We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RQ Houseboats : They are worth it despite whatever criticism they’ve got” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Queen Houseboats

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Queen Houseboats
Save
You added River Queen Houseboats to your Saves list
Nehru Trophy Road,Konnakapalli Building, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
kolkata
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“RQ Houseboats : They are worth it despite whatever criticism they’ve got”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The river queen house boats is really an experience in its own that cannot be imitated anywhere. It was a part of our 7 day tour in the greeneries ( arranged by Antilog vacations which gave a very good service).We stayed at many places but this was different. Traditionally the houseboats have been called Kettuvallam in Kerala which literally means a boat that is completely made by tying together some pieces of wood.

Unbelievable as it sounds, not even a single bolt or nail is ever used in the making of a housed boat, The Kettuvallam. Wooden planks or the Jack wood planks are joined together with the help of a coir rope and are then coated with a black resin made from boiled cashew nut shells.

Cruising relaxingly along the backwaters of Kerala is a completely unforgettable experience. If someone has not experienced it you must. Here what they are providing is a golden opportunity to experience it at a fraction of the original cost as nowadays they are providing discounts.

You can get in any House Boat that is of your liking and ride down the cool and calm waters of their world famous backwaters. You also get to have a merry time and get back to your home either the same day or after spending a wonderful night or as well out floating around in the backwaters.

The House Boats here are huge & slow moving but are purely exotic boats that are designed for sheer leisure and relaxing trips. Formerly these House Boats were used to ship rice in this state. Also spices and other goods were shipped between Kuttanad and the Cochin port through house boats. It used to be a three-day back affair in those days. A standard House Boat which can be easily about 100 feet long, could hold up to 30 tons of goods or people that is as much as three very big lorries can carry.

Some have bad experiences with houseboat & I think issue lies with what travel agent u r enrolling.dealing directly with houseboat owners is a taboo & one should avoid it. We had a wonderful experience & avoided any mishappenings and bad service that is so hear of on some travel forums

All the best, have a good time here !



RQ Houseboats : They are worth it despite whatever criticism they’ve got
Female , 4 stars,oct,couple

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I found this good house boat. Boat was good in condition. Also sight seeing was great,

I booked deluxe house boat, but on this AC was on for 9.00PM to 6.00AM only.
I was worried about food as they are not offering choice for food only they offer south indian food. But food was good.
This would be better if they can have menu for food.



Regards,
Udit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerala
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

As with other reviews here, we were also dubious about merely sending an e-mail and paying a deposit up front with no real booking acknowledgement. We really needn't have worried, we had booked a tour with these guys, so they arranged for us to go to Munnar with a driver, stay in a fantastic hotel and then be brought to the houseboat. Mr Joffy arranged the whole thing, including our driver picking us up from our previous hotel and meeting us at the jetty himself. Everything ran very very smoothly, the houseboat was perfect and our driver and chef were AMAZING! This is definitely something you must do when you visit Kerala.

Room Tip: rig up yatra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Cleanliness and Hygiene is zero in this houseboat. We found at least 5 lizards crawling on the wooden walls all over. The crew had the least courtesy and have not received any training except for driving the boat. The food served were literally soaked in some old oil. All my family had stomach upset the following day. The crew didn't guide us on any site seeing during the cruise. The TV and DVD players were just a show piece, which didn't work properly. If you are looking for hot water for bathing forget it. Overall it was not worth the money. Go for other options instead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I will suggest before booking please check your house boat snaps. I had booked a deluxe boat and found condition of the boat was very poor. It was not at all neat and tidy. There are a lot of house boats to choose over there. At night they will anchor the boat to a boring place with no market to roam or a place to hang out. The only plus thing is ok food and when the boat rides in backwater.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

it was a nice trip in riverqueen house boat with sweet good memories.i felt it is one of the lexurious house boat,especially its upper deck& sun deck was great.staff was very friendly and gave us homely atmosphere.the food inside the boat was very tasty !!!!!!!!!!!! by this trip we enjoyed scenery of back water.its room was very clean &tidy.in next time surely i will prefer riverqueen boat only which gave us the happiest moment to my life..............

Room Tip: choose delux or premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We spend part of our honeymoon on River Queen, it was very good choice. We`ve got a wonderful trip on River Queen. The boat was comfortable, staff very, very friendly, helpful and discreet.
The variety of food and spectacular view made our trip more interesting and full of unforgettable memories.
We love this place and will be back there for sure. We recommend to all who wants to relax, stay in touch with nature and have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Queen Houseboats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Queen Houseboats

Address: Nehru Trophy Road,Konnakapalli Building, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
River Queen Houseboats Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Queen Houseboats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.