We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good homely Hotel, with smiling people” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort to your Saves list
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A good homely Hotel, with smiling people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

On checking most of the hotels at Allepey i found this to be the only resort with any negative feedback. The Hotel is on an island, and i had requested mr. Jaychandran(Owner) and the staff to arrange for a pickup to his resort, which they did it without fail.
Smiling faces right from the beginning made my day after a hectic night travel from Nagercoil.
I got a complimentary Breakfast and drop to station. My drop was as early as 5am in the morning which the staff didnot hesitate.

The hotel is having 5 rooms in working condition with lot rooms in under construction , with a massage center of its own.

we had boat trip arranged by the hotel charging 500 INR per hour, on request they also arranged for a appointment at Sri Krishna Ayurveda center.

Please do plan for lunch or dinner in advance as the cook is only one and it does take time make things tasty and perfect with a smile.

They give the comfort of home on the ambiance of a hotel. There is also place to hand your wet cloths.. :)

Room Tip: Rooms are small, fit only for 2. Take a mosquito repellent cream if you donot like to sit inside you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    67
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
85
85
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had visited Alleppey in the month of July last year with my family, and it was one of a kind experience for me altogether. This resort acted as a catalyst for the trip, i must say. The atmosphere, the service and the food was too good. I will highly recommend this as a place of stay if you are looking for some time-off your hectic life. Its very peaceful.

Coming to the food, I enjoyed tasting the local cuisines of Kerala. Different kind of food was served during all the 3 days of our stay there. And the service was quite up to the mark. Needless to say about the cleanliness and hygiene that they maintained.

Best part, all these come well within your budget, if that is what you are looking for :P

If you are planning to stay in boathouse or simply want to take a boat ride, you don't need to worry, the resort people will make all the arrangements.

Last but not the least, the people over there are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Highly recommended place to stay in Allepey. You reach the place after crossing the lagoon in a small country boat, which itself adds to the wow factor!!.

We stayed for 2 nights. Room was excellent, service was exemplary. I had asked for a cake to be arranged as it was our wedding anniversary and they even setup a candle lit dinner, without me asking for it!!! The canal was literally 3 hops for the door of our room.

The food is simple and mouth-watering and reasonable priced.

You really are in the middle of a village here - we walked for an hour on the narrow paths surrounding the place and were treated to friendly greetings from the local. We even had tea at a local village shack.

The hotel arranges for a shikhara (they have their own). It's way more intimate than a big houseboat and much better at getting a closer look at the community there. I have awesome snaps of a kingfisher fishing and a coromoran with a snake in its mouth.I would have missed these in a houseboat in a larger canal.
Pros:
Excellent location
Reasonable priced
Delicious food
Friendly, hospitable staff.

Cons:
This is located bang on houeboat highway. Depending on which boat parks itself slightly off the hotel, you may be treated to some loud music between 6pm and 10pm. But at no point do boats park themselves bang in front of the resort.
You may need to ask for hot water - it didn't flow and we didn't bother asking for it.

Be reasonable in expecting them to arrange for your special needs. This is in the middle of a village and they don't offer 5-star amenities.

Room Tip: All rooms have a canal view but ask for the 3 rooms in the block nearest the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing bamboolagoon your hotel stay.

We are certainly happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to know how much our guests appreciate our efforts. Just so you know we will be opening new facilities towards the end of the year so we invite you back to try our new and improved product.

Thanks again and many safe travels to you.

best regards

Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, NL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The total size of the place is about 15m x 15m, has a handful of rooms, 2 thin hammocks and a narrow lawn. Calling it a "resort" and their wide-angled/retouched images can be deceiving. The mentioned complimentary canoe "cruise" refers to the necessary canoe crossing that you have to take to reach Bamboo Lagoon. From the vicinity constant loud music emerged through loudspeakers. The waterbody in front of the resort is a busy house boat artery (the lagoon is about 1 km away). A couple of party house boats where parked close-by during our evening there. Before arrival we asked about walking/hiking possibilities in the surroundings; their answer mentioned rice fields behind their location. The rice paddies were in poor condition and there was no pathway to access them. We returned from our stroll after 5-10 minutes.

With dinner we ordered beer, as other guests had done. Orders proceeded to other tables but not to ours. After asking for an explanation we got one false story after another. The waiter mentioned that somebody would go and get drinks from a nearby shop. Nobody left the premises and we were later told that the "shop" was already closed. The waiter even dared to claim that he did not know what beer was after discussing extensively about it. We now know that drinking is allowed only on tables behind a thin fence. A simple explanation would have been more than sufficient for our satisfaction.

Food has to be pre-ordered as goods are bought directly from a nearby market. Meals are prepared fresh on the spot and were tasty. Dinner time was set at 8 pm; it was however delayed by more than one hour. Rooms were clean and generic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. What is particularly upsetting is you felt our online photos and reviews to be misleading. We do everything we can to portray the Hotel as accurately as possible.and actual photos are small than property,the diamensions are not correct this entire property is 2100 sq mts
As for the drain issue and odor you mention, we do inspect every room before check-in, but we have not found anything to take action on. We always urge our guests to notify us of even the smallest problem so we can fix it – I wish we could have gone to your room immediately to assess the situation. Unfortunately as this is an anonymous listing, there is no way for us to tell what room you were in. As we do take this very seriously, could you please let us know so we can follow up and prevent future guests from being disappointed.

over all this revew is bit misleading

1. we are located in a peacefull islad there is no market available to purchase any thing which clearely indicated your point of vew is not correct

2. we do not allow house boats to park in front of our resort for an un obstructed vew of river by our guest

we stongly belive out come of your revew is due to the fact that we did not allow you to site and drink out side please note this is a violation of local rules and hence we could do little

Please feel free to contact me with more details of your stay or any other concerns you may have.

regards

Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a budget property with a nice location right on one of the canals. Good food and nice room apart from drain smells wafting from the bathroom. No Wifi.
We booked and paid a deposit months in advance and were disappointed to find on arrival that our rooms had not been held for us. We were pressured to leave after one of the two nights we had booked to accommodate another larger party.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanking you for visiting us and appreciation for economy and coresponding quality you find with us

We’re sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.. We do everything we can to portray the Hotel as accurately as possible. As for ocupanncy issue and odor you mention, we do inspect every room before check-in, but we have not found anything to take action on. We always urge our guests to notify us of even the smallest problem so we can fix it – I wish we could have gone to your room immediately to assess the situation. Unfortunately as this has not happend there . As we do take this very seriously, could you please let us know so we can follow up and prevent future guests from being disappointed.as we completely booked we are not in a position to entertain additional stay request from guests,however in case of sickeness of guests we can not ask them to vacate in such cases we do request our guests to re locate nearby property with free tranportation and in the same price -hope this has not gone well with you

please note we do have policy of asking guests while check in about facilities,in case if they are not satisfaid we do ask them for move a athor place of choice with full refund and free transportation

Please feel free to contact me with more details of your stay or any other concerns you may have.

best regards

Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Bamboo Lagoon for 2 days in 2 rooms. The place is on an island and to reach there, you have to take a 'shikara' provided by the Hotel. The resort has a big lawn with two beach hammocks tied to coconut trees and a swing where one can spend hours reading and gazing at the constant traffic of house boats. The place is just 10 mins by boat from the main Alppuzha lake!

Good : Awesome and cheap food, friendly staff, quiet surroundings.

Bad : Hot water is not frequent, but one hardly needs in sultry weather of Alleppey. Hotel has only 5 rooms, so book well in advance (2 more rooms are under-construction)

Tip 1 : Hotel provide 1 hour free shikara ride in the lake, I would suggest you extend it by an hour (Rs. 500) and take a tour to do justice to the ride.

Tip 2 : We also went for Kerala massage which we got fixed through hotel staff at Keralayam (10 mins by boat), that was a good experience as well.

Tip 3 : Also went to the Alppuzha beach which is 4 Kms away (Rs. 100-120) by auto from the other side. City doesn't have many attractions, apart from one temple and few traditional restaurants.

Tip 4 : Try fishing in the lake. Ask the staff for fishing stick, and you can catch your own dinner!

We went to Munnar, Thekkady, Alppuzha and Kochi, and Alppuzha was the most relaxing of all, partly due to Bamboo Lagoon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The staff at Bamboo Lagoon provided great service. They are currently constructing an Ayurvedic center and a restaurant adjacent to the hotel. Until then, you can spend your time going for walks along the canals/waterways, taking shikara boat rides, and checking out the town of Aleppy.

TIPS: Avoid arriving in Aleppy late at night. Nobody seems to know where the Bamboo Lagoon is so it takes phone calls between the taxi/auto driver and the Bamboo Lagoon management to get you there. Be ready to pay your bill in cash, as their credit card system isn't reliable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay here at the bamboolagoon resort,Trip Advisor, has forwarded me your review and I am pleased to see you had a wonderful experience. Here at bamboolagoon we are always looking for ways to impress our guests. If there are any suggestions or comments about our hotel or your stay,

your veiw about finding loaction has taken seriously by us,here after we will sending a route map to all our guets for direction,please note that we had installed sinages in all promonnet places to guide our guests,besided pick service by cab and tuk-tuk

Thank you once again and we hope we will see you again soon should your travels bring you back to the kerala

Best regards

Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.