We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with Backwater tours” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Venice Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Venice Castle to your Saves list
Venice Castle
Opp.to D.T.P.C Office | Behind CANARA Bank, Boat Jetty Road, Alappuzha 688011, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 135 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be careful with Backwater tours”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My negative review does not refer to the accommodation as such - the room was perfectly fine. However, host Matthew also offers Backwater tours which you cannot necessarily rely on.
We happened to arrive in the evening without having booked any tour for the next day in advance. We could have just gone to town the next day to book something but he assured us he would take care of it and find a guide for a half-day trip. Unfortunately, all of his "regulars" were already booked - without us knowing, of course. What we got was a villager who could understand and speak hardly any English - which is quite dissatisfying if you really want to learn about the Backwaters. The boat was old and he also seemed to want to save gas as he was going extremely slow and we only saw a handful of channels. The trip cost us 1200 Rs - way too much. What made things worse though was that when we told Matthew about our disappointment he wanted to give us 120Rs to make up for it. The next morning when we paid for our room he even offered 1000Rs, which seemed like it was intended to keep us from writing a bad review.
As I said, the place is fine to stay at - but you cannot necessarily rely on the Backwater tours offered here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    46
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
150
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, West Yorkshire UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our favourite homestay on our India trip. Thomas, Matthew and Mary Koti were lovely people and the house was extremely clean, light and bright and breakfasts were excellent, with freshly squeezed pineaple juice and traditional keralan food. Conveniently placed but peaceful with a lovely garden and resident puppy, Julie. Thomas was really helpful in sorting out changed travel arrangements for our next stopover. He also arranged for us to have laundry done. Would recommend tuk-tuk driver, Kabir - really honest and not trying to rip you off. Also try to find Gopi for backwater trip on his Shikhara boat - a treasure!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The owner and his family (including children and puppy) were very friendly and welcoming, as was the manager. The owner's mother was lovely and prepared excellent, traditional Kerala breakfasts. There were quite a few guests, so it was a fun around the breakfast table, but also a peaceful and relaxing base from which to explore the area. Very close to the boat jetty, so convenient for tours of the backwaters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was one of the few times I didnt get to check trip advisor before booking as the wifi was out at my prior Property. My tuk tuk drive brought me here and I was extremely surprised at the quality of this homestay. It was in a great location close to the pier, bus station and the center of town. My room was large with a tv with English channels but more important was the cleanliness, it was very very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Joseph the man in charge had a glow about him and was always there to be of help in anyway he could be with an incredible smile.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Venice Castle I found to be an oasis of tranquility, more or less in the centre of Alleppey. Though central (very close to the main boat jetties), it is set back some way from the main road, and so noise wasn't a problem at all at any time. To the contrary, Venice Castle is set in a very quiet, peaceful, gorgeous green garden. The building itself is very attractive, and both my (spacious) room and bathroom were comfortable and entirely adequate. I especially enjoyed reading on the communal balcony out front, overlooking the garden. Breakfast was very tasty, with a selection of Indian and Western dishes served. The owner, Thomas, was extremely helpful, amiable (he wore a big, warm, genuine smile, for the entirety of my stay), and knowledgeable. The 2 women I met at breakfast (in the kitchen) were extremely welcoming too. I also loved the young labrador dog! All in all, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Call ahead for a room overlooking the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ecrainville, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our stay in Venice castle was perfect for all three of us, from the very clean and large bedroom, the beautiful balcony, of course the wellcoming of Matthiew, Thomas, Matthew's mother... Breakfast time was always a great moment, I could enjoy indian food while children would eat omelets, cereals and toasts...
And, what is always wonderful when you travel, Thomas and Matthiew always gave good ideas for excursions and good advices...
Thanks to them !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Alappuzha is rather a noisy and crowded town and Venice Castle is a much needed oasis on a quiet side street but only a few minutes walk from the main Boat Jetty Road and the places where it is possible to hire a boat (or even a canoe) to explore the backwaters. The building is obviously fairly new and the room was spacious and clean and the attached bathroom was fine. Breakfast was adequate. The owner and the staff were friendly and attentive. There is a pleasant balcony on the first floor. There is also a tied-up dog whose barking during the day did become irritating after a while - fortunately, it was quiet during the night. All in all, recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venice Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venice Castle

Address: Opp.to D.T.P.C Office | Behind CANARA Bank, Boat Jetty Road, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venice castle is the home stay of your dreams It is ideally located in the very heart of the town. Yet, Venice castle is cut off from the din and bustle of the town by wooded surroundings that lends an ambiance of the country side. The home stay is set in large of lush green plants, landscaped premises and a well mowed lawn with garden lights.Peace and alms prevails over the place which is broken only with the chiming of soft bells from the nearby temple, the chirruping of birds or the playful whistling of the squirrels in the tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Venice Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venice Castle Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venice Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.