We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Sanctuary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back Water Farm House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Back Water Farm House
Save
You added Back Water Farm House to your Saves list
Thazhuppu Cherthala, Alappuzha 688540, India   |  
Hotel amenities
cayman islands
1 review
“Heavenly Sanctuary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I can't say enough good things about The Backwater Farmhouse. I stayed here follow R&R following a rather gruelling 5 weeks Panchakarma treatment. It was idyllic, so relaxing in charming and peacefully setting right on the Kerala backwaters in a small fishing village and away from any hustle and bustle. I was here for over a week and sadly had to cut my trip short, I would have been very happy to stay for another week.

The accommodation is really spacious, clean and very comfortable. The outdoor bathrooms is great but can be a bit wet and wild during a storm. The all inclusive food is DELICIOUS and there's no fear of you ever going hungry. The families that run this place are absolutely charming, Manu speaks perfect English and is very knowledgable and happy to share information and banter and always happy to help out in any he can.

Bring plenty to read so that you can properly relax on site. However, there are plenty of things to do if you aren't ready to fully wind down yet. Take a guided or self punted trip in a boat. You can take a quick ride on one of the canoes across the backwater to do Yoga at Matt India in the mornings. Take a scooter for a spin and explore the local area. Take a day trip to Cochin and get some spices and check out the chinese fishing nets. It's a quick trip to beautiful white sandy beaches which looked like there was some good surf waves but not sure how suitable it would be for females to surf in this area.

A must try is the Ayurvedic treatments. Eby has over 16 years of experience as an Ayurvedic practitioner and it shows. I had 5 days Marma massage and this is quite possibly the best and most effective massage treatment for chronic pain, that I've ever had. Fixed a number of issues that I thought I would be stuck with for the rest of my days... highly recommended!

The families here welcome you and will do everything possible to make your stay as wonderful as they can. They are charming, friendly, kind and very good at their business. If you can visit The Backwater Farmhouse, you absolutely should!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This place is in a jungle surrounded by water. It's a good place where you can relax after weeks in chaotic Indian cities. Manu speaks perfect English and is very friendly. Rooms are large, bathroom is in an open space so if you are afraid of ants or insects don't be surprised to make friendship with them :) Air conditioning is silent, which is very rare in India. We preferred not to spend an entire night in the houseboat because it was too humid. We also rented a scooter for 2 days and it was very funny because Kerala side streets are very safe. All meals are included in the price. Food was excellent but a little bit monotonous

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We loved our overnight boat tour. It was such a fantastic break from the cities, noise and people. The food was absolutely superb (some of the best we had in the south). The service was wonderful - our punters / guides were so nice, helpful and provided good insight to the culture. The boat was...tired. It's seen finer days. Carpet was pretty filthy and the mosquito nets had holes in them. But we've read worse reviews about some boats so I'd say it was in fair condition overall (and a decent value). The location is simply wonderful. Remote, quiet, peaceful and away from any other boats. We would book this tour again and when we did, we would plan for an extra night at one if their cottages. Cottages looked brand new and very clean. We regretted booking only 1 night and not 2.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights in March and it was wonderful!! So peaceful and quiet, food was amazing and there was so much of it!!! Rooms were big and clean, water is complimentary. There is a small shop about 10 min walk back the road where you can buy juice, snacks and fruit. Take a few books with you and just sit on the porch and read and enjoy!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We got the address of this Back Water Farm House from a couple who told us that we are going to a place which is paradise.And the truth, it is paradise.We stayed one day in a homestay and the second on the boat.Everything there was perfect.We were welcomed by the manager s wife,then we were served with food and in the afternoon the trip on the boat. The day after,the staying on the boat was a dream .The food was delicious.We had the best time in this place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It's hard to find the superlatives to describe this experience. A boat of your own, no motor just manpower, quiet backwaters full of wild life and local people going about their daily lives. Manu, our chief boatman was so knowledgeable, and was able to spot the wild life long before we did, and the food.....the food! You will not get tastier, fresher food anywhere. Simply stunning. If you do one thing in Kerala, do this!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Wow! We had such an incredible time on this back waters trip. The trip included staying on a houseboat for 24 hours. Although the boat was simple, it had everything we needed. There wasn't nothing more idyllic than sitting at the front of the boat while our two boatmen punted along silently through the tranquil backwaters without a motor in ear shot. The food was amazing, the chef prepared local Keralan delicacies which included two types of fish, loads of different vegetables and fresh Indian bread. And to top it all off, while we were watching the sun come down on the boat, the team cropped up with a couple of beers. Not a bad word to say about this trip!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Back Water Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Back Water Farm House

Address: Thazhuppu Cherthala, Alappuzha 688540, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheruvally Back Water Farm House. This waterfront resort is located 23km south of Cochin. You can experience the beauty of the village by cruising in a country boat. The village-born crewmen will take you to explore the hidden beauty of the zig-zag remote venues, the sightseeing at the village neighbourhood, watching the traditional fishing of the villagers, peculiarity of Chines method of fishing trapping, visiting local market, rope making from coconut fibre and all the more a noise-free calm surroundings with A/C and Non A/C guest house will no doubt bring to you an entirely different but palatable taste. We are serving traditional Keralan dishes, accompanied by seafood specialty, bottled water and transfer by car to the resort are free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Back Water Farm House Hotel Alappuzha
Back Water Farm House Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Water Farm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.