We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Kerala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pampa Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pampa Villa to your Saves list
Pampa Villa
Pampa River | Champakulam (Kuttanad), Alappuzha 400022, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 146 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Kerala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent an incredible time at Pampa Villa, a true paradise escape next to the backwaters that we had all to ourselves! This place is a true villa- a peaceful, private house that is located in a beautiful area, nestled between rice paddy fields and the backwaters. The accommodations were unlike anything I had previously experienced in India: immaculate bedrooms, incredible showers, beautiful decorations and pristine pool. Not to mention, the warm and friendly service provided by the staff. We arrived at Pampa Villa in late morning, and first took a swim and lounged around the pool, a beautiful, well-sized swimming pool surrounded by chairs and grass, with a view of the backwaters. We enjoyed a delicious lunch, and spent a relaxing afternoon around the house and pool; the staff kindly brought our afternoon tea, coffee, and snacks poolside!
In the later afternoon, we used bicycles provided by Pampa Villa to explore the quiet, peaceful surrounding neighborhoods: this was definitely one of the highlights of our time in India, and certainly a memorable experience. We biked through the extensive paddy fields and small dirt roads, reaching places in the area that we couldn’t have gotten to by car. I chatted with a few locals from the area, who were all very nice and more than happy to welcome me to their area, and point me in the right direction when I gotten turned around (lots of winding, small dirt roads can do that)! We eventually settled down alongside a paddy field to watch the sun set, a truly beautiful sight.
Dinner of fresh seafood was served in the evening, and the friendly service provided was much appreciated. We spent a peaceful evening on the porch, occasionally getting up and walking to water’s edge to sit for a few moments and enjoy the night stars. And I enjoyed one of the most restful nights of sleep in India in the incredibly comfortable bed. Breakfast the next morning was also top-notch, as expected. Definitely plan to stay at Pampa Villa again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

a group of friends and their respective families decided to go to this place over the weekend. we were not sure what to expect on arrival as the only feedback we had was from our travel agent and few other friends. Being a bit off the regular map of tourist hot spot resorts, it was a bit of a gamble. Maybe we were lucky coz the gamble sure paid off. They have three lovely bedrooms with attached bathrooms, a lovely sit out in front and an excellent dining area. but the star attraction is the lovely lawn in front with a beautiful view of the river. You can laze around on a hammock if you like or ask for breakfast to be served outside(if its not raining). The fact is that since its a small villa, we had the whole place to ourselves. for those on a longer stay schedule, this would be an excellent place to camp out and explore the region. since we were there only for the weekend, we did not travel out much. Thats coz the service and the food were really good. Any time we needed anything, they would shimmer in like magic and be at out service. No request was met with a simple no. They would improvise on the difficult ones and get us a good alternative and this was great considering we were travelling with kids. We all felt like royalty. so who wants to leave such a lovely palace?:)
But i saved the best for last. They have the loveliest plunge pool next to the villa. After the kids went to sleep, we had an awesome time in the pool till 3 am! and would you believe it, they would still be around to serve us food and beverages, and be there for breakfast the next morning!!! Amazing bunch of people and i really admire their dedication to their work. would love to go back there for another weekend or even longer if time permits. If you ever come across this place on your trip, make sure you book it. its worth the gamble!

Room Tip: all 3 rooms are good. there is not a particular room that i would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a small family reunion with about 10 members and this was a perfect place. The villa is right on the back water and carefully decorated maintaining the Kerala look. The service and hospitality was outstanding. They also cook local cusine based on your taste. If you are looking for a get away from the city and enjoy the peace and quiet of the country side without comprimising the luxury of a holiday, this is a perfect place. This is also a perfect place to go with friends. I hope to go back one day.

Room Tip: Try to book the whole villa so you have the place to your selves and the privacy of a home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juba, South Sudan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Amazing location right on the backwaters makes this villa feel like your very own getaway. The manager and everyone here is so nice and treat the villa like a true home. I loved sitting on the porch and just watch all the houseboats and canoes go by. It was like being apart of the neighborhood. The fresh seafood was scrumptious too. Overall, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed here with two friends in March 2012. We had an amazing experience. After a long bus ride and rickshaw ride, we were greeted with cold towels and fresh watermelon juice. Just what we needed to refresh ourselves after the journey. We were served amazing seafood meals at both lunch and dinner. The property has bikes available for use, so it is easy to explore the area around the hotel. There is also a lovely swimming pool alongside the river. We spent our afternoon by the pool, where we were served coffee and tea and an afternoon snack of fried bananas. The staff at Pampa Villa were incredibly helpful, and assisted us in finding buses to our next destinations. I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation in Kerala. We also took a houseboat from the same company, which picked us up right in front of Pampa Villa. It was all run very smoothly, so our trip was stress free.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pampa Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pampa Villa

Address: Pampa River | Champakulam (Kuttanad), Alappuzha 400022, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searching for an ideal getaway that represents Alleppey's backwaters we found Pampa Villa.The villa is a traditional village home overlooking the majestic river Pampa, with lush green lawns and a coconut grove with hammocks. We've renovated the heritage property to include state-of-the-art facilities while retaining its old world charm. With air-conditioned bedrooms and a mini-conference hall it naturally becomes an ideal place for honeymooners, families as well as small scale business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pampa Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pampa Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pampa Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.