We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pamba Heritage Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Pamba Heritage Villa to your Saves list
The Pamba Heritage Villa
Kanjooparambil-Umbukadu, | Nedumudi Jetty, Alappuzha 688512, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Rajiv's home is a traditional Kerala house with a breathtaking view of the backwaters. With a big lawn dotted with different trees: mango, jackfruit, coconut (we were treated to water from freshly plucked tender coconuts) and hammocks - it is the perfect place to relax! We took a boat ride through the narrow canals of the backwaters and it was the best one hour we spent in Alleppey. The food is to die for - authentic Kerala cuisine served on a banana leaf - absolutely delicious. But the most wonderful part of staying at Pamba is Rajiv's warmth and openness - he is a great person, and made us feel completely at home. In retrospect, my husband and I really do wish we'd spent an extra day at Pamba. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    16
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in The Pamba Heritage at the beginning of November which is a peaceful time in the backwaters, not many other tourists around :) The charming old house is very well placed right by the river. The rooms are clean and spacious and there is a lovely outdoor bathroom from where you can see the stars and fireflies dancing around the palm trees at night.

Food is very good home-made South-Indian food three times a day, served outside in the garden or in the family dining room at night.

The host Rajeev is very welcoming and makes you feel at ease. We enjoyed conversations with him very much and could learn about the local life and habits. There are 3 children in the family, two 9-year old boys and their elder sister, so visitors with children can surely have some company as well.

It is lovely to go for village walks in the neighbourhood, either on your own or accompanied by Rajeev. I wish we'd had time for a country boat ride which Rajeev can arrange for you, but this time our stay was too short. Hope to be back next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I am struggling to write this review because we had such a good time, I fear my words won't do it justice.

Pamba was the ideal place to fully immerse yourself into the Keralan setting (in fact, so ideal, Rajeev's home was actually used as a film set for a Malayalam movie currently in cinemas!). Whatever's been said - the tranquility of the backwaters with its hypnotic ripples reflecting rows of coconut trees amidst other lush greenery under a orange-pink painted skyline - it's all true, if not more.

We also did a bit of running around the village of Nedumudy. Our little feet took us through acres and acres of paddyfields, past houses and shops, on canal pathways, untarred roads; during which we were always greeted by friendly smiles and hellos. It was breathtaking! You can then always jump into the river to cool off ;)

The highlight of our stay however, was the hospitality shown by Rajeev, his family and his helper Charlie. The communication was great from the start - Rajeev was extremely responsive to emails and guided us in our planning (e.g. transport, and helping us arrange a night on a houseboat - which deserves another review by itself). He was an easy-going, humorous fellow and we all had some really nice conversations together. Extremely helpful and friendly, a truly outstanding host! Food was homecooked by Rajeev's mummy and her meals were some of the best I've ever had. And Charlie was simply fantastic - he'll take good care of you.

It was a pleasure getting to know the people at Pamba. I missed just chilling out on the porch, watching the river boats go by and having casual banters with Rajeev and Charlie. Would I visit again? Most definitely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Pamba Heritage Villa is one the best places that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

We were picked up by canoe, taken to Rajeev's home which is directly on the river. As soon as we saw the hammock's, the house boats and were greatly warmly by Rajeev the outside world simply disappeared.

Rajeev was welcoming and arranged for us to take a walk around the village and explore a little. Charlie, was one of the highlights of the trip, took us around, showing us how they fish, the workers on the fields, and also taking us to a neighbour for some fresh coconut juice. He was extremely knowledgable in the surrounding area, and I could not have wished for a better guide.

The food was authentic and home cooked, and outdoor showers (using a door from the bedroom) is a great touch!

Fantastic place to stay if you want a real experience, and to be able to truly kick back, relax and forget anything outside of the Kerala exists.

If your needing to get away from the manic's of the world, or even just the hustle and bustle of travelling around India, Kerala is the place to go, and The Pamba the place to stay!!

Thanks a million to Rajeev and Charlie!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here recently with 2 friends of mine and I cannot recommend Pamba Heritage enough. The scenery is stunning, with the lodge being directly on the River. We was collected by canoe which was great! Rajeev (the owner) arranged for us to take a walk around the local village with his staff member, Charlie who is equally brilliant.

We stayed for one night and the cost is very reasonable @ Rs. 6000 as it includes breakfast, lunch and dinner too. There is an outside shower in each room which I thought was an amazing touch. The next day Rajeev arranged a house boat for us via Ever Green Tours @ Rs 8500...again, amazing value for money. We stopped at a local market and bought some fresh seafood which was cooked to perfection on the boat.

We had a fantastic time here and I would recommend to all friends and family in future. Thank you to Rajeev for going the extra mile for us too and assisting us with our onward travel! If you are looking for a friendly, scenic, traditional trip to experience Kerala, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night only and were really impressed with the beauty of the location, the village and the friendly staff and owners.

This is a family run home stay and it was truly a great experience.
Great outdoor showers offer a natural cleansing session accompanied by chirping birds, a fabulous way to kick off the morning.

Charlie took us on a tour to the village, exploring the rice fields, meeting locals on the way and even introduced us to coconut beer. He was at our beck and call literally all day and made 110% sure we were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. Lovely gentleman and a pleasure to have met him.

The food was very traditional and it was great. A must is the Kerala prawns from the fish market. At an extra cost, they are definitely worth it and Charlie was more than happy to get them for us. Grilled and prepared to perfection they were the best prawns I have ever had!

The home stay is on the river and we really enjoyed lazing about in hammocks in the luscious garden looking out to the river and the passing boats.

Raj organised our boat with a company called Evergreen. It was spectacular and luxurious. Worth every penny. He also assisted me with organising my transport to Trivandrum a d arranged for a tuk to fetch me at 5am to take me to the bus stop. The family is so welcoming and really helpful. It was a pleasure to have met them and we are extremely grateful for their hospitality and kindness.

A must stay if you are going to Allelley!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our recent stay at The Pamba Heritage Villa really was one to remember. The hospitality was excellent and we felt relaxed and at home Rajeev's beautiful home. The food was excellent, a true taste of traditional Keralan food (we ticked it all off in the Lonely Planet guide!).

Rajeev was an outstanding host, arranging tickets for the boat race, a river cruise and various other excursions for our group. And then you have Charlie! Charlie was basically our tour guide for our stay, he took us on a walk through the village, on a boat trip to see an old Hindu temple and caught our dinner from the river one evening (this is to name but a few of the things he did for us over 5 days). So, overall, the service was 5*!

This place was a real experience, the location on the river is lovely and we had an excellent time! I would definitely recommend this homestay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pamba Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pamba Heritage Villa

Address: Kanjooparambil-Umbukadu, | Nedumudi Jetty, Alappuzha 688512, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pamba Heritage -a most perfect blend of old world charm and modern amenities. The antique wooden structures "Ara" and "Nilavara" which were originally used for storing grains have been restored for modern living.This is the home away from home, which is sandwiched between the silver cascading Pamba River on the western side, and emerald carpeted paddy fields on the eastern side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Pamba Heritage Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pamba Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pamba Heritage Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.