We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the centre of Alleppey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashtamudi Homestay

Save Saved
You added Ashtamudi Homestay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashtamudi Homestay
West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stay for the centre of Alleppey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

As quiet as you can get for the centre of Alleppey !
I had a small double (500R) which was plenty big
Enough for me , and would be ok for a couple for
Just a few days .
Loo roll & towel, mozzie plug in & mozzie net
Provided.
I took the bamboo room , and you needed the fan
On !
It is next to a school - so don't expect to lie in !
The lady who owns it , can organise backwater boat trips,
But the back waters are so busy and polluted with
The fumes are gross . So opt for a 'punted' boat
Instead , much more peacefull and a better
Experience all round!

Room Tip: Ask for a bamboo room away from the school end
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    111
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
69
137
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I visited this place with my family during 1st wk of Dec'12. We loved our stay here. Felt at home. Good home cooked food. This was especially important as I was travelling with parents (in their 50s) and are a lil finicky about outside food (veg).
It amazes me how the owners manage to do everything all by themselves. Hats off to them! They make great hosts.
It was indeed a memorable stay.
Suggestions: can only think of 1- Sofa area could be lil more cleaner.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed here during our last leg of kerala tour. This homestay was really a home. A great value for money. The bamboo houses are just awesome. The home like food cooked by owners are really yummy. Location is also good, close to back water boating start canal. U can try.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratnagiri, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

though we had very short stay at ashtamudi homestay it was most memorable in our trip.its location is very convenient from ksrtc bus stand and boat jetty.its suits to your purse if you are a budget traveller.good food,traditional touch,clean and beautiful room and help from nice host Uma all these you get as bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and really loved it. The owners really are very sweet and helpful. Wifi worked well, and we appreciated the mosquito net, even though the provided plug-in seemed to keep them at bay even when we didn't use the net. We did a canoe tour with somebody else, but realized we probably should have saved money and gone with our Ashtamudi instead. Ask about it! Allepey is beautiful, we liked it much more than we thought we would. Of course, the backwaters are incredible though!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Affordable and centrally located. The owners are very kind and helped me with making onward travel arrangements. They allowed me to make last minute changes and provided useful tips for navigating the KSRTC bus system. I highly recommend staying here. Thank you Ashtamudi for your kindness!

Room Tip: Upstairs bamboo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Uma and her husband Subhash are very friendly and welcoming. We arrived very late on the first night but Uma settled us in curtiosly. We stayed in one of the lovely bamboo rooms which has an amazing varanda outside the room.
Uma makes breakfast on request, we chose Dosa one morning and then a chickpea and rice flour dish the next. Both were utterly delicious!
There is free wifi which is a big plus. The town as a whole is very friendly and you can walk around without being hassled at all. It's a perfect place to experience the back waters and we chose to do the Kayaking through http://keralakayaking.com/home/ which is a highlight from my holiday.
I'd 100% recommend a trip to Alleppey to stay here...

Room Tip: The bamboo room is lovely and unusual!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashtamudi Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashtamudi Homestay

Address: West of S.D.V. Central School | Zilla Court Ward, Alappuzha 688 001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the vibrant town of Alappuzha which is the centre for adventures into the Backwaters of Kerala. Ashtamudi Home Stay is a welcoming and peaceful place with friendly English speaking staff. The rooms, although fitted with modern conveniences such as cable TV and air conditioning, are styled in the Keralan tradition, echoing the look and feel of the backwater houseboats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ashtamudi Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashtamudi Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashtamudi Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.