chickoos.
They helped us with services like boats and canoes. We recommend this homestay for peple looking for a quite and relaxing homestay by the river..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hospitality here is outstanding and food is delicious - home-cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in the rate. The building is charming and the waterfront location is ideal. We explored the waterways and paddy fields on foot from the property and we took local ferries in both directions to explore further afield. We liked the chance to meet people instead of being isolated on board a houseboat. For us, this was a perfect way to experience the backwaters; we really enjoyed the canoe ride which George arranged for us.

The host family are truly charming and interesting. Access is perfectly straightforward via auto rickshaw from Allepey railway station, about 10km away. There are only two rooms, beautifully furnished and spotless, with efficient air conditioning. The rooms are in cosy promximity to each other (we had considerate neighbours on the first night, and then we enjoyed having the place to ourselves on the second); the verandah is ideal for relaxing and watching the world go by on the riverbank and on the water.

This really was a highlight of our Indian holiday. We are so glad we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were welcomed by Bindu and George and their children. Our room was very nice and clean and installed with a quiet a/c (the room was once used for storing the harvested rice, we were later told). The outdoor bathroom and toilet was very charming with red pepples on the ground and a lime tree hanging over the wall.
But the most appealing with this place was definitely the host family. George constant efforts to make us all feel at home and comfortable. Bindus amazing cooking skills and easygoing personality - willingly sharing her best cooking secrets with her guests. And their childrens eager to answer all of our curious questions about life in the Backwaters.

During our stay the country was having a two day strike where all motorized transportation vehicles were not allowed to move, so it was really quiet during our walks and canoe trips along the rivers.

A great place to experience life on the Backwaters. And a wonderful oppertunity to taste kerala food. Every meal was a gourmet experience.

Room Tip: If you are interested in cooking, ask Bindu if you can watch over her shoulder while she prepares he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thevercad Alleppey Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thevercad Alleppey Homestay

Address: Kainakary, Alappuzha 688 501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Thevercad Alleppey Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thevercad Alleppey Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.