We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort to your Saves list
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best thing about bamboo is location. Its awesome located on river side. You need to cross the river to reach property. My son spend entire time catching fishes. You will get very warm welcome there, thanks to Joe and Vimal for their habitability. Food is very good. We are Vegetarian and got very good food over there. Rooms provided was clean with beautiful air fragrance . Overall worth for every penny.
Homestay has its own private shikara 8 seater to take you around. (Highly recommended) if you don't want to hire costly houseboats. They help you also to hire houseboats if told in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    61
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
74
74
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited bamboo lagoon from 11-14th jan, and all we can say about it is its a wonderful and leisurely place to stay and explore the backwaters of alapuzha. The in house cook, Jose was a warm and friendly person, and an awesome cook (he definitely cooks the best food), additionally he had a help, Vimal. They catered to all our requests and enquiries about the sight seeing around and arranged for things when asked for. Our holiday was a perfect one, thanks to Jose, Vimal. We also did book a house boat through Jeyachandran, and it was good enough. But recommend to look around for other house boat options. Over all we were extremely satisfied with our stay there and would like to visit again with our families.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the canal, preferably go for the rooms which are just opposite to us while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Reviewed jan 17, 2013 If you r looking for real peace and comfort this is he place guys, friendly staff, clean and very charming ambiance. I got to say that the stay was very very comfortable and i would definetly like to visit again....keep roking..!! special food made to order instantly though it takes bit time worth waiting for fresh cooked sea food

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel has returned to the high standard expected of a 5* hotel in terms affectionate service and food though they have some limitation human factor covered all short comings. Will continue using this hotel for our trips for sure. The last stay was perfect, everything worked well from excellent airport transfers, Excellent location with a great ambience is a must for any stay. Highly recommended if in Alleppey

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Dear fellow travelers



I came across this place referred by a travel portal

This has been perhaps my best stay in the last 10 years, I am a traveler and have seen many places ,stayed at many fine hotels but this hotel's hospitality is outstanding at the price they are offering. note this is not so called 5 star hotel but staff is very helpful and Professional up to the mark . The rooms and bathrooms are sparkling clean and yes ! thankfully the house keeping was excellent. food is awesome and I would like to recommend this to other people who r planning a short stay within your budget I am looking forward to stay in the hotel on my next visit .



Ahmed

Room Tip: select river facing large room for which they charge 2800
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and must say really loved this place. The rooms were good for the price, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the service was good.
Some of the highlights of the stay were:
The shikara ride on backwaters: I would recommend this over houseboats (which I feel are dingy and overpriced) any day! The hotel has a lovely shikara boat, and provides 1 hour complementary ride. We ended up extending it to 5 hours. It was the most beautiful boat on the waters, and we had it all to ourselves. The boatman stopped at a local dhaba type of place situated on the backwaters itself for lunch, where we enjoyed a very authentic and yummy malayali thali. Overall an unforgettable experience.
Marari Beach - This beach is a little far from Alleppey town. The staff arranged an auto for us for a very reasonable price. This is one of the most pristine beaches I have seen in India. There was very little crowd, as most people don't know about it. Really beautiful and serene.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile


Bamboo lagoon is a nice place to stay.
If u get rid off from your hectic life u will get a new kind of experience there like-

-u need to travel with a small boat to reach the resort,
-cool and peaceul environment,
-clean & odour free rooms,
-fresh and mouthwatering cuisine,
-small canopy for dining, etc etc.

Staff member is very friendy and if u ask they can arrange any kind of boat nd houseboat for u.
Otherthan a boatride there are more thing to do like u can walk onto the narrow path parallel to backwater and reach to the
vembanad lake nd can see the sunrise we also did the same.

U can do fishing also nd much more.
Totally feel wonderful experience there.


Thanks joseph and vimal for your hospitality,
we will surelly come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.