We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, helpful staff and OK boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Queen Houseboats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Queen Houseboats
Save
You added River Queen Houseboats to your Saves list
Nehru Trophy Road,Konnakapalli Building, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food, helpful staff and OK boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

It was a decent houseboat ... staff was helpful and food was good. Rooms were tiny as would be in any houseboat ... cleanliness could be better. Houseboat had TVs but without satellite connections … they did provide some pre-loaded movies in USB (You really need them as night come early and you cannot do much reading as light is insufficient).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

To start with the good part about the Boat....
1. Clean Rooms - The rooms are as good as you can expect in a 3/4 star hotel
2. decent food
3. the lounge and dining area and overall boat was enclosed so no flies mosquitoes getting in
4. Good lunch / dinner ......poor breakfast
5 the driver went fishing when the boat docked at night and caught some great fish..which my little kid enjoyed watching...

What i didnt like:
This is one of the exceptions where the on boat service staff( cook, captain, driver) were taking us for a ride and the management actually went out of the way to fix things
The check in /out as per my itinerary was 12:00 noon to 10:00 am, the captain says its 12:00 noon to 8:00 am ..ok no big deal....we can work that out, AC timing is from 20:30pm but captain says its from 21:00.....no probs I can live with that
Cruise time is from 12:30 to 18:00.......The boats leave at 12:50pm and immediately as we enter the open sea ( ~ 13:15pm) the boat stopped and docked for lunch... first we were served and then the crew had their meal.....~ 2 hours gone and boat not moving....then we slowly start chugging along and another hour or so later we dock again at a tuck shop selling cold drinks and raw sea food, the chef encourages us to buy fresh fish/ prawns that he can cook for us...the rates here are exorbitant.....we are docked again for 40 odd minutes.....then we start off again....at 17:10pm the boat stops again.....captain says that 17:30 the boats have to dock as the fishermen now come in to sea and its not allowed...well sir the time is 18:00pm when boats have to stop from what i found out why stop at 17:10.....as per captain his docking point is reached and we Must stop now.....OK so be it.....all other boats are cruising along till 18:00pm another 50 min lost.

We spend the night in the boat and next morning sharp at 7:00am the captain starts off again and heads to the finishing point....all other boats around us are either docked or cruising......now is when i lost it...i reasoned with the captain..but no luck...so I call up the boat manager..he tries to fix but no luck......finally i call the boat owner Mr Koshi...the good man got the point and said that the boat will not stop till 9:30am....we now miss our finishing point and the boat keeps cruising till 9:30am.
Breakfast was only Idly and sambhar + Chutney - not sure if thats standard fare on house boats

One point that travelers should be careful about is that when you book please make sure that you ask for INDIVIDUAL house boat, which i had done....i saw other house boats where there were 2 or three families in the same boat accommodated in different rooms.....privacy can be an issue here... .saw two couples (on honeymoon) sharing same boat.....not a pretty sight trust me.....will give River queen credit for that at-least.

overall house boat is an experience that one should not miss.

Room Tip: ask for INDIVIDUAL house boat and get it in writing before you start.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I want to start writing with the fact that this was so bad, we wanted to runaway from the houseboat, by whatever means possible.

I had booked a houseboat through makemytrip.com for meridien houseboat. The boat was supposed to pick us up at 12:00 clock but never showed up till 1:00 PM.

The boat was very dirty, old, cheap, and ant-infested. we could hardly ingest the worstfood that we ever had in Kerala. There was dust all over, window glasses were broken, and there were ants in the bedroom and bathroom.

It was such a nightmare, being trapped in that houseboat, which they anchored in the night in the middle of nowhere.

Honestly, never ever go in this boat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We booked river queen houseboats through a travel company planning our trip.

We stayed in the houseboat for one night. It was nothing short of a nightmare. We were three adults squeezed into one tiny room. The extra bed was actually a mattress on the floor. The floor of the houseboat was very dirty and there were also cockroaches.

The owner of the houseboat did not tell us anything and just loaded our luggage and went off. The staff was not at all friendly.

In the evening we docked near a small hamlet and the staff just disappeared. There were mosquitoes but we were only given a mosquito repellent after a few hours.

The AC switches on only at 9 pm and when we asked for it to be switched on the staff asked us for Rs 2000 extra. The AC remote was not working and couldnt not be switched off from inside the room.

The bathroom was tiny and not clean at all.

We were glad to have stayed only one night. Please make sure you look at different houseboat companies before booking and take all details.

This was a total waste of money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The river queen house boats is really an experience in its own that cannot be imitated anywhere. It was a part of our 7 day tour in the greeneries ( arranged by Antilog vacations which gave a very good service).We stayed at many places but this was different. Traditionally the houseboats have been called Kettuvallam in Kerala which literally means a boat that is completely made by tying together some pieces of wood.

Unbelievable as it sounds, not even a single bolt or nail is ever used in the making of a housed boat, The Kettuvallam. Wooden planks or the Jack wood planks are joined together with the help of a coir rope and are then coated with a black resin made from boiled cashew nut shells.

Cruising relaxingly along the backwaters of Kerala is a completely unforgettable experience. If someone has not experienced it you must. Here what they are providing is a golden opportunity to experience it at a fraction of the original cost as nowadays they are providing discounts.

You can get in any House Boat that is of your liking and ride down the cool and calm waters of their world famous backwaters. You also get to have a merry time and get back to your home either the same day or after spending a wonderful night or as well out floating around in the backwaters.

The House Boats here are huge & slow moving but are purely exotic boats that are designed for sheer leisure and relaxing trips. Formerly these House Boats were used to ship rice in this state. Also spices and other goods were shipped between Kuttanad and the Cochin port through house boats. It used to be a three-day back affair in those days. A standard House Boat which can be easily about 100 feet long, could hold up to 30 tons of goods or people that is as much as three very big lorries can carry.

Some have bad experiences with houseboat & I think issue lies with what travel agent u r enrolling.dealing directly with houseboat owners is a taboo & one should avoid it. We had a wonderful experience & avoided any mishappenings and bad service that is so hear of on some travel forums

All the best, have a good time here !



RQ Houseboats : They are worth it despite whatever criticism they’ve got
Female , 4 stars,oct,couple

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I found this good house boat. Boat was good in condition. Also sight seeing was great,

I booked deluxe house boat, but on this AC was on for 9.00PM to 6.00AM only.
I was worried about food as they are not offering choice for food only they offer south indian food. But food was good.
This would be better if they can have menu for food.



Regards,
Udit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

As with other reviews here, we were also dubious about merely sending an e-mail and paying a deposit up front with no real booking acknowledgement. We really needn't have worried, we had booked a tour with these guys, so they arranged for us to go to Munnar with a driver, stay in a fantastic hotel and then be brought to the houseboat. Mr Joffy arranged the whole thing, including our driver picking us up from our previous hotel and meeting us at the jetty himself. Everything ran very very smoothly, the houseboat was perfect and our driver and chef were AMAZING! This is definitely something you must do when you visit Kerala.

Room Tip: rig up yatra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Queen Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Queen Houseboats

Address: Nehru Trophy Road,Konnakapalli Building, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
River Queen Houseboats Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Queen Houseboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.