We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
“Amazing Experience.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spent 4 days at Punnamada Resort from 23-26 Feb and by the end of it we never wanted to leave. The road to the resort is small and it made us think if we have chosen the right place, but one view of the resort assured us that this is the best location we could have chosen. The view from the villa is amazing and you have to experience it in person. Getting a chance to see the sunrise from your window sitting in the bed is an experience in itself.

In addition to the landscape the staff was very supportive and the food was also very good. The best thing to do was taking a walk near the restaurant and just looking at the lake. A special mention goes to Mr. Anil who was very cooperative during the whole stay.

I think i can possibly go on an on about the report still it will be less. One should definitely experience this resort in a lifetime. Would love to come again here some day :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good, clean and comfortable, if looking for a romantic setting, nothing beats the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us .let me thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review . We look forward to welcome you back to Punnamada Resort Again.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    149
    35
    7
    9
See reviews for
139
224
17
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Been there end of Feb-Mar'14 with my friends and had a great time. Rooms were very good, location was amazing - by the lake, food was excellent especially since we were vegetarians. The service was exceptionally good.. staff very cordial and helpful. Loved my stay, would love to go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay and experiences at Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us as well for your gesture of writing about it on Tripadvisor. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We took the romancing punnamada package to celebrate our anniversary

Whats awesome?
List is long, ill try to keep it concise:
1: Location: this resort is located right next to the punnamada lake. Its too beautiful to be true. We felt as if we were inside a painting!
2. Infrastructure: We stayed for a night in a villa, which was a fusion of modern+traditional decor. It was good value for money and the scene from the villa was breathtaking. The house boat was very well maintained and clean as well.We stayed there for another night and captured many great shots! The canal cruise was great too. There are other facilities like spa, swimming, indoor games etc.
3. Hospitality: What makes it a vow is the staff. They are very cordial, ready to help and always at the guests call. Always smiling, I think its the staff which will take this resort to a high.
4. Food: The chef is great. Whether u want veg/non veg, there are plethora of options to chose. the chef also customises according to ur taste, so give it a shot!

What can be improved: The bathrooms in the house boat can be revamped (especially the shower)

Dont miss:
1> The candle light dinner
2> Canal cruise/sunset cruise through house boat ( there is one thru shikara too, i loved the one thru house boat)
3> cultural programs
4> the house boat and villa itself.

Room Tip: Lake side villa, House Boat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay and experiences at Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us as well for your gesture of writing about it on Tripadvisor. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little gem of a resort. My daughter and I stayed 3 nights and wished we had booked to stay longer. The room (502) was exquisite with petals on the canopied beds, traditional wooden furniture and really interesting doors with chunky wooden bolts and intricate brass work. Tea making facilities and minibar in the room were great for grabbing a beer and sitting outside our room overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was open to the sky and we couldn't have been more delighted with it.
The restaurant is good, meals were delicious and reasonably priced and the breakfast (included in our price of room) had a great selection for everyone including excellent coffee!
The spa is wonderful, I had 2 massages here and although a bit more expensive than other massages I had in India it was worth paying a bit extra. I highly recommend it, you will float back to your room or the poolside!
Staff here are friendly, courteous and helpful from the moment you arrive. They arranged taxis, tuktuks and a fabulous houseboat trip for us with no problems. We also did the hotels speedboat trip which was £15 for 2 for half an hour where you blast around the lake and it's great fun if you fancy that sort of thing.
Every day there is tea on the lawn at 5pm followed by a sunset boat trip. In the evenings there are indian dancers entertaining you and toddy tapping to watch. There is yoga twice a day and a talk by the Ayurvedic doctor every morning. Also a games room available from 7-7pm with billiard table, pingpong, chess etc and there were bikes of all sizes to hire too and a trampoline for the kids. It sounds like it's a hectic busy resort with all that going on but it's actually really tranquil and relaxing with the games room at the back of the reception so that guests are not disturbed. We were more than happy by the pool where we had fresh towels and watermelon brought to us by the kind and thoughtful staff.
The only negative thing to say about our stay here is that our room although beautiful was hardly soundproofed and as it is in-between 2 others we had the tv blaring on one side (we politely asked this guest to turn it down and he did) and loud FaceTimers on the other side. Obviously the inconsideration of other guests is the not the resorts fault but it's like the walls in this particular room are made of rice paper!
Overall this is a fantastic, luxury place to stay. I'd say it was perfect for couples but also suitable for families with older children. I would definitely stay here again. This is a quality resort well worth the money. Thank you team Punnamada!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review regarding your stay and experiences at Punnamada Resort ! we are delighted to note that you had a wonderful time . let me thank you for staying with us as well for your gesture of writing about it on Tripadvisor. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort .

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very quiet location by the lake. Lovely bungalows, with outside bathrooms.
Service is great and the staff are lovely.
The restaurant has nice food and is very reasonable seeing as you are captive.

No hard liquer, only beer and wine - so no gin and tonic!
Free evening boat cruise and tea at 5pm! Nice touch.

2 hours to the airport and 3,600 rupees - so not to bad at all Free wifi everywhere even at the pool!
Be warned tax at 19.2% is added on top of every bill and so is a service charge but still good value

the lake view is stunning!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
DEAR Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are happy to note that you had a lovely time with us. let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind review. we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort !

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent four days at Punnamada Resort and we were in no hurry to leave by the end! Everything about it was great, from the perfect location on the shores of a lake, to the fantastic service and superb food that we enjoyed there. The rooms were clean and well equipped, and the only small complaint we had was that there were quite a few mosquitoes about but that was more the fault of the Keralan climate rather than Punnamada.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review about punnamada Resort . we are glad to note that you had a wonderful time with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your gesture for writing about us in trip advisor. we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort !

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's a nice quiet boutique resort ,great view of the back waters in fact it's right beside the backwaters. dance performance ,evening boat ride watching the sunset
Are definitely great touches .that makes the guests feel comfortable & relaxed.
The room was spacious & the bathroom was really big .all in all it was comfortable
Stay

Room Tip: Make sure you take a room facing the backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort on Trip advisor. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful time . Let me thank you for your review and for your stay with us . we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort !

Regards,

varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.