We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful serene location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort to your Saves list
Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort
Kuthiyathode (PO), Alappuzha 688533, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful serene location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Had stayed here for my honeymoon. The idea of staying on an island is itself exciting for a couple. Though the smell at the boat pickup point is unbearable, it all makes up when we reach this beautiful hotel. The staff was very friendly welcoming guests with a big smile and always on their toes to help. The floating restaurant is a great idea. Food is okay. All rooms are lake view so you can enjoy a romantic seating in the gallery. Garden is well maintained. And the little pets like rabbits, ducks give you a special company on the island.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The place was calm and beautiful. View of backwater and village from cottage were fantastic. When it come to cleanliness and food, this place is pathetic. The place doesn't give a secure feeling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GURGAON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We visited the place on our Honeymoon.It is the very nice & peaceful location surrounded by water & well maintain the beauty of nature on the Island. It has very beautiful Garden on the Island. We have to reach there by a small Motor boat.We are greated by the staff & transfer in the room. The room was floating on the water & very clean & have water facing Balcony.which is very nice concept.
The food was very nice. You will have beautiful natural scenery there. They have very nice spa.
We loved very much the floating rooms there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice but choose the floating Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

we were here for one night, this an experience worth it, staying on an island with water all around. although the rooms are not that clean, bu what can you expect on an island, they say that rooms are floating but you cannot feel it, but you can see that room conrners are tied with wooden poles with thick ropes.

just go to the balcony of your room and you will see backwaters only.......atleast its better than an houseboat (as per feedback from my friends on houseboats)

food was okay okay....not that good, would not recommend for more than one night

also the name of the resprt has changed to Pride Emarald Island Resort

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Been here in januari 2011 I wanted to stay here during my holliday in october 2011. I stayed here in a beautiful (re-) decorated room with all aminities. The food in the restaurant was good, de service I had was good. Nice surroundings, with a small playfield with sand, cosy sitting area`s under the palmtrees or large umbrella`s. There are nice floating rooms!

There a good activities like going with a speedboat or peddling yourself into a boat, waterbikes, or just watch sit en and enjoy the beautul peacefull nature.
In reaction about the prices of the food from other reviews on this website: you must consider this is an island so to keep and get food there is more difficult than in hotels on land. So for me its not more than reasonable that the prices are a bit higher.

There is many staff, even security, their pendle boat is always there and check in and check out goes smootly. Overall i had a good stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Wonderful place for Relaxing and enjoying vaccation without going anyhere.Once you rech on this Island Resort With great view from Rooms.your day can be have Leisurely breakfast, do some boating, Kayaking, Relax, Have luch. take a nap play some volley ball, badminton if not interested do some fishing , go for Speed Boating, have Bonfire, dinner. In short if you need lazy day or two this place is for you.Our stay at Pristine Island was Excellent as we were the only guest in the property so entire Staff, Amenities were at our purusal.
Rooms Bath Rooms were neat & Clean. Bathroom Fittings , Accessories were in good condition. View from room was excellent. Rooms in line of restaurant have better view than rooms accross. Food was ok not so good, not so bad. Children loved doing fishing,. Playing with Geese, Rabbit, Turkey and Paddle Boating (Which was free).

Charges at Restaurant were too High. You have to surrender to it as you are on Island resort and don't have any alternate too.as to go outside you need to cross the lake (of course that is complimentary) drive for 10-12 kms. to reach the main road. And to search good restaurant I don't know how much you need to travel.
Speed boat Rates were also very high Rs. 1800 for one Hour.
Form here Kochi is 20 Km., Alappey is 40-50 Kms., Kumarkom 80-90 Kms. Thus this can not be substitute to actual Backwaters Stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I was facinated by the word "floating cottage" they used for the room type. And booked it to see what it is actually.
Reality: Rooms are on water. But you will not feel floating because it never moves an inch.

Location: Hotel is on a small (I suppose man-made) island in a lake. and they use small 2 seater ferry for transportaion. Yet, you will not find single small shop in 1 km sorround area in the main land also near by this hotel. If you want to be alone and go away from crowd, this is the best place.

Rooms: "Floating cottages" are not actually floating. They are just situated on the water instead of land. View from Room is awsome. You can see full lake view right from the bed in the room. Still it is scary in night.

Food: I had dinner here. There were not much option to choose from. Service boy hand counted possible items!!! We had to settle for Biryani... It was good. Me and my wife were the only guest that time so forget buffet!!!

Service: Goan style uniform for bellboys just didnt work. This is not Goa. If hotel owner wanted to try something else than formals, he could have gone for traditional dress. Service was good though. They agreed to take me to main land by ferry at 11pm also.


We were the only guests... Imagine!!! I was nice to be alone one way.. but it was scary on the other hand!!!


Overall... NO NO to this hotel...

Tip to hotel management: You got amazing location guys... Do something!!! You can make this hotel far far better.

Room Tip: Get Floating Cottages.. atleast a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort

Address: Kuthiyathode (PO), Alappuzha 688533, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prisitine island is located on alappuzha which is 20 Km before the alleppy and 40 min drive from the cochin airport. Near by beaches are 30 Min drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emarald Pristine Island - Floating Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.