We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, great views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Palace Kerala Resort

Save Saved
You added Green Palace Kerala Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Chempumpuram P.O., Alappuzha 688505, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 56 hotels in Alappuzha
Canberra
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Run down, great views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in an A/C deluxe room - the A/C is great and I needed it, but the power cuts (sometimes all night) meant you were lucky if it was working and made things very hot and uncomfortable!

This is a very small 'resort' which must be reached by ferry. The guys working there were shy but quite charming and gave good service. There is nothing to do at Green Palace other than sit on your balcony or walk around the small area of land. The grounds are quite nice and the food was pretty good too.

Views from the balcony are great and you are right over the water. The rooms themselves however are pretty rundown and the bathroom was downright scary!

The staff can arrange for Ayurvedic treatments, I booked a massage. At the allotted time, one of the guys will take you on their boat to a little shack about 15-20 minutes away to an Ayurvedic practitioner. While you get your massage, he waits outside and chats to the others there before driving you back home.

Room standards may not be to everyone's tastes, and I probably wouldn't stay again, but it's not terrible overall.

Room Tip: Go for an A/C room in this climate, but be prepared for it to die at regular intervals. Without A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
21
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed in this resort for a week in the last week of Jan'12. I had a good experience but i never cared to write any reviews. So now when i finally thought to pen down my experience, I was bit surprised to see lot of negative reviews.

I had booked this resort only based on the reviews given in tripadvisor. The reviews that i had read were from average to good. There were no bad reviews.

About my experience -

The resort:
The resort location is excellent. Now this depends on what kind of experience you're looking for. If you're planning to stay for a longer time in allappey, just enjoy the nature, and not much hopping around, then this is the resort to stay. This resort is in an island and they operate their own ferry/boat service to commute between the resort and mainland alappey. Hence accessibility is limited. So not good if you're planning to just stay over in alappey for a night or two. If you want to stay put in Alappey - this is the resort!

Rooms-
Rooms are good! I did not have any issues as far as hygiene is concerned. Now this could a subjective factor ( i did not experience any leakages -as there are no rains in Jan- or infestation at least). But the best thing about the room (which gave me the best experience in Alappey) is the large balcony that opens on to the backwater. The beauty of alappey is in its back waters and this resort is the best option you can get (for the price you're paying) to enjoy the real beauty of Alappey - its backwaters. You could simply do the bird watching from your balcony, watch the house boat (I hate hose boats - explained later) and canoes plying in the back water of Allappey- all from your room. It is such a susegad experience!
The location of the rooms are also amazing. There is a vast paddy field on the east side (you can watch the beautiful sun rise) and back water on the other side (where you can watch the breathtaking sun set and enjoy the colours of Alappey sky!)

Food-
Food is good and punjabi/north indian food is surprisingly good! Kerala gets lot of tourists/travellers from North India. Hence these people here have really learnt to cook good paneer curries. Can't say about non-veg good as i'm a vegan.

Service -
Service was prompt and they did satisfy all my requests. They have a family like approach and take good care of your needs. Shibu (the manager) is a very friendly guy. Sunil is very helpful and responsive.

House boats-
I"ve seen lot of bad reviews regarding house boat bookings done from the hotel. Firstly, before booking any house boat please do read the blogs about house boat (in general). Avoid house boats. They are only commercialized to earn money and are not at all good. There are hygiene issues and they also cause lot of environmental problems. They (houseboats) are largely responsible for polluting the backwaters and affecting the marine life of Allappey. They are run and managed by lobbies only to make money (at any costs). The real beauty of Alappey is in the narrow canals back waters, Houseboats DO NOT ply on narrow canals but on wide lakes. Go for canoeing (that goes through the narrow canal) which can offer you the ultimate experience of Alappey.

The location of the resort is so scenic that lot of houseboats get parked (night halt) around the resort.

So over all it was a great experience. I stayed in this resort for a week and was more than satisfied. I hope they do maintain the same quality of service and facilities that I had experienced.

One major drawback that I would like to mention is the hotel receives lot of groups (students, employees etc) who come for half day (lunch to dinner). Now the groups and the commotion they cause could really spoil the tranquility and serenity that you would want to enjoy. This can become frustrating. During my week's stay there were two groups that had come and had really frustrated the hell out of us. Based on my complain, the manager (Shibu) in fact stopped the music that was being played on the speakers (much to the disappointment of the group). But i appreciated this move of his.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The location of the resort by the riverside with water on all sides is excellent.A small boat ride to the resort ignites your excitement.We stayed for a couple of nights from 13th to 15th June2012. You get a real experience of God's Own Country with a lot of greenery and water coupled with a complete village environment.Truly relaxing stay for all those who want to escape from the crowded city life and not wanting spoils of luxuries.The accomodation is basic and good with rooms having good views of the waterfront.More facilities are under construction.There are few independent cottages by the water.Food is also good but do not expect too much.I recommend the local delicacies.Service is also good with the manager Mr.Sabu being very helpful. A vacation here during the monsoon time can be more exclusive and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Pls never go to their houseboats, I and my cousin from US booked their houseboat in February for which they took 100% advance and our experience was the worst ever.
The staff did not co-operate with us at all, in fact they were most rude.
Food served was yuk.
Nothing about them was worth recommending and above all since we vacated their houseboat in the evening itself they did not have the courtesy of making partial refund...CHEATERS
Never approach them for bookings, you will spoil your trip and time and shall come back with a very bitter experience.

Ishmeet Khurana, Delhi

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Hi all, please avoid this hotel. This is not well maintained.also owners cheated us by booking a house boat for 10500 when the same was available for 7000. Also rooms had lizards. rooms were not clean.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kodaikanal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I was at the Green Palace to celebrate my 30th wedding anniversary and it was a joyous one. Mr. Sabu was very helpful and till the time we went on board the house boat all was taken care by Mr. Sabu and his staffs. The AC rooms were indeed good,We had a pleasant stay and all was well. Mr. Sabu waited for us at the jetty area and also escorted us back to the resort via the transport boat (their own).Their staffs were efficient and we liked their services. Their backup generators were immediately commissioned when the powers went out. Overall, I have decided that we would be going back again next year, InshaAllah.
Best Regards,
Sadayan Ebrams

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trivandrum
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

A truly amazing location to die for !
A/c cottages are the one to choose for !
The Staffs especially Sabu and dhananjay are very helpful
The main attractive feature is Jiji thomas ,the owner of this resort ! very friendly man and treats like a family
Went there last september with the family and was overwhelmed by the hospitality ,location and arrangements !

Really superb place to visit ! go for the cottages though :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Palace Kerala Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palace Kerala Resort

Also Known As:
Green Palace Kerala Resort Alappuzha, India
Address: Chempumpuram P.O., Alappuzha 688505, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip so you can book your Green Palace Kerala Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Palace Kerala Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.