We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel! Got a feel of” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ashtamudi Homestay to your Saves list
Ashtamudi Homestay
West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice budget hotel! Got a feel of”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had zeroed in on Allepy for our anniversary and wanted a short and sweet, no frills holiday for 3 days. TA again came to our rescue in selecting this place. The reviews were good so booked a month in advance. Was exited about the bamboo rooms but didnt take a chance with the heat so booked the ground floor AC room ( I think there are only 2 or 3 of them). The lady in charge was very prompt and courteous and confirmed our online hotel booking over the phone and agreed to give us an early check in. (Some 3/5 star hotels act as if u are speaking french when you call them about online bookings and then you keep going in circles).

The location was perfect, all the major restaurants and the houseboat jetty within walking distance. The beach was also very near. The maids, the caretaker and the neighbors, everything gave us a sneak peek into the local life of Allepy! They quickly guided us to the best restaurants nearby instead of asking us to use the in-house kitchen, also arranged for a surprise Anniversary cake on my wife's request.

We booked a Shikara through them since we didnt have much time to spent on a houseboat. Also a Shikara trip offered more customization and access to the narrow backwater canals. The shikara ride was excellent and offered the same experience as that of a houseboat at 1/8th of the price. We kept the houseboat for our next trip!

The next day they also arranged a bike on rent for us from one of their neighbor and we covered the whole city on it. We got a chance to visit the legendary India Coffee House, the not to be missed Revi Karunakaran museum, the 150 year old lighthouse, and satisfied our crave for seafood which was long pending from Goa.

All in all it was a very memorable stay! Thanks to the owners! The three day stay felt like a week long holiday since we were able to pack in so much! Like I said this was a no frills stay so its better you pack your towels and toiletries!

Room Tip: You can use bamboo rooms if you are travelling in winter else you better book the ac rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    115
    16
    14
    7
See reviews for
70
141
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you are a budget traveller this is the best in Alappuzha.
simple clean rooms.walkable distance to the city centre.
Uma the host is very kind to arrange backwater tours
Kerala traditional style of breakfast is memorable one
Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

we were welcomed as walkins , due to unexpected change in plans for a couple of hours, and yet had a great experience .Very authentic breakfast , served hot and fresh, good service , clean accomodation .........i would definitely reccomend this place and yes if i had a chance to revisit i know where i will be staying

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The room itself is very basic, AC in ground floor was comfortable. Bathrooms were not great, dusty, water was very slow in tap.

The boat house experience was awesome. Decent boathouse, courteous staff, good food.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Firstly, this place looked amazing. It is the one hotel room I remember the most vividly from my travels- unfortunately for all the wrong reasons.

The staff are wonderful, and very accommodating. we asked about boat trips and were very reasonably priced compared to others along the backwaters.

It seems it is very difficult to keep a bamboo room clean and with the exception of the bed (which was lovely) everything else felt dirty. cobwebs, dust etc. The net over the bed is more than necessary as the gaps in the bamboo mean this is more of an outdoor adventure, but the bed could do with posts to hold the net off of your face, as it is very difficult and uncomfortable to relax (although the balcony area is quite lovely, you can't really use it in the evening for fear of being eaten alive!!). TV didn't work (no real hardship there).

Now, being made of bamboo i appreciate it must be difficult to ensure sound proofing. However, I could hear my neighbours at all times (at one point I thought the man next door was in our wash room and ran out). At night you could clearly hear the rats running along the roof- and there had certainly been one in the bathroom as it ate our soap and left a poo in the sink!!! Hilarious, bizarre, and an experience. Just not one i'd be willing to repeat

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a brilliant homestay. We stayed one night then headed off on their boat trip over night. While everyone at the pier was trying to rip us off, this family offered fair and honest prices and we had a fantastic time. While the boat itself isn't the most stunning on the water, we discovered its not about what the boat itself looks like; the views that you get from it are far more important. The food was sensational. The staff very friendly and helpful.

We did one other cruise on an aesthetically pleasing boat with someone we found at the pier. While the boat itself was nicer the staff were rude and only cared about money. They weren't willing to waste fuel going far out into the backwaters. The cruise on the astamudi boat was tenfold better at a fraction of the price.

The Ashta Mudi boat experience was one i will cherish for a long time. People say its easier and better value to find a boat at the pier but actually that was stressful and we couldn't find anyone offering a better deal than ashtamudi (even after hours of haggling!). If I was you I would book the Asta MUdi boat, it wont disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We arrived at the homestay late in the evening. But the reception was prompt & we were straight away shown our room.

Tourists do frequent this place, as the auto-drivers are well aware of this location. We got all possible help & information from the owners.

Would recommend this for people who want to stay for 1 - 2 days. Budget stay with excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashtamudi Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.