We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Citrus Retreats Alleppey to your Saves list
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8/504A-504N, Karimba Valavu | Punnapra North, Paravoor Village,, Alappuzha 600014, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed Citrus during last week of May. This is amazing facility. Right from the experience of entering to hotel (since it is not accessible by road) till check-out, it was a wonderful experience.

Food quality was amazing. We all are pure veg. Taste and quality was mouth watering. Staff, not only asked, but gave suggestions on Kerala dishes that went well along with the North Indian dishes we had opted for. Mr. Pravin and Mr Rehman were always there to suggest and help.

Room quality and Spa is excellent. Mr Chan Vasah was particularly helpful when hotel manager didn't honor one of the commitment.

These guys simply rock!

Room Tip: Choose room with pool. It is spacious and has very good view of backwater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    82
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
137
127
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

initial experience was horrible. we had our room booked a month back but when we reached there there was no room allotted to us. we had chosen this resort only on reviews but our initial experience was not at all satisfying.
After looking through at least 10 rooms we (myself and my son) zeroed on one, a big comfortable room with the help of a Housekeeping man Niranjan. There are rooms with various sizes so see the rooms before check in specially if you need extra bed. Since we had lot of problems during check in the AGM Mr shamsher gave us a pool villa for our second night, which was very kind of him. Pool villas are wonderful..
Food was a letdown if you are not from south india. Mr Ages was very helpful during meals.
But a big letdown was the chef Rehman who was not ready to the tips offered by my husband, But a little push from the GM he prepared a special fish for us.
Overall a good experience.
Pros: Good big rooms ,lake view, Boat cruise, western spa, good housekeeping service,
cons : no continental or north indian food, mostly south Tv channels, should have digital tv connection,
travelled may 2013

Room Tip: choose pool villas or lake view rooms at the corner side which are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you!
Please be assured that the issue you’re raised have been address, and the appropriate action has been taken. We trust that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Citrus Alleppey in the future. Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Citrus welcomes you with open arms. It is extremely hospitable with all the staff - from manager to the restaurant staff - being very courteous and attentive.
The rooms are large and spacious, and overlook the Vembanad lake. One can spend hours sitting at the porch.
The spa is western and the therapists are great.
Food is excellent as well.
Ideal place to do a family vacation.

Room Tip: Stayed in 104, was an excellent and spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was not possible for us to do the booking through the hotel’s website, however, we managed to book through email. The booking process was overall ok, with a little bit of follow up required to get acknowledgement of advance payment and confirmation of reservation.

On arrival at the boat jetty as advised by the resort, we found that the shuttle boat was already waiting for us. It was a 10 minutes boat ride from the jetty to the resort. The resort is not actually located in an island and is located in the bank of Pamba river. The transit to the resort is made by boat because the resort is better connected by waterways than by road. When we reached the resort, welcome drink was offered. The check-in process was smooth and we were led to our rooms without any delay.

The resort has three types of rooms, viz. Paddy view rooms, Lake view rooms and Pool villas. Though Paddy view rooms and Lake view rooms are of similar size, Paddy view rooms are not that attractive. Pool villas are the best, with a private pool and a semi open bath/toilet. All the three types of rooms are spacious. The pool villa can accomodate two extra beds and the lake view / paddy view rooms can accomodate one extra bed. About 50 channels were available on the cable TV in the rooms, including channels like HBO, BBC, MTV, Discovery, National Geographic and Sports channel. The reception also provides DVDs on demand. There is a well maintained green corridor between the pool villas/lake view rooms and the Pamba river, where one can spend time enjoying the waterfront view and relax on a Hammock.

The resort has wifi facility in the rooms, on chargeable basis. The charge per hour is Rs.50. There is also a common computer kept near the reception, which the guests can use for free internet access.

The common pool has a uniform depth of four and a half feet and also has two child pool sections. The pools are well maintained.

The resort has a child play area with slides and swings. There is also a bigger play area where the guests can play badminton and volley ball. The resort offers badminton rackets and cocks to the guests. There is also a games room with a pool table.

The resort has a spa that offers different types of massages. The resort offers a 10 minutes complimentary head massage for the guests.

There is a complimentary sunset cruise for one hour in the evening.

There is a to and fro boat shuttle running between the resort and the jetty, which the guests can use for commuting to Alleppey town.

The range of food items in the resort's restaurant "Tamara" is extensive. If the booking is done on full board basis, the guests are asked to make their choices from the menu for dinner one hour in advance. During the dinner, guests can enjoy live performance of traditional dance for about one and half hours. During lunch, order was taken at the table and the service was fast. Variety of food was available for breakfast, and dishes like dosas and omlettes were made as per guest's choice. Overall, the food was tasty and made with the guest's preferences in mind. The service of Pravin and the chef in the restaurant was commendable.

Being in the midst of a waterfront and paddy fields, there is no dearth of insects, particularly in the evenings. However, the resort does pest control by fumigation and also provides mosquito repellers in the rooms.

The resort's pet policy does not allow the guests to bring in their pets with them.

Guests with children need to keep a watch on them while they play along the waterfront, because there is no fencing or parapet wall for protection.

The entire staff was courteous and ready to serve any time with a smile.

Citrus retreats is a perfect honeymoon destination as well as an ideal resort for spending quality time with family and relaxing.

Room Tip: Pool villas are the best. Lake view rooms are next best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Last april I spend three nights in this hotel. The service is excellent and go furthermore than the usual service. They are really helpful and charming people. All of them, in the desk front, the people in the restaurant, the crew of the boats, the manager, the dancer... everyone. And with this kind of people working there making you feeling comfortable all I can say is recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmadnagar, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Reaching this Citrus Retreats was fun though had to wait for 1 hour the boat which takes you to resort just left for Guest arrived before us.. Its one of the too too good Backwater Property.. We were very tired but when we reached the Citrus WOW.. Backwater facing Spacious Room with full white interior theme was very attractive. Cruise through the Backwater is the most memorable time as it was raining and was not rushy.. Evenings were pleasant - rains meeting backwater creating soothing music added added and added.. Late evening activities within resort while having food was good attempt.. Up-to mark Massage and SPA.. Swiming Pool is isolated so take care of Kids..

Room Tip: Balcony facing Backwater..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is property is located at the middle of the backwater bank and need to come here by boat in back water. Check in formalities are smooth and staff are very cooperative and professional. Rooms are big enough,clean and view and lawns are great. They will take you for boating and cultural program's at restaurant are really good. Pool is not well maintained and found some insets and reported to the manager. They have responded immediately and promised that they are going to make some arrangement to maintain pool. Water in the bathroom is salty and difficult to bath with the hard water. Specially thanks to the chef who makes the food as per your taste and it is really great. Depu is very cooperative and helpful. It is good property and managed by professional staff. If you are a citrus member, it is quit difficult task to reserve your room after having plenty of rooms availability.

Room Tip: Be aware water in the bath room is salty and difficult to bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Address: 8/504A-504N, Karimba Valavu | Punnapra North, Paravoor Village,, Alappuzha 600014, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Retreats Alleppey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.