We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for eyes and tummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Save Saved
You added Citrus Retreats Alleppey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8/504A-504N, Karimba Valavu | Punnapra North, Paravoor Village,, Alappuzha 600014, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Noida, Uttar Pradesh, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A treat for eyes and tummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was a fitting finale for our Odyssey of the South.We stayed there in a LakeView room. The room was oozing of luxury n comfort. It commanded the best of views over the nearby river.
I had the best North Indian food here during my trip to Kerela. We specially thanked the Chef; who incidentally is also from North. The Spa facilities are a specialty of the place; must to experience. They also provide a complementary 1 hour ride in house boat over the river.

Overall a nice relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Excellent food & Spa. Excellent stay for couples on Honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    65
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
113
105
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Citrus retreat is a wonderful place to go if you are going to Allepey. The whole experience was very good. The rooms are very spacious with a good backyard. The place offers a lot of peace and serenity.

Most important to mention, the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The staff was always available for any kind of help. Special mention for the restaurant supervisor Deepu who is always there to help you out whenever you need any thing.

The restaurant was neat and food was good. Enjoyed the dance performance during the evening dinner.

I would rate is a 5 star property esp. for the newly married couples.

Room Tip: choose the paddy view deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

If ever there is place where you can hang your boots and watch the boats go by then ‘this is it’. The property located right on the banks of the Pallathuruthy river is a visual treat. Once could just sit on the balcony, sip in some good ‘chaya’ and let the time fly…..care a damn for once.
The exotic part is the boat ride which takes you to the resort and back and also whenever you want to go out to the town side. This is so because they do not connectivity through a road (do such places still exist?) but it gives you the feel of the life around locally.
The facilities are adequate nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms are well kept and adequately serviced. The restaurant is well stacked and has an array of choices in ala carte and in buffet too. If you are a meat and fish lover then this place is your manna and it serves up some real deliciouslyfingerlickinglyawesome Kerala cuisine (do ask them to go easy on the black pepper though). In case you are game for some authentic Kerala food then do head to Kalpakavadi Inn for chicken fry and appams and biryanis....ask the local taxi operators to take you there. Also do head to Alappuzha town for buying curios and umbrellas...yes I haven’t made a miskate, sorry mistake…Umbrellas. Brands such as Popy and Johns will blow you off you feet with the amount of innovation that they have put in this seemingly simple implement….the same local taxi operator will help you here too.
What makes this property special is the location…that they have it spot-on. You see, we people from Mumbai are used to live life by the WRT or CRT, which for the uninitiated would translate to Western Railway Time and Central Railway Time respectively. We do forget that we are on a vacation and we do not have a local to catch in the next instant. This sometime comes in the way of one enjoying the little pleasures such places offer. But better sense does prevail and one adapts to the laidback lifestyle of the people around. The other mentionable and the most important factor to make-or-break an experience is the ‘staff’, who here are all so ever trying to outdo each other in offering their best. The staff catered to each and every requests of me and my family unflinchingly….well at the end of the day you have a happy me and my family :), well done guys!!!
There are areas where they could improve though, one of them being in the in-house entertainment or programs - something I missed sorely. The other is the upkeep of the gym, the expensive tread would just not start and my guilt of binging on the appams and parathas and chicken stews and mutton curries and…..see the guilt still exists.
Winters are the best time to visit this or any other place in Kerala but do be ready for some sudden thunder showers….it just adds to the flavor.
By the way, do not ever miss an opportunity to ride in a house boat…it is worth the time and of course definitely not the money but still go…

Room Tip: Choose the river front view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Citrus Retreat Alleppey is a beautiful place in the midst of the backwaters. The property is very well maintained. Staff is exceptionally cordial and helpful. They are always at your service whenever you need them. The food is extremely good. It has good variety and everything tastes very good. The Spa was amazing, it was very relaxing. The overall experience was excellent and I would suggest everyone to spend a couple of days in this place when you visit Alleppey/Kerala.

Room Tip: There are two kinds of rooms - Lake view and Rice Paddy view. Both will give you the peace and calm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Planned a romantic, exotic getaway to Kerala to explore the backwaters and our first stop was Alleppey. Landed at Cochin airport and took a taxi from the airport to take us to the hotel. Surprisingly, the signs posted along the route were of little help and most locals did not seem aware of the exact location from where we would get the boat that will take us to the hotel. After a 30 km detour, we finally found the place.

The jetty from where we got the boat is shared by 3 - 4 operators and we were actually expected to walk through multiple house boats docked there to get on the Citrus's boat.(which now had no place to dock at the jetty on account of the other boats) And the house boat owners expected us to take off our shoes and walk bare footed if we wanted to pass through their boat to reach ours, which we were forced to do. The local staff refused to help us reason with the houseboat owners and could only manage a sorry. This was after waiting for almost 45 minutes for our boat to arrive, seeing that Citrus chooses to operate a ferry service once every hour from either end.

We had booked the Citrus Bliss package from their website for 2 nights, which was supposed to include lake facing room for 2 nights, all meals, one aroma therapy massage for a couple, one romantic spa experience for a couple, sunset cruise, and a small gift on departure. Stayed there from December 9th - 11th, 2012.

On arrival, even after confirming over call of an early check in (at 10.30 am instead of the mentioned 12 noon), we reached the hotel at 11.20 and our room wasn't ready. Had to wait for about 30 minutes till they got our room ready.

Realized our in room safe was not working. Called the reception who promptly sent someone over but the same manfunctioned again in about 15 minutes.

Liked the property and the room allotted with a small private (ish) backyard with hammocks.

Had the aroma therapy session on the first day which was brilliant. Kudos to Chand and his team managing and staffing the spa.

Booked a 11 am appointment for the next day for the Citrus romance package, that was scheduled to be held in our room. Were waiting for a call from the spa and finally at 11.15 am when we call them up, they tell us that our appointment was given away to someone else. No explanations given. We were requested to reschedule for 4 pm, and to come over to the spa instead of our room. We agreed. Were just about ready to go out for a stroll when we again get a call saying that the appointment can be rescheduled for immediately (was about 12.15 at the time) and we could come over. We went over and were again given the same aromatherapy treatment that we got the previous day. None of the staff at the spa seemed aware of our package. Had to speak to their superiors who finally admitted their mistake and then as a peace offering scheduled us for one more treatment, that was anyway supposed to be a part of the Citrus romance package itself. They made it sound like they were indulging us by giving us a freebie, while all they had done was tried to rectify their mistake and give us the treatment that we had been promised and paid for.

Nevertheless, we did not want to make a big issue of these and had quiet word with the manager - Pramod who promised us that he would look into our issues and ensure a peaceful remainder of the trip.

Went back to the room and realized that the toiletries and bath gels had not been replaced. Had to call the reception twice and the house keeping department 4 times over an hour before someone came over to give us the same.

Even though our room was cleaned daily, the waste baskets were not emptied in the 3 days that we were there, and were essentially over flowing.
And yes, they also missed giving us the gift on departure promised in their booking voucher, as advertised on their website.

Definitely not what we would expect reading the rest of the reviews here and the tripadvisor ratings.(which was the reason we booked this place)

Pros:
* Good property
* Good spa staff
* Courteous restaurant staff

Cons:
* Local Location not known to many
* Staff seem unsure of services promised. Need to be better trained.
* Staff needs to be more responsive of their guest's requirements
* Food, although large in variety, could be better

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Vishal

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are better than the paddy view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice place to stay for 2N to 3N... Hospitality is really really good... The complete team was nice.. Spa was good.. Other than staying in the hotel and boat house, nothing much to go around allapuzha..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Wow, I feel like a real outlier writing this review! I feel like it needs to be done though.

I could write a long recap of a number of little things that irked me (poor quality bedding, safe didn't work, no available laundry services), but the major issue was that I was checked into a not completely cleaned room. Particularly it was the bathroom floor that looked like it hadn't been touched (hair clumps, bits of garbage, grime, etc.)

This would certainly be forgivable if upon my request to clean it, they'd done so. It was in fact 3 times I asked them to clean it though (from noon to 6pm) and 3 times they assured me it would be done. I got fed up and eventually did it myself.

I had an very good meal at the restaurant and the staff there were very courteous. Also, the spa was great.

Given the rave reviews of this resort, I'm sure this was just a bad experience – or at least I hope.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Address: 8/504A-504N, Karimba Valavu | Punnapra North, Paravoor Village,, Alappuzha 600014, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Retreats Alleppey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.