We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mushroom

Mushroom
Near To South Police Station, Vellakinar Junction, Alappuzha Iron Bridge, Alappuzha, India
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Alappuzha
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Black Isle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My 3 companions loved this place: their friendly laid back service, good food and illicit beer. We ate our evening meal here a couple of times and a coffee during the day. I personally like to see what I'm eating. With my poor vision, advancing age and dim candlelight it was a bit hit and miss!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“over priced....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

travelers , my advice is not to eat here if you love to move around in kerala for more days ... food is overpriced for the kind of quality...save the money for a joyous & healthy trip rather... their hut like ambiance doesn't provide a cozy feeling... staff are friendly though not professional.... food is okay...like any normal restaurant...not the kind of as mentioned in the reviews here in .....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changanacherry, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“okay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

the service is very good but the food is too spicy (they make it less so for the foreigners apparently) and nothing special. the parotta i ordered were not crisp and the vegetable curry's only flavour was its chillies which were abundant. The local chicken dishes were also not anything special.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alappuzha, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots to eat, Lots to talk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Nothing appeals to me as good food does. So when Mushrooms opened with their super ambient little place, the thing that blew me away was the food and its qaulity!
They keep re inventing their dishes but the thing to look out for is their awesome grilled sea food menu- Worth trying!
A really generous serving with very reasonable costs I would recommend this place to one and all. Having been a connoisseur of food myself, the music, the lightings, the surroundings, the aroma and the taste of the food, just makes your heart wanting for more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“super oily food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

went with family during our stay at Alappuzha. Hotel ambiance was good, waiter was reasonably good, the biggest complaint was the quality of the food. I ordered an egg noodles and it was dipped in oil, so was the vegetable fried rice. We ended up discarding lot of food. I'm not going back to this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mushroom also viewed

Alappuzha, Kerala
Alappuzha, Kerala
 

Been to Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mushroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.