We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing homestay in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nelpura Heritage Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nelpura Heritage Homestay
Edayady House | Monkompu P O, Alappuzha 688502, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 130 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing homestay in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Arriving by boat was very calming and pretty special. Our hosts were very welcoming and helped us to explore the area including by bike, the sunset boat ride was also a good experience and the best way to see and understand the local community at work and play - much more interesting than the larger boat rides. The food was delicious. The room was in a beautiful old wood building in a pretty garden. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Tranquility - the one word that we think best describes Nelpura.

We - a family of 5 (2 Adults aged 52, 2 Teenagers 17 and 19 and a grandfather aged 88) spent 3 nights here - enjoying every minute of our stay.

The canoe rides arranged by the owners both in the evening and early in the morning were the hilites. Sitting in the canoe and travesring thru the narrow canals while greeting the people busy taking their bath, washing their clothes, preparing the fish and washing their cooking vessels is something we will never forget. We also visited the Bhagwati temple, a village church and a nearby school. The Allepey beachcan be skipped.

What cannot be skipped is the tremedous graciousness of the owner Chacko and his wife who looked after us as if we were their personal guests. This started with a warm welcome, attending to our various dietary wishes, great home made food (veg and non-veg) and the wonderful conversations we had with them
on the churches in Kerala, schools and university systems and numerous other topics. The house we stayed was very comfortable and was rich in local heritage. The gardens was excellently maintained with beautiful red and green palms.

We had a wonderful stay - far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday indian city life -
serene and full of tranquility.

Room Tip: The middle room is a bit on the dark side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It really is special and gorgeous. I've stayed several places in the area, and this is strongly recommended. The room is gorgeous as is the ride on the boat. Family not as warm as people describe and the price point for these parts is very, very high, but I'd say it's worth it.

Room Tip: Rent the whole house if you're with a family. So cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This backwater home is in a perfect spot for a relaxing couple of days just off the main river bank area. We opted to stay here and spend an evening cruising the backwaters on a motor launch - helpfully arranged by our host Prof Chacko. We suspect that this offered as much of an experience of backwater cruising as many of the larger boats that plough the major rivers, with the added bonus of seeing some of the smaller but equally fascinating routes inaccessible to the big barges.
Salimma and Chacko are lovely hosts, and we had the additional privilege to share their traditional family Maundy Thursday evening celebration with a special desert that is passed by the head of the house to his guests and the whole family in turn. We walked around the village in the evening, had an early morning cycle ride over a longer distance, and then the high spot of the aforementioned sunset cruise of the backwaters. Probably not a place to spend a long time due to the relative isolation from transport, but offers the chance to see rural backwater life in every aspect and not to be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This venue is wonderful - lovely location, great service and charming hosts. If you want a backwater experience where you can walk around a little and interact with friendly locals and get a sense of how people truly live in this area, look no further.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The first part of this memorable stay was the trip by the homestay's own canoe, a great introduction to the backwaters, to see real life on the system of small streams and canals. The homestay is situated in the peaceful village of Moncombu, near Alappuzha, Kerala. The hosts Chacko and his wife, Salimma are charming and very welcoming. The accommodation is very comfortable and full of character. The home cooking was delicious, and it was exciting to try so many new dishes and combinations. We had been to India, before but the food in Kerala is light and delicious, and our stay at Nelpura was a wonderful introduction to this cuisine. The people in the surrounding villages are happy, friendly and welcoming in this idyllic spot. don't miss it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We knew that we had made the right choice as soon as we caught sight of the small canoe that was waiting to drift us gently through the back water channels to the Nelpura Homestay. The situation of Nelpura right in the heart of the back waters is superb. We were able to take sunset cruises in the canoe to watch the sun dip below the horizon, in a peaceful spot - we couldn't have asked for more. The village of Moncompu is ideal for walking or cycling around, the people are so very friendly and always wanted to stop for a chat and there were so may photo opportunities we nearly ran out of storage. The family are very welcoming and the accommodation is a nice mix of traditional and modern comforts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nelpura Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelpura Heritage Homestay

Address: Edayady House | Monkompu P O, Alappuzha 688502, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelpura is one of the top ten Homestay in India (Guardian paper Sept '10) It stands calm and serine on the bank of a canal leading leading to river Pamba. A perfect getaway from the din and bustle of every day life, the idyllic premises of Nelpura is an ideal retreat into the soothing lap of nature.The building showcases the fine features of traditional Kerala architecture and wood carving.What makes Nelpura special and unique is the serine dignity it gains from the proximity of a happy home.The meal plan is AP- lunch, dinner and breakfast of Kerala cuisine.Activities. Village walk, bicycle ride, narrow canal cruise, visit to ancient churches and temples, cooking class, ayurvedic massage, motor boat trips etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelpura Heritage Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nelpura Heritage Homestay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nelpura Heritage Homestay to your Saves list