We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mansoon Holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emarald Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Emarald Island Resort to your Saves list
Emarald Island Resort
Cherthala, Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688533, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Mansoon Holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent hotel. View is awesome. its totally worth for money . Hotel staffs are very friendly, helpful and polite. room & Food is also nice. Overall a very nice experience. Thumbs up for the lovely resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    8
    2
    7
See reviews for
16
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palakkad, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I have visited this resort many times , located around 30km away from cochin . Good point is that this place not crowed like kumarakam . All the rooms are floating on the water where you get feelings of a house boat !food was average as well the service .service can be improved , may be lack of professional staff . The location is superb and the view .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmaraldHotelsIndia, Public Relations Manager at Emarald Island Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your comments. Happy to know that you are a regular visitor of Emarald Floating Island Resort, which the Unique resort with largest number of Floating Cottages in Kerala. We are happy to inform you that Emarald Group of Hotels & Resorts is promoting Authentic Ayurveda through our selected Resorts and Emarald Floating Island Resort is one among it. Probably in your next visit you will be able to experience Authentic Ayurveda at its best.
With Thanks & Regards,

Sreejith
Online PRO
Emarald Group of Hotels & Resorts
+91484 3199618
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Overall premises worth visit and stay not maintained by management .visited for the month of April 2013 and its hot out in rooms even after having air conditioner !

Not serviced for years, old furnitures!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were a party of 6 adults booked in for a day.The website photos are very misleading.This place must be avoided. Its very badly maintained with awful food, indifferent service, decrepit and general neglect.One of our party was disabled and a wheel-chair was not available but to their credit they mustered enough manpower to carry her on a chair! The short house boat trip was the only redeeming feature of the stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here earlier this month and am extremely thankful we were only there for one night. I don't expect places in India to be as nice as in the U.S., but this was a bizarre place by any set of standards. In theory, an island hotel in the backwaters is a wonderful idea, and maybe it looked nice once, but when we were there, this place felt like a rundown motel, NOT a resort. A shabby-looking little boat that will make you question the safety of your belongings brought us to the "island" which only 3 other families were staying on (of 19, I believe.) There is no internet-- we couldn't even use their computer in the reception area because the person there was nowhere to be found -- and no separate showers/tubs in the bathrooms. Also, we found a dead cockroach in the bathroom when we got there, which sounds standard for this place based on other reviews. The restaurant was essentially closed (we walked in and had to say "hello" multiple times before someone showed up) since there were so few people staying there, so we got room service for most meals and the food was bland. Everything about this place looked rickety, shabby and poorly maintained. However, the houseboat tour we took of the backwaters here was excellent, so they have that going for them. Makemytrip must get some crazy commission for booking people here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satara, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

After pleasant stay at thekkaddy we moved to alleppey at this hotel....frankly it was moist and bit hot day...typical sea cost environment...lots of aquatic plants floating in the back water. we were late to report, though some renovation work was going at reception center, it was quick response and appology for present condition...they took us to the island by boat. staff was cooperative. food quality was average, restaurant status was average. room condition and overall ambiance was bit poorly maintained .....so we were disappointed ...hotel is outside alleppy...not available on GPS system ....overall everything is average or below....at same price you ll find other hotels. we stayed there just before new year eve...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Now this is a perfect example where internet photos & sites can go wrong . In photos it may look good & even sites may appreciate BUT beware this is a very poorly maintained property with broken tiles , broken taps , boken door mates & a poor attitude of staff. First of all its not in allepy , its 50 km away prom allepy near eranaculam with very poor location . You have to go thru broken unmettaled kaccha road to reach its site , its a very small island with nothing and nothing to do. Staff is untrained . Food is as bad as it can be like a street dhabha. On went from delhi to this cheap resort to celebrate my new year eve oh god what a mistake . This resort had invited 400 local guest apart from hotel guest with aweful food , only malayali music with no alcoholic drinks on this island . There is no bar here too . Should i warn you more i will just say plz avoid this . This is a misuse of pride name as there is no pride here . This should be closed in public interest ....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emarald Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emarald Island Resort

Address: Cherthala, Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688533, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Floating Luxury" A unique Holiday Experience, in the middle of a lake, live on Floating Villas, dine on Floating Restaurant, the murmur of the wind, lullaby of the tidal waves, gazing at the infinite view of the backwaters from the privacy of your bedroom. Perfect way to unwind, rejuvenate mind, body and soul, all these by leaving the minimal footprint on environment for the next generation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emarald Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emarald Island Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emarald Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.