We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but terrible overprised food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chakara Restaurant

Chakara Restaurant
Beach Rd,, Alappuzha, India
(0477) 2230767
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 40 restaurants in Alappuzha
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mannheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good location but terrible overprised food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to have a fancy dinner in Raheem Residence/Restaurant Chakara on 31.1., the place looked nice, had a great location. The menu seemed a bit too pricey at 2500 ruppies but we thought we give it a try. The outcome was terrrible, food was not good at all, meet in the seafood grilled platter was dried and had a horrible taste, also the service was rather poor, we had to argue with the staff when we wanted them to change dirty table cloth and they let us wait a number of times when we demanded their attention, you would not expect this in a restaurant charging so much for their food. So definitely not worth the price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    4
    6
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Ambience, Hot Food, Cool Beach Air and Cold Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Restaurant is across the road from Alleppey beach. It gets lot of sea breeze and has very friendly staff, however, one needs to go past the security guard who has been instructed to stop all Non-foreigners from entering. Once you go past this hurdle, it is smooth sailing. Food is well presented, beer is cold. You can enjoy you meal and the beach air, all at the same time.

Reservation is highly recommended. Along the Alleppey beach, this is THE best restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool breezes, sea views (depending on which table), tasty food but not the best value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Three of us had lunch consisting of 2 plates of grilled prawns with steamed veg and chips, one chicken dish with rice and 3 Kingfisher beers. Total cost 2100 R. It all tasted great especially the veg (green beans, carrots and cauliflower florets in a buttery masala glaze). For peak Xmas season the place was quiet - only one other couple. The restaurant is accesses by a spiral staircase. The beach is across the road and looked pretty empty. Views are not spectacular. all in all it was a pleasant experience but nothing to write home about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“OK for splashing out. Location best however food towards average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I wanted a night-off from standard Indian fare and restaurants and this delivered well. It feels sophisticated and presents well. Overall the food was good rather than memorable

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Table reserved for me was taken by others!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I. LOCATION
Just in front of a beach, surrounded by trees, this roof top restaurant has a nice and deluxe ambiance.
II FOOD QUALITY.
Superb! Alleppy Fish Curry is "signature dish of the restaurant". Highly recommended. Dhal Butter fly(yellow split- peas curried with spices and butter)was delicious and not heavy. Dum Aloo Kashmiri(potatoes stuffed with spiced vegetables in cashew sauce)was a unique delicacy. Where on earth can you taste such a delicious main dish with a perfect ambiance together with a good beer for less than 10 $?(Maybe only in Viet Nam in my experience)
III SERVICE
This is where there is a problem. I liked this restaurant so much that I went there every night. The best table is at the corner,from where you can overlook the beach. On my 3rd night when I arrived, I saw a couple sitting at the table I had reserved the previous night. The waitor who took the reservation told me he realized that it had been reserved a few days in advance. I do not believe him ,because I had asked him twice that night.(Iif he was right,still it means lack of professionalism) It is possible that this waitor was offered a few Rupees by these clients.
Anyway this kind of problem should not happen in a well reputed restaurant like Chakara.
V final comment
This restaurant would deserve 5 points, if it were not for such a shameful incident. I hope management realizes that not everyone accepts such injustice, especially people coming from fully democratic countries!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chakara Restaurant also viewed

 
Alappuzha, Kerala
 

Been to Chakara Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chakara Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.