We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandala Beach House & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
Save
You added Mandala Beach House & Cottages to your Saves list
North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Do not expect finding the white sand dunes of other parts of the world in these beaches, but you can't miss this inexpensive prime beach location if you like sleeping with the sound of the waves for affordable prices. You are almost sleeping in the beach, literally! And, comparing to some hotels in the backwaters, you are just withing walking distance to great restaurants and the lively areas of the beach where the locals hang out.

By far the best thing about this place is the staff! Sue and Jay were super laid back, friendly and incredibly reliable. The houseboat they got for us was simply AMAZING! And they also got reliable and fairly-priced transport from the airport and to the towns nearby that we visited during our stay.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room. It makes it for a completely different stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    22
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
50
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Tao, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here at the end of Nov 2012 as it was recommended to us by people we met in Cochin. This place is great for a laid back and friendly atmosphere. They have a variety of rooms with different prices...the winner being the one with the deck and sea view, we didn't stay in this one as it didn't fit our budget but we had a lovely little room that was very clean and perfectly suitable! The service here is fantastic and Su was more than helpful! The whole place has really welcoming and friendly vibe. There are a few really good restaurants a short walk away or you can get take away delivered. The beach here in Alleppey is under sold..it is a short tuk tuk ride into town, but we would rather stay here any day than in the town where it was much more hectic!

Room Tip: The one with the view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We cannot recommend Madala highly enough! Our visit there in Jan in 2013 was just brilliant. We stayed in the beach hut overlooking the sea (as seen in the picture) it was incredibly clean and had the coolest bathroom with blacked out glass so you could look out on the sea when having a shower without being seen!
We were met on arrival by Su who is the friendliest most genuine guy, he went out of his way the whole time we were there to make our stay brilliant. It was my husband's birthday and when I asked Su where I could get a cake he organised the whole thing arranged a cake with his name on it and candles!! In the evenings at Madala there is a core contingent of card players so be armed with your best 'sh1t head' skills! It is an incredibly sociable place and we met people from all over the world who were all enjoying Su and Jay's hospitality.
Again, if anything needed arranging Su was incredibly helpful regarding trips etc and can advise on the best restaurants in the area. He will also point out the dolphins that take their bi-daily trip infront of the hotel. We liked our stay so much we left a secret tip (Su is quick to say that they don't take tips) unfortunately he found it and chased our tuk tuk down the road on his motorbike to return it!! I would genuinely say that this is a truly friendly and enjoyable place to stay and would really recommend it to anyone going to Alleppey beach.

Room Tip: Ask for the beachfront room - it's the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Mandala Guesthouse is fantastic whether you are looking for "resort" style accommodation or a budget stay. They have both. We had an amazing stay here. Initially booked for two nights and ended up staying five! We spent two nights in the sea view cottage which was lovely; a simple spacious room (not modern but comfortable), tub/shower, soft comfortable mattress, deck with chairs and umbrella and best of all the view of the beach (only a few metres to the sand) which you wakeup to as the sliding doors look out to the water. It was really breathtaking. We then moved to the 600rs per night room for 3 nights which was also good just without the view and the deck.

They have wifi and the food which is ordered from Mushroom was so delicious every time!

The best thing about Mandala Homestay though was the service. Su went above and beyond in all areas to help us out. Super friendly.

To top it all we saw dolphins from the seaview cottage! Lovely place :)

Room Tip: The sea view cottage is worth the extra rupees for a treat!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Went here with my girlfriend after christmas, after a hectic time in Rajasthan we needed a relaxing break and thats exactly what we got. Mandala is perfectly situated on a quiet (compared to the north) part of the beach which is beautiful. You are right on the beach, you can either sit in the hammocks or on the sun loungers on the beach. The huts are clean with decent beds and en-suite bathroom, although a couple of the rooms lack a mosquito net. Su and Jay who own/run the place are very attentive, nothing is ever a problem and they are good guys to hang out with in evenings as well. They sorted us out a backwater trip on a canoe which includes breakfast, lunch, and afternoon snack at a backwater villagers house who also paddles you around. We were meant to go to Goa for New year but were so at home at Mandala we were lucky enough to stay.

Overall - Excellent stay, great location and very relaxing. Dont go expecting luxury, these guys have built the cottages themselves remember but its all you need and we were really happy with our stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Aloof from public beach the mandala is a oasis and provides the pure seaside experience. The smal complex holds at least five nice and clean rooms, facing the inner courtyard resp. the beach. The managers, Su and Jay, are quite nice fellows who are very caring and helpful. Su e.g. helped us alot with local backwater trips as well as with our journey ex Alleppey. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place was a really pleasant surprise for us! We planned to stay somewhere else but we met Su at the train station and he was very helpful and polite, so we decided to go to Mandala. We had absolutely a wonderful time in Allepey. Everything we did was relax; sunbathing, eating, drinkingnights, playing cards, and the houseboat of course. Jay and Su are lovely people and this was the best place we stayed in India. I would everyone who’s planning to go to India, recommend to go to Alleppey and stay at Mandala.. I hope can go back to this place ones!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandala Beach House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandala Beach House & Cottages

Address: North of Vijaya Park | Sea View Ward, Alleppey beach, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandala is a small guest house located on a quite part of Alleppey Beach. It has two basic rooms, one bamboo cottage and another cottage with a great view to the beach. We just started our annex property near Mandala and it got upstair rooms with sea view. All rooms are bath attached and three of them with bath tubs. We organize some trips to the sea with fishermen, to the back waters and we also do BBQ on the beach. You can have a comfortable and relaxed stay over here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mandala Beach House & Cottages Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandala Beach House & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.