We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ashtamudi Homestay to your Saves list
Ashtamudi Homestay
West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We thought this was a very nice place to stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and very cheap, the verandah is a lovely place to hang out and the bamboo rooms are really charming. Bathrooms are basic but clean. Ashtamudi is close to town as well. We would rate this stay excellent if not for a couple of things; firstly, we had quite a few powercuts during our 24 hour stay, and the WiFi did not work continuously (but was fast when it worked). Secondly, our room facing the street was very noisy, both from the street (which is small but busy, and Indian drivers apparently cannot go 10 metres without honking at something), from construction works in the same building and next door, and also from the room next to us with only thin bamboo walls separating the rooms. Despite this, all in all this is a very good place to stay, and we would be happy to return as well as to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Try not to get room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    118
    16
    15
    7
See reviews for
72
142
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Ashtamudi is really a very nice place to stay and the hosts are really friendly.I took the room on the first floor which was quite big,simple and clean. would definitely come back there if i ever come to Alleypey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

With the lack of options in town in Alleppey, I think this is a great little option. The host family who runs this bed and breakfast are lovely and accomodating. They even took my partner on their moterbike to the wine shop before our boat trip. They will give you infomation and advice on boats, but will not push their tours on you. Astamundi is in a pretty good location with easy access to a few restaurants, and a walk to the boat docks to organize your boat tours. The rooms were clean (we stayed in two different ones before and after our boat trip). The lower rooms are probably more quiet. The bathrooms were clean. If you want hot water simply ask, and a bucket will be brought to your room. You can choose from airconditioned or fan rooms, the fans mostly did the job, except when the power cut-out which happens frequently in Alleppey. The internet was really good. I reccommend any of the rooms, I think the prices range from $14/ n- $25 (but I forget). I give it a 9 out of 10 for value for money.

Room Tip: The bottom rooms are more quite. The top are fine too, but you hear other people staying there, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagliari
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and Irene were in Alleppey for 2013 new year's day. We booked in advance because we suspected it would have been crowded and Ashtamudi crew was very kind and efficient since the beginning. Our room was large, nice and clean. Our stay was very pleasant and their terrace gave us moments of true relax. Absolutely recommeded!

Room Tip: Bamboo rooms are without A/C but the fan was enough in december. I would choose them again because t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the accommodation side, this place is great. The rooms are quirky, but clean, the staff friendly and the room good value. However, Alleppey itself is not a nice place and not worthy of staying the night. It's poorly lit at night, has barely any decent places to eat, very pedestrian un-friendly and just boring. We came here thinking that we would be able to get a better deal on a houseboat rental here, rather than in Kochi. I believe that we would have been better off organising the houseboat from the much nicer town of Kochi.

If we were just reviewing the accommodation we would have given this place a higher rating. However, what lets it down is the houseboat hire provided. We have been travelling in India for 2months and were very much looking forward to the Alleppey backwaters as a highlight. We were so disappointed and the houseboat hire was really not worth the money. For the 22hours of the 'tour', you are only actually moving along the waterways for a maximum of 2.5hours. 2 hours the first day and 30mins the following morning. We stopped for long periods for lunch, breakdowns and just seemingly for the sake of stopping. The food was bland, minimal and far from tasty. Staff would communicate little as to what was going on, which made it difficult to relax. The biggest disappointment was the overnight mooring location - squished in alongside all the other houseboats, facing a large electrical pole next to a mosquito-ridden, dirty pond. Far from idyllic.

For accommodation - 4.5/5
Houseboat - 1/5

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great value for your money at this homestay. Uma and Subash are warm and welcoming hosts. The best part of the experience however, was the overnight houseboat, owned by Ashtamudi, that Uma booked for us. We spend one day and night on the backwaters and saw many birds, soaked up sun, and enjoyed delicious traditional South Indian food on the boat. Definitely ask about the houseboat if you stay at Ashtamudi. Highly recommend Ashtamudi Homestay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It is a wonderful place to stay. The hospitality given was splendid. We took two bamboo rooms which was very comfortable and ethnic. Hot water was given on time for bathing. Food was excellent. I bet you couldn't eat the Curry Meen they serve. In my opinion Ashtamudi Homestay is the best place to stay if you visit Alappuzha.

Room Tip: In winter take bamboo rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashtamudi Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.