We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, green, quiet lovely spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azheekans Homestay

Azheekans Homestay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Azheekans Homestay to your Saves list
Azheekans Homestay
Chethy P.O. | Cherthala, Alappuzha 688530, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, green, quiet lovely spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughter and I spent two lovely quiet nights here, complete with excellent food, friendly host and staff, and great location. The beach is just a short walk away, and the village is fun to stroll around. After two months in Mumbai, it was blissfully peaceful and green. We enjoyed sitting by the river watching the birds at sunrise and sunset. We also had great relaxing Ayurvedic massages on-site, followed by relaxing on the comfiest porch chairs ever!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucebabu, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello
Thankyou for your good words. Please do recommend our place to your friends,visiting to Kerala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We recommend a lot Azheekans Home Stay!!!

It’s a really fantastic place to go on holidays. Ideal to enjoy, relax and isolate oneself. The place is wonderful: the backwater, the forest, the Marari Beach,... Although, the best thing are the people: Babo and everyone who works there are attentive and really Kind.

Don’t miss it if you go to Kerala.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucebabu, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review.Nice to know that our's is an unforgettable place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is the as quiet as it gets in one of India's busiest tourism destinations. Kerala may be lovely, and Alleypey the loveliest in Kerala, but Azheekan's can make your experience truly unforgettable with its quiet, unassuming charm. The homestay is secluded, but not impossibly so- something you might want on a trip thats going to be super tourist-savvy. The home is located in a cute garden patch, and the guest cottages do not just look traditional (in wood, Kerala-style) but are in fact over a hundred years old (restored by the family). The backyard opens onto a stream, where you can take a boatride right up to a 'secret' beach (very beautiful, still pristine). This stretch is as beautiful as any in Alleypey. The three-generational family is warm and friendly, but the unbeatable highlight is the food- fresh from the sea, home-cooked, and absolutely delicious! Eat with your hands. You'll definitely lick.

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucebabu, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thankyou so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

If, as is written on all the billboards along the way, Kerala is “God's own property”, then the Azheekan's Homestay is the proof! Overlooking the back waters nearby Aleppey, in a village far from the beaten track for tourists and only a 15-minute-walk from the "secret beach" (a very long beach lined with palm trees and where you can meet only fishermen with their nets and baskets full of fish), the Azheekan's Homestay is beautifully handled by Babu and his wife Girli, their son Bruce and his wife Famy and the grandchildren Bryan and Bjorn. 4 wooden bed rooms with mosquito nets and private bath, very clean, where instead of blankets there are pashminas made in pure cashmere, the hosts are doing everything to make their guests feel comfortable and meet all their demands, from ayurvedic treatments to canoeing along the back waters, from the hairstylist for henna to the taylor to have a churidar made. Not to mention the typical Kerala cuisine made with spices, fresh fish, legumes and vegetables just picked up from their garden, to completely forget all the other recipes from around the world. All in an intimate, comfortable, warm, cosy atmosphere, made ​​even more beautiful from the Girli’s smile and laughters of Bjorn and Bryan. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to discover the real and still pure India and at the same time feeling at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azheekanshomestay, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thankyou so much for your valuable comments.Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

A very homely place run by a very friendly family. If you are looking for a quiet place in the lap of nature at an affordable cost, Azheekans is your location. The place is at walkable distance to the beach. The food prepared by the family is excellent and very reasonably priced, although people with sea food allergies should take care of the diet. The family goes all the way to make its visitors feel at home. Be sure to try the wine made by 'appachan' (owner of the facility). There are also numerous other activities such as Ayurveda massage, country boat ride, houseboat trip, back water village visit etc organized by the home-stay people. All in all, worth the money spent.

Room Tip: Even though the lake-view rooms are with a good view, they are impossibly hot (equipped with a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucebabu, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thankyou so much $ happy to know that you loved our place very much.Anyway,Appachan's wine is very popular,I don't think we get the same taste again,Appachan passed away.Thankyou so much for remembering us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I travelled 4 weeks through India and sometimes it was quite stressy. But when I came to
Azheekans Homestay it was like paradise for me. A quiet place, I could sleep very well, no traffic around. The house was in typical Kerala style and very clean. The family was so friendly and they cooked every evening for me, great food.It was only 5 minutes away from the
Beach, where I could walk for hours along in white sand. I really can recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucebabu, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Hello
Thankyou so much for your review. Happy to hear that you loved our place,especially our food,beach,candle light dinner etc. Hope to see you someday again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

we hadn't booked but were lucky enough to come across this homestay. we stayed in a basic room but everything looked newly built and more than we needed. bugs get into the room easily but mosquito nets were supplied. we were luckily the only guests that night so there was no noise from others. the place overlooks a river. there is outdoor seating where we were fed delicious dinner and breakfast, very generous servings! there are extra seats to relax in the sunshine by the river too. the owners were very welcoming and kind. the mother spoilt us with her cooking and the father was very kind. my partner was given a bucket of hot water for her shower as she was feeling unwell. their daughter and husband gave us lots of advice and even let us use their internet to help with the next part of our trip. the grandchildren were very sweet and really entertaining. we would have stayed more than one night if we could. i also wish we'd taken their advice and used their contact when it came to booking a houseboat on the backwaters! i would definitely recommend staying here if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brucebabu, Owner at Azheekans Homestay, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thankyou so much. Keep in touch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azheekans Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azheekans Homestay

Address: Chethy P.O. | Cherthala, Alappuzha 688530, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free from pollution & very calm & quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Azheekans Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azheekans Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azheekans Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.