We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality and fabulous food in an amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayana's Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ayana's Homestay to your Saves list
Ayana's Homestay
Kanjippadom, Alappuzha, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hospitality and fabulous food in an amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Staying with Ayanas homes was a highlight of our trip in southern India- we only had one night but it was wonderful. We learned so much about life in the backwaters and were truly treated like family. Hopefully we'll go back some day! We were on a tour with intrepid but I would recommend this homestay to the independent traveller also.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    20
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
13
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A perfect stay on the Kerala backwaters in India. We were made to feel so welcome and given a balcony room with a great view over the backwaters, to sit and relax watching the activities on the water. The food was wonderful and we were looked after perfectly given an excellent insight into the village life and history.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

What a beautiful little haven to stay . Welcoming friendly family and impeccable service. We only stayed 1 night but left feeling relaxed and happy. Delicious home cooked food ,an opportunity to try the delights of southern indian cooking. Overall a great experience for everyone

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a true home stay experience. We were made very welcome by everyone and we felt we got to know the 'real' India. The food was wonderful, I even got a personal Indian cooking lesson. The room had a comfortable bed, A/C, fan and ensuite. The location of the property was amazing, right on the backwaters (the front door was about 5 metres from the water!). The hosts were very welcoming and knowledgeable, and they delighted in sharing their home with us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This homestay was amazing. I was made to feel so welcome. The food was fantastic. Gopal and Padma, my hosts were so lovely. Ayana's Homestay was my favourite experience I had during my time in India. It was beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at Ayana's Homestay as part of an Intrepid trip and it was definitely one of the best memories I have taken away with me. The home is in a beautiful setting and very clean. It really feels like a home and the food was some of the best I had while on the trip. A great experience and worth the journey to Alappuzha. Don't expect luxury- you may have a bucket shower but it's all part of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really enjoyed this homestay experience. The family was very friendly and informative. The food was a great introduction to local cuisine. The rooms were clean and the hosues were very well organised and comfortable. Highly recommended for a real local experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayana's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayana's Homestay

Address: Kanjippadom, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayana's Pampatheeram Home Stay is situated 14 Kms from Alleppey Town. You can reach by road or by boat at the Home Stay, which can be provided by us on request at an extra charge. Ayana's is a Community based home Stay where in you stay with different families, if you have a large group all close to each other, and experience the Traditional Kerala experience. The rates are per person basis per night, includes all meals for A/C rooms. We do have Non A/C rooms as well. We will be delighted to serve as our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Ayana's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayana's Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.