We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort to your Saves list
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Pune
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had a booked 2 rooms in this resort, however as 1 of the guests dint checkout due to some medical condition, the Manager Mr.Jayachandran had no option but to accommodate us in only 1 room, as well as he offered discount to us for the inconvinence caused, at first I accepted it however as soon as I entered the room I found it to be a bit conjusted and it would had been difficult for 4 people to adjust in that room,so I spoke with Mr.Jayachandran again who in turn arranged us rooms in a different Resort at the same price as well as arranged a Shikhara for us to transfer to the new Resort which was good, The staff was polite and generous... All in all I would definetely recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Your effort and time sharing your comments surrounding your recent experience at out hotel is most appreciated and something we take very seriously. Please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit.

we value your patronage. Again, we extend our sincere apologies and hope that in the near future you will once again allow us the opportunity to serve you and so that you can enjoy our hospitality at bamboolagoon

thanking you for your understanding

Sincerely,

bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    62
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
76
75
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were on a vacation and stayed here for a day. The location of this place is excellent and we chose a river facing room. The room service is excellent and Vimal was very helpful. Food was excellent and they catered to everything we asked for. There is a small boat which comes to pick you up as this is on the other side of the backwaters. Overall, this place is amazing and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: River facing rooms give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The team at bamboolagoon gratitude for choosing us as your host while in alleppey recently. It is a complete pleasure to receive such a positive feedback about our hospitality standards. Your kind words have been shared with the team and we feel privileged to earn accolades on this prestigious public forum. We believe in exceeding guests’ expectations and the upkeep of the property stands as an evidence to this. We are indeed a very amiable staff, thank you for acknowledging it here.

We would love to play your hosts on your next trip as well.

best regards

Gopinathpanicker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

we have visted this place after get refered by our frind who has visted last year,this place is located in tiny islad filled with green paddy fiels and village habitat,the peoples are good,including the villagers,tuktuk drivers etc,,we rech this place by medium sized country boat rowed by an old man with smile !!! rememberable journey

this is 8 room resort,few more rooms are underconstuction though we choosed a medium sized room i understand they have rooms of different catogary

the food is home made which we did not find in any other place we visted during our india trip,they have only few staff but well behaved ,though they have limited menu,you can order special dishes,bit advance,do not miss tastey river fish dishes -reasonably priced

we are delighted by peronal care by the owner who came down and personally appologised for few minitues power interuption

Highly recomnded for meduim budget travellers

parkinsonand family

Room Tip: choose room up to budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear that you were able to get a tretment up to your expectation

we do look forward to welcoming you again should you decide to give bamboolagoon another shot.

Best wishes from the bamboolagoon Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a perfect honeymoon at this Resort After few days at goa, two days at this hotel was wonderfull. It's a very romantic place, with a beautiful lake side,very calm and peacefull,village peoples and staff are very help full,they had organised a nice flower decorated house boat and nice candle light dinner for us!
The tour in the River is nice by canoie, and so clean rooms,they had offered a free boat ride up to bus station

we strogly recomend this place for medium budget travellers

Room Tip: select small room which they charge around 1500
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visits.
Our very best regards and thank you again,

Gopinath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

we had a family vacation with my two kids,the place is excellant with a cool brezze and lovely food the room service is excellant the staff too, the owner personally visted us and arranged afforadble cab service,the north indian food is very tasty,while therecan enjoy fishing and back water cruise all together a memorable vacation

Room Tip: select river facing room,remember to order food in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all your comments and value your input. I am very happy to hear that our staff made such a good impression on you. I have passed along your accolades and thanked them personally.

Please contact me personally should you plan a return trip to kerala. I would like to be sure you have one of our exciting packages.

Warm wishes for the holidays and a very Happy New Year,

Gopinath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

RESORT IS VERY NICE.
GOOD AMBIANCE.
ON THE EDGE OF BACK WATER. ITS LIKE AN ISLAND.
FOOD IS ALSO VERY NICE.
ONLY THING I WOULD LIKE TO DRAW YOUR ATTENTION AT IS PLEASE PRE COMMUNICATE THE FOOD PRICE. I.E. DINNER PRICE. THEY CHARGE RS. 150/- PER PERSON! YES THE FOOD IS GOOD. BUT THE CHARGE IS VERY HIGH COMPARED TO CHOICES GIVEN. THEY GIVE FIX ONE SABJI, DAL, RICE, CHAPATI IF ORDERED AND SOME SALAD! BUT IN NO CASE ITS WORTH 150 Rs. per person. If you order some extra thing, say one sabji, it will cost you another Rs. 150/-! When we stayed there and asked in advance, they dint bother to clarify that its 150/- per person! and due to that, our 3 days stay cost us so much. if you will take 1500/- to 1800 rs. room, you will get one lodge type room with no window! and it is so small that one can not walk properly even.
so keep this in mind while booking the room.
The room service is available but every time you have to keep asking the boy over there to clean the room.
for eg we ordered food in room and we had it then they took away the utensils but dint bother to clean it up till another day untill we forced them to do the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanking you for visting us and good words for food and location

however we have following clarfications on your reveiw,traveller communitity can recheck and confirm the same with us

1.the room offered to you( as requered by you as low budget room) is of size 10feetx20 feet with one 6feetx51/2 feet double bed ,2 posh chairs and one coffe table room rental is priced @1500 INR in the standard(budget) Room catogary,the room is fully aircondioned with generator back up,the rates are inclucive of taxes(18%) With a complimnetry break fast and 1lit free mineral water

2. the room is provided with a big door along with 2 windows which is opened directly to river veiw (which up to my information no lodge is having this facility)

3.the food we charged in line with market price please note we serve only fresh vegitables and fish coked instantly and do not overcharge (please refer previous traveller revews to varifay this claim)
4.we have offered excellant service to all our customers and to you too,as per my information you eat your food by sitting out side near river bank where is the question of cleaning room

we wish to remaind you that since you have opted for a budget room we have provided you the same .please note we do not treat guests based on budget,hope you did feel so

Thanks and regards

Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We chose bamboo lagoon based on trip advisor reviews for 4 days stay and needless to say , bamboo lagoon is one of the best upcoming backwater front resorts . Right from the owners of the resort to the house keeping lady, everybody is committed to offer great service.
Place,staff and food : All were an experience in it self. Mr Jose was the star of the resort, who is all in one. He is always with a smile and very welcoming personality. Never die attitude and was at our sericce at all times.Before going to this place, we were little concerned about our 3 year old daughter's food arrangements but was very happy with the food there. Cannot forget to comment about Mr Vimal who was on his toes to get us what we wanted. Moopen who rows the canoe was there for us to move around:). Rooms are very neatly maintained. Value for Money !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.