We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kerala House Boats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerala House Boats
Save
You added Kerala House Boats to your Saves list
VI/156, Punnamada, | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 146 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“House boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We travelled to Kerala some year back. Went to munaar then went to alleppy. Our package included house boat. We enjoyed the day sailing on the rivers of rice fields, house and palaces. We went to Coptic church and shopping street along the river. In the evening the boats stand in one place, mosquito nets are lowered and you can ask your boat chef to make you dinner. Not a very luxurious experience but ok for an different adventure.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    73
    17
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
80
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The season is usually from August to Feb...Nearest Airport is Kochi(Cochin)..you can spend a day or two in the house boats , which can have 1, 2 or 3 bedrooms..usually has two boat drivers and a cook... You can buy your favourite fish from the local shops on route and the Cook will prepare it for you..don't forget to try the local beer called 'kallu"...
Pls call two or three operators to know the average cost before booking one...the paddy fields and backwaters are really beautiful and relaxing....

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Alleppy Boat house cruise on third week of April 2015: We booked one 2 bed room houseboat for 4 adults and 2 children from M/s. Aqua Jumbo Houseboat(please avoid this company), but they directed us to use some other’s houseboat – Eco Trails Green houseboat. It is not fair on the part of Aqua Jumbo to offer something else, without informing us about this. It is like Tourist Taxi operators hiring others car to offer to you as Taxi. But here, it is for long stay-over night stay. The boat was not that much neat and clean . Not as we saw some good images in Aqua Jumbo website, and that is the reason for us to chose this brand, but alas!!!! What we got for Rs.9000.00 is something very different. This amount is for limited use of AC, that is AC in 2 rooms will work from 7.00 PM to 7.00AM next day, and includes lunch,snacks n coffee in the evening, dinner and breakfast. But we must admit, that their food preparation was good enough and the staff were courteous.

Our main problem and anguish started, once they anchor/park their boat for night stay. They parked the boat in some remote area, in fact at the center of water, one side backwater lake and on other side paddy field full of water. No other boat or men seen to a radius of 500 meters. There must be some sort of arrangements to park these houseboats during night stay. Say 5 or6 boats parked together ina nearby area, it will give some good sense. Remote parking was our grouse, but we have to bear all these,as we are at the mercy of boat staff.
In our case, there was some problem with their generator and so to provide basic light and AC, they drew power from a pump house (used for paddy fields) nearby. Still worse was, they used crude method - wires running to 100 meters, laid on wet land without any proper insulation. On safety point of view, on wet land conditions, these wires may cause worst problems. But again we were helpless.
Backwater scenario was fantastic and enjoyable till dawn, for a period of say 5.30 hours. Insects and mosquitoes are aplenty and the bad smell of water during night stay. Anyhow, we also went for houseboat cruise in Alleppy. But we decided not to recommend Aqua Jumbo house boats, to our friends and relatives .It is to be avoided.

Room Tip: If you are going with your family and children, better go for day cruise and stay at one of resorts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before flying to India I decided to book in advance so I didn't have to worry about making sure we had a reservation. I wish I hadn't. I booked Houseboats based on the great reviews here on TripAdvisor. I do not know what people were talking about! I have done the houseboat experience before and this was terrible. The boat was very dirty, had poor furnishings and not up to standards.
The price we paid was more than it would have been had we just booked at the local booking office and we got nothing more for it. The food was ok, but nothing special. I had amazing food on my previous houseboat experience and hoped to have the same again one day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Seasonzindia is the best and has Good budget kerala tour packages . they provide good resorts in every view point . we got a nice houseboat and had peaceful night init. we have enjoyed our trip a lot . thanks seasonzindia .

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 9 and got a beautiful 4-bedroom houseboat. The rooms were clean and immaculate, the kind of rooms you would expect from a top hotel! But neither the rooms, or the spectacular views of rivers/rice fields/ wildlife can compare to the food. The food was the best we had in India!! Delicious keralan curries with fried chicken and fish, fruit smoothies, banana pancakes for breakfast etc. Everything is really fresh (you actually see Chef get off the boat to go buy the fish and fruit from local fishermen and farmers). Be prepared to eat, a lot.

The entire experience was extremely relaxing and enjoyable. We stayed two nights, which I would recommend for anyone wanting to delve a bit further into the backwaters and in need of a good long relax! If not, one night is probably enough to experience the serenity.

Mr Joffy, who runs Elite Houseboat, is very friendly and helpful. He organised a taxi for us from Alleppey to Munnar for when we got off the boat- no mean feat considering it was Easter Friday! It was also a pleasure dealing with him via email when booking, giving all the details we would want and making the whole process very easy.

All in all, I would thoroughly recommend Elite Houseboats!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you haven't been on a houseboat, then it is a must-have experience for you surely. Instead of taking a hotel, please take this because it will really be once in a lifetime experience. The backwaters area truly define why Kerala is called "god's own country".
The scenic beauty that surrounds is mesmerizing and worth enjoying.

The cost of houseboats are expensive but includes ride into interior villages in the backwaters, 3 time meals, snacks etc. I will recommend you take Joffy's houseboat because it really addresses the concern you have seen (or will see) in other reviews. http://elitehouseboat.com/

The mosquito problem is addressed as they have nets all around the houseboat once it is stationary. The entire boat is for you and believe you me it is huge. The food is fantastic. There are two options for you - INR 7500 for limited AC usage (10 PM - 6 AM), no evening snack and cold drinks, and INR with 9500 you get that extra flexibility. In April and onwards, take the entire package. I will recommend the full AC option (9500 one) because that will ensure that as you feel hot, you can buckle in your room. The room is decently sized with clean bathrooms. There is a glass window in the room through which you can enjoy outside surroundings. The boat was exceptionally clean and we were asked to drop our shoes at the entry to the houseboat to keep it such. Beautiful woodwork inside the boat and the crew was exceptionally helpful in getting things done for you. There will be 3 members of the crew with you on the boat - Captain, cook and helper. They are completely non-intrusive and will let you be in the room if you want to. The lunch breakfast and dinner had hearty portions. 4 veg curry and vegetable options, rice, breads, juice/cold drinks, sweet dish. For sea food lovers, there is fish and chicken in all meals. Everything they make is fantastic and everyone loved it. There will be other options as well that you may want to explore but this is tried and tested twice by people around me so I can assure it was fantastic. The location can be hard to find but Joffy made sure that he kept in touch so that we can find our way easily. Even the communication for north Indians and other part of the country (and abroad) is not a problem because most know basic Hindi and English.

The docking area is so beautiful both towards the evening and in the morning that you will want to go out and explore it. While we were there, it started raining and the weather turned the surroundings into a further state of bliss for us. Do check accuweather for weather updates while making your reservation.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in summer - take the option of unlimited AC and extra snacks etc. It will make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerala House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala House Boats

Address: VI/156, Punnamada, | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have introduced a fleet of new generation luxury houseboats. We proudly claim that it is not just a boat that we have got ready for you, it is a home,and pleasant as the one in which you live. The bedrooms are arranged with all the amenities and facilities you need to help you rest and relax, as you glide along. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kerala House Boats (House Boats) Hotel Alappuzha
Kerala House Boats Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerala House Boats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.