We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

To get to the hotel you need to go through very small narrow roads, actually more like alleys, which on first impression is a bit worrying as you think you are going to a dodgy hotel in the middle of no where. but soon as you get there you realise that you have entered a great little place and the welcome at reception was great.

This is a small hotel, about 30 rooms but the size adds to the charm. It's a quiet and chilled out hotel with very good service. Staff are very helpful. The hotel looks onto the lake and the view is good. Bedrooms are large and very nice as well as clean. Food was very good.

Only stayed here 1 night, would have been delighted to have spent an extra night or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review regarding Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. we are happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us . let me thank you for staying with us and for your review. your kind words will certainly encourage us and will help us a lot to improve further in our journey to become a sought after back water resort at Kerala. we look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    127
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
121
197
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had visited Allepey with my partner in August this year and stayed at Punnamada resorts. We had an excellent experience including very clean, comfortable and luxurious rooms. Our package included all meals that we thoroughly enjoyed. The resort was also offering a one day package to visit and view the boat race that we decided not to do.
We instead hired a houseboat from this resort for one day and service and hospitality was top quality.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the lake view ones, but these are also more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your review about Punnamada Resort. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay. let me thank you for staying with us . we look forward to your next visit to punnamada resort.

Regards,

varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is a lovely resort. If you're looking to visit the south of India in style, then stay here. The rooms, staff, facilities and food are all amazing. We stayed one night on a house boat which I would strongly recommend) and two nights in the resort and found it really enjoyable.

The ayurvedic doctor was amazing, he was more attentive and informative than any doctor I've seen back home in the UK - he provided me with dietary advice and wrote me a prescription for ayurvedic medicine which has really helped.

The menu is one of the most elaborate menus I've ever seen in a hotel/restaurant...ever! I'm vegetarian and the choice is incredible as it is for meat eaters also. they even have 'catch of the day' if you like fish.

There's a lot of activities and games too; my favourite was the afternoon tea followed by the sunset cruise (all complimentary).

The only thing (and I'm sorry to have to have to say this as I really did love the resort) was that yoga and meditation wasn't available which I was looking forward to.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel without any doubt; I think it's one of the nicest resorts in South India!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the water if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review about Punnamada Resort . we are delighted to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us . let me thank you for your review and for your patronage . Your encouraging and kind words will go a long way in our journey to excel. we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Punnamada is a small resort, hard to find but worth a visit. Individual bungalows are set right on the lake front with beautiful views of the lake and the house boats floating by.
Room are comfortable. Furnishings are rather old but the friendly staff makes up for this.
They also have a house boat you can rent for an overnight backwaters cruise (we took it to Kumarakom Resort after the overnight backwater cruise).
The massage at the Spa is a unbelievable treat and value.
We were not crazy about the outside bathroom exposed to mosquitoes.
All in all a beautiful place to enjoy the backwaters.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake front room with inside bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on Trip advisor regarding Punnamada Resort and House boat. We are glad to note that you had enjoyed your holiday with us. let me thank you for staying with us and for your kind gesture of writing about us . we look forward to your next visit.

We maintain an old world charm of ethnic Kerala architecture so as our furniture to compliment it.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed in Punnamada during Oct 25 - Oct 27 with my wife. It was our first wedding anniversary. Hence it was special. We had booked a package. The first day we spent in the houseboat and the second day in the lake view room. The stay in the houseboat was very comfortable. The crew were very helpful and nice. We were disappointed with the lunch provided as it had very few options for my wife who was a vegetarian. No complaints if you are a non-vegetarian. We docked for the night at around 6 PM in a remote location which was nice. Nobody to disturb us. Ensure you keep the windows and doors of the bedroom closed to avoid insects in the evening.

The second day we were in the lake view room. The views from here are breathtaking. DO NOT miss the sun rise. It is just beautiful. Our stay was made even more memorable with the service and hospitality of the staff. Big kudos to them. You guys were outstanding.

There was a commercial shooting going on during our stay which in a way spoilt the restaurant area. Food was being served behind the actual restaurant. That was a slight dampener.

Overall , We both loved our stay here and would definitely be back again.

Special thanks to Mr. Sherry who was there to help us with anything whenever we needed.

Good luck Punnamada !!


Pros: Beautiful location, great courteous staff
Cons: Lunch can be made better with better spread. The breakfast and dinner were good.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to know that you had a wonderful holiday with us . Let me thank you for staying with us aswell as for your valid time to write about us and your courtesy. Your feedback has been taken in its spirit and changes made in the menu . we look forward for your next visit to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after we took the tourist cruise from Kollam to Alleppey. This hotel is quite bit away from jetty. When the rickshaw driver drove through small villages in order to get to the hotel at night, we were thinking we must in the middle of nowhere. We had a lakeview room. We didn't see much when we arrived because it was dark outside, but in the morning, we saw the sunrise from our room, which was amazing. While we were there, there was a film crews filming ad there, they were a bit noise in the morning, and we can't eat at the main restaurant because of the film crews were there, we were eating dinner and breakfast at a small room with blinds closed, which was a bit of conds for our stay, since this hotel is not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us . special thanks for your praises for our yoga classes and Mr. Pradeep. It is our endeavor to provide the world class service to our guests . your great review will be a moral boost to our team who strive and achieve excellence in customer service. looking forward to have you with us once again . Regards,

varghese.K.E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is our long over due review of outer wonderful stay at Punnamada Resort last year as part of our holiday in Kerala. Our stay began with a night on one of the resort's houseboats followed by 5 nights at the resort itself.

The houseboat is truly an experience of a lifetime. A drop of Zen in the colour and noise that is India. After a hair raising trip to the resort we were greeted by an immaculate houseboat staffed by three lovely crew. We had hesitated about taking our 3 and 6 year old children on water overnight but I'm very happy we went. Lake Vembanad is an amazing location and Punnamada Resort's houseboat was the perfect way to experience it. Our boat was certainly the nicest looking one of all the boats we saw while on the lake. The food prepared by our chef was amazing, he very happily and easily accommodated for our vegetarian family with fabulous Keralan food. Each meal we had was abundant and delicious.

Back at the resort we stayed in a double story garden view villa right by the pool. The highlight was the outdoor bathroom with its own private courtyard. It really had a fun spa feel.

One of the highlights of the stay was meeting and practicing with our yoga teacher, Pradeep Kumar. I specifically chose Punnamada Resort because I saw they offered daily yoga classes. I had not expected the quality of the yoga offered by the resort. Pradeep is obviously passionate about yoga and a committed practitioner of the art. My husband and I attended his classes daily during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband, who doesn't often practice yoga, really found a connection with Pradeep's style of teaching. I felt both challenged and relaxed in my classes. I also learned some interesting mantras and pranayama techniques that I have continued to use. Some of this information is offered in a short manual available for sale at the Ayurvedic doctor's office for a few rupee, I highly recommend it. Our experience at Punnamada went from wonderful to extraordinary because of our yoga classes there. We really recommend all guests take advantage of the yoga classes.

The other highlight of our stay was the food at the restaurant. Each meal was extremely fresh and a visual as well as sensory feast. The restaurant had an abundance of vegetarian meals that we found it difficult to choose with so many options. There were local Keralan dishes as well as meals from other regions to sample. The restaurant happily accommodated for our children who were not used to eating spicy foods. We also loved trying all the different Indian breakfasts at the breakfast buffet.

We also had the pleasure of experiencing the Diwali celebrations during our stay. There was live music and the entire resort was lit up with thousands of candles.

A big thank you to all the staff at Punnamada who are always in our memories of our trip to India. We spent a significant part of our first visit to India with Punnamada and I am very happy I chose them.

Sandra, Damian & family

Room Tip: Stay in a villa by the pool. You get to just walk out of your room straight into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay . Let me thank you for staying with us and for the time you spent to write a review. Your review will certainly motivate us in our journey to excel. We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.