We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alleppey Beach Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alleppey Beach Resorts to your Saves list
Alleppey Beach Resorts
Beach Road, Alappuzha 688012, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We loved our time here (3 nights), the hotel is fab and our room was huge, with AC and fan, impeccably clean as well which was appreciated. Moreover, the hammocks in the garden (on the beach, private garden and locked for safety but you could step out onto the beach) were a nice touch. Best thing however was the food! Absolutely amazing, don't leave without trying the Keralan Seer fish curry. Delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    26
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
32
32
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MATHURA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Pros:
1.0> Located bang on the Arabian sea-shore
2.0> Adjoining a pristine beach ideal for sunbath and sea-bath
3.0> Beautiful sunset view on the sea right from the verandah of sea-side cottage.
4.0> Arabian Sea right outside your cottage window. You’ll listen the songs and rhythm of waves lapping against the shores throughout the day, all through the night.
5.0> Courteous and helpful staff.
6.0> Value for money – at a price of around INR 3500/- to INR 4000/- (might have been increased by now) at the peak of season – this is worth every penny.
7.0> Coconut-tree shaded lawn, hammocks available for a leisurely reading of book in the tranquil shadows of the tree.
8.0> Well maintained privacy. Secure cottage compound for the entire complex. Beach side gate closes at night.
9.0> In new year, you can see the fire-crackers bursting in dark sky atop distant Cochin Harbour or adjoining other Allapuzha shores right from your cottage verandah if you are fortunate enough to land up in the seaside cottage at the south-west corner of the complex.
10.0> Sumptous, delicious food. Coconut based, Malabar fish curries. Often a bit spicy. But it leaves it’s tastes long after you’ve taken.
11.0> Have a cool bottle of beer, have your snacks lazily at the cottage verandah and chill. It’s heaven.
12.0> Added attractions : Spa Center, the famous oil-treatment of Kerala. And you can treat the whole Arabian Sea as your swimming pool just a touchstone ahead. Its an amzing experience.
13.0> In night, lie down in one of the hammocks. The starry dark night with stars twinkling above will smile at you. The constant rhyme and rythm of waves breaking ashore and the lyrics and music of waves, winds and sea will weave a wand of magic around you.
Cons:
I find no cons. This was one of my lifetime experience in my LTC. I wish to go back again there. I’m sure you’ll.

Room Tip: Select the cottage at the extreme south-west corner of the complex that will face the sea-shore from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Cottage facing the beach.....more like a basic room behind a stone wall. Airconditioning doesn't work, sheets damp and smelling. Bed bugs in the mattress. Towels stained and disgusting. Service of staff non existent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Slightly over our budget but once we saw the view from the top floor (non a/c) room we couldn't resist. Excellent location, friendly staff, good food (although some nights menu was limited). Interesting bar only 5 minutes down road overlooking main beach. Would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Non a/c rooms on top floor get the view from the large communal veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel has a perfect location. It has a private beach. They served good food as well. I agree with Ubaidahmad that the toilet's window opens in to the reception which breaches privacy. Otherwise the hotel is very nice. The cleanliness was quite ok and the service was also good. The beach is very clean and the location of the hotel is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Decent place with a direct view of the sea. Beautiful traditional architecture with a home like feel. We had the best food here as compared to all the other places we stayed in Kerala. Do try the Prawns fry here its a must.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The resort has an excellent location, has a private beach and serves good food. However, the overall condition is poor and low on maintenance. The toilet's window opens in to the reception which breaches privacy. If location matters to you more, go for the place or else look for other properties which are across the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
22.2 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
12.6 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#15 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#5 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#16 of 56 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alleppey Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alleppey Beach Resorts

Address: Beach Road, Alappuzha 688012, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alleppey Beach resort's was my Husband's ancestral Home.In the year 2000 we converted this huge house on the beach into a small Resort.The resort is on the beach and we have one a/c cottage, three a/c rooms on the ground floor, two a/c rooms and three non a/c rooms on the first floor and one non a/c room on the ground floor . we also have an in house restaurant serving authentic food with no gimmicks. we use only home made ingredients for our dishes.Access to the beach is direct and the beach is as far as possible kept clean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alleppey Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alleppey Beach Hotel Alappuzha
Alleppey Beach Resorts Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alleppey Beach Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.