We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerala House Boats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kerala House Boats
Save
You added Kerala House Boats to your Saves list
VI/156, Punnamada, | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688013, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 146 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Three great things:
1. Sabu's cooking - Our cook was awesome. He made great lunch with fish fry right after a massage session at an ayurvedic place. We bought crab and prawns (very large) and Sabu made the best prawn/Crabs that we have eaten ever (Quite easily such a platter would be charged $2k)
2. Privacy - Both the driver and the cook were nice enough to leave us alone and make us feel at home, in the boat. The rooms were very clean, professional with TV/DvD/Pendrive support and it was an awesome watching your favorite movie at night.
3. Flexible - The guys were very flexible accomodating our needs. They waited for 1.5 hrs to finish our massage and shopping session.

One thing to watch out for:
1. Mosquitos at night in the living room (Bed room was safe though). Please close your door/windows after 6pm to stop mosquitos from getting in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    73
    17
    3
    9
See reviews for
51
80
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Beautiful ride during daytime. ..calm and peaceful. Staff was good and the food was also good. But once the boat is parked after 5.30 too many mosquitos & insects will make you feel like running away from there back to the city.so my suggestion is to take the ride during daytime and enjoy the city at night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thekkady, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The food was fabulous. Totally relaxing. Nice staff. The one bedroom boat was new and clean, but... the shower dripped - like there was a plumbing problem - into a bucket all day and night, the captain could not speak or understand English, the whole thing about going to a village is not correct, the bedding was awful, and we had one white towel for 2 people -- really? Just OK. Overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked Elite house boats while sitting in Delhi after reading reviews on Tripadviser & looking at the attractive photos on their website. When I reached the boarding site I realized that it was an ordinary house boat which had been outsourced to some one. Staff was very uncooperative. Total SAILING TIME was not more than 5 hrs.It was anchored at 5pm & only after fighting with the staff did they again started sailing at 8.30am to finally deboard at 9.30am.I felt like a fool to have paid exorbitant charges for staying in an anchored houseboat for15 hrs.It would be a better idea to hire house boat only for a day cruise. There was a restriction of only 1small fish/meal.When my wife,who is a nonveg(I am vegetarian) asked for another fish the cook said another fish is for dinner.If she will take that fish in Lunch then we will have to purchase for dinner on our own. Relaxing boat ride,sipping beer,drinking coconut water,doing your own fishing,meeting locals when anchored,taking a walk in the village when anchored is a matter of fiction.Please carry your own coconut water.It is easier to get coconut in Delhi than in Alleppey
Meals were poverty stricken. A photo has been uploaded by me for you to assess what was served to us.
I really felt as if I was taken for a ride-literally.I had thought House boat stay would be a highlight of my trip but I was utterly disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURBAN SOUTH AFRICA
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

we boarded the houseboat from Lakes and Lagoon jetty by 12 noon,we were introduced to the crews ,the cruise starts. anchor and have lunch which the crew prepares lovely fry fish dish and vegetables. after lunch we proceeded to champakulam and visited the snake boat, church and village market etc.at the market one can get fresh vegetables and prawns and fish. one can purchase some prawns and the chef will gladly prepare it for u.in the evening we proceed to Kanjipadam for overnight and have dinner on board. what a peaceful and blissful night with stars shinning and the lapping of the water from lakes and lagoons. houseboats carved well and very neat and tidy with a lounge and scatter cushions for one to relax. experience was awesome
crew members were very helpful and generous and polite. when in kerala make a trip to Alleppey and enjoy the boathouse cruise .

Room Tip: the boat house had 2 bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Being in the middle of back-waters in this weather is a unique and amazing experience. They have maintained these house boats very nicely. Rooms are appropriately sized for two and bathrooms are also clean. While on the move, you could see absolutely awesome nature - so peaceful.....!! Kids also had excellent time on house boat...The staff on the house boat was also very nice...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I booked my boyfriend & I in for a 1 night stay with Elite Houseboats months before our visit to India for my boyfriend's birthday. Mr Joffy was very good with communication. Our stay on the houseboat was unforgettable and one of our favorite memories from our travels in India. The 2 men who cooked for us and drove the boat were lovely. The food was INCREDIBLE -lots of it too. We even stopped to buy fresh giant prawns for dinner. One of the men made us the best coffee we've ever had in our life - we want the recipe! Truly one of the most magical 24 hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kerala House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kerala House Boats

Address: VI/156, Punnamada, | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have introduced a fleet of new generation luxury houseboats. We proudly claim that it is not just a boat that we have got ready for you, it is a home,and pleasant as the one in which you live. The bedrooms are arranged with all the amenities and facilities you need to help you rest and relax, as you glide along. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kerala House Boats (House Boats) Hotel Alappuzha
Kerala House Boats Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerala House Boats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.