We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful backwater, couple of glitches with the trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Houseboats

Save Saved
You added Coco Houseboats to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coco Houseboats
Kariyil Chira Buildings,Near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point Road, | Rajeev Boat Jetty, Thathampally Post, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful backwater, couple of glitches with the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent one night with Coco Houseboats - we'd been on the backwaters before and wanted to show them to a friend. The backwaters trip was lovely, and the staff on the boat were really nice and cooked us a magnificent seafood feast. Our rooms were very simple but clean. However there were a couple of hitches - they'd arranged to pick us up from Fort Kochi, but the lift didn't arrive and we had to call around trying to sort that out and it meant we started out on the backwaters later than planned. Also, we had been upgraded to a boat with A/c in the bedrooms, but the a/c units and fans were both really loud, which meant that some of the group found it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    13
    7
    17
See reviews for
28
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A trip not to be missed due to the outstanding scenery and wildlife. On the other hand the accommodation was very basic and not very clean. However the 3 staff who looked after the 4 of us were brilliant and provided us with a range of different food and pointed out different wildlife and other interesting points. We stayed for 2 nights which we think was definitely the right thing to do, as on the second day we were able to explore some of the quieter waterways. All in all, a great one off experience due to the scenery.

Room Tip: Check out your houseboat first, especially the sleeping accommodation. If you like real creature co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

It was a fun filled family trip to backwaters.
Had booked a boat with 2 rooms Non A/c for 27 dec. As climate was hot & humid they provided ac without any extra charges.
Food is very good, rooms r very tidy & staff r very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Picked us up at Aleppi train station by Shah Nawaz, who could not be more happy and enthusiastic. He was a gem! Took us to Coco Houseboats office and from there they explained the tour which we had booked for 2 days. One night in a backaters hut and one night on the houseboat. The Location of the HUT was excellent with lovely hot showers and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the food was good, the atmosphere fun. Wifey even caught a fish. The staff were excellent. The Coco houseboat picked us up and we travelled through the backwaters by houseboat. The Houseboat was good, but not hot water for shower. The food was excellent and plentiful. We had a lightning storm in the night which was lovely to watch. We booked on the internet and achieved excellent prices for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The trip was excellent if you see the location point of view. but i felt and saw some much beautiful houseboats their.
the Room was very avg and outside sitting area was also avg.
Food was good but some how the feel was not so Gr8.

I saw lot many other house boats during the trip which i found much more nicely maintained one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I booked coco house boat for 18th of DEC through clear trip. And experience I had was terrible.
First of all the boat they gave me was not of coco. coco has tie up with some third party I believe and they gave us that boat. Third party boat office staff and coco staff was very rude. Boat had no safety gates on exit points of boat. Anyone could fell off from those gates. Not even glass of water to offer on the name of welcome drink. Furniture was real bad. Had to ask for toileteries.TV remote was not working. Worst thing that happened on boat was that AC was not working.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I have been on coco houseboat on 14th Dec 2012.It was really pathetic experience.There are lots of things to complaint but the major things were full of lizards,dirt and damaged furniture.Only good part was beahviour of crew on houseboat but people sitting in coco houseboat office were really poor to provide services.

Room Tip: Do not choose one bedroom houseboat ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Houseboats

Address: Kariyil Chira Buildings,Near Nehru Trophy Finishing Point Road, | Rajeev Boat Jetty, Thathampally Post, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco House Boats Kerala operates romantic backwater cruises since the year 2000 having one bedroom houseboats, two bedroom houseboats, three bedroom houseboats, family house boats and also offers various backwater tour packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Coco Houseboats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Houseboats Hotel Alappuzha
Coco Houseboats Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Houseboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.