We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was so comfortable here I never wanted to leave the property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Art and Meditation House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Art and Meditation House
Save
You added Bella Art and Meditation House to your Saves list
Near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point | Thathampally P.O., Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 146 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“I was so comfortable here I never wanted to leave the property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wow everything here is just great, from the warm welcome on arrival, the delicious breakfast, the clean comfortable room with an a/c that worked great, and a perfect central location. I do have to second a previous comment also as to how well Biju works with his blender making the freshest juices for his guests. The home itself is so welcoming and comfortable, I found myself struggling to leave every time I had the opportunity! Let me tell you the real gems here are Natasha and Biju and their cute Pug Jackie - from the moment you arrive to your final farewell you are treated like family.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    22
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
117
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Staying at Bella Homestay felt like coming home. Natasha and Biju are such friendly people and amazing hosts. They helped us with everything, cooked us tasty breakfast, introduced some good Indian music and movies to us and were great company during the evening playing cards (Uno) with us. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It's a good location, quiet and walking distance from the lake and center of Alleppey. They have a beautifull garden full of flowers, where you can relax and enjoy the peace and a very friendly, funny little dog, Jack. Bella Homestay was one of the best places we stayed in India.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Like other reviews mention, Natasha and Biju are wonderful people who went above and beyond to help us! We stayed three nights here in total and I didn't want to leave--our room was spotless and so comfortable-- it felt like home. (Biju is great with a blender as well! His lassis and juices are delicious.) Book ahead and if you stay here, stay in and order Indian take-out from A restaurant called 'Mushroom'--delicious and generous portions--we were pleasantly surprised. Jackie, their little pug, has a great personality and will hang out with you on the front porch--good times!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

A great place in Alleppey run by exceptionally hospitable couple and their kids-loving, sometimes misbehaving ;) dog Jackie.
Homestay itself is very tastefully decorated, not just a place to sleep, but truly making you feel like at home.
Location is great as well, perfectly quiet on the backstreet surronded by greenery, but still within a walking 10 minutes distance to the town center.
Houseboat and shikara tours can be arranged here for very reasonable price comparing to other travel agents in the backwaters area.
Tasty Indian food can be ordered from the homestay, which is very handy, as there is not many restaurants nearby.
Yummy both Keralan and continental breakfasts are perfect start of the day.
To sum up, given rate of the room (1600 Rs A/C double room in the low season), you really get much more than what you pay for. Honestly, if they charge twice as much, it will be still a great deal to spend at least one night in lovely Bella Homestay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a lovely night at this home before getting a boat for a day/night on the backwaters. Natasha and Biju are great hosts and very chatty. They were helpful when I had some unexpected work to do and provided a printer/scanner/Internet. Biju organised the houseboat (which was great for us-there are so many to chose from and we were happy to have a recommendation). It is walking distance from the lake where the boats start and finish. The houseboat experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon, after a day of touring and washing elephants :-) There was still a bit of sunlight to let us admire the beautiful garden. As we waited for the mandatory electricity cut out between 1830-1900, we enjoyed a welcome drink sitting outside, entertained by Jackie the adorable pug.
Our room was on the ground floor... Spotless! ... and so was the bathroom, modern and spotless.
We ordered take away food for dinner which was delivered to the house in great timing.
Biju organized our houseboat trip for the following day, and a tuk tuk ride in the morning to do some errands before the boat. Breakfast... delicious!!! Homemade keralan pancakes :-) and nice real coffee :-).
When we returned from the overnight houseboat trip, it was a most pleasant surprise to find Biju on the dock waiting for us, with the car he'd organized to take us to our next destination.
To meet Natasha and Biju in person, it was easy to feel the warm and genuine welcome. They are passionate about what they do, and it shows.
It would be so easy to stay longer :-) Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We have stayed at Bella Home Stay twice this year Feb and March 2012. Bella Home Stay is run by Natasha and Biju and opened last year in October. Very clean is an understatement, you will not find cleaner. Really lovely garden where you can sit and relax. Natasha and Biju have a lot of experence in running Home Stays. This really does show in the type of accomadation and standards they provide at this Home Stay.
The beds are comfortable with extra pillows, the rooms are very tastfuly decorated and are very pleasent to stay in. Bella home stay is in a really lovely area of Alappuzha and is set in lush green area which is very quiet.
Breakfast is provided in the price and you can have a really good Keralan breakfast. Biju is a really good person to arrange trips on Rice Boats plus other trips, as he is local and full of good honest information.
I really cant find any thing negitive about Natasha and Biju and their lovely home stay they run. Its top notch and the best place ive ever stayed in India. Thankyou guys so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Art and Meditation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Art and Meditation House

Address: Near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point | Thathampally P.O., Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful boutique homestay with a personal touch, a garden, comfortable unique rooms with AC,hot water, WI-FI and free breakfast, and a meditation hall running daily morning and evening meditations for those who wish to rest their soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bella Art And Meditation House Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Art and Meditation House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.