We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night after we took the tourist cruise from Kollam to Alleppey. This hotel is quite bit away from jetty. When the rickshaw driver drove through small villages in order to get to the hotel at night, we were thinking we must in the middle of nowhere. We had a lakeview room. We didn't see much when we arrived because it was dark outside, but in the morning, we saw the sunrise from our room, which was amazing. While we were there, there was a film crews filming ad there, they were a bit noise in the morning, and we can't eat at the main restaurant because of the film crews were there, we were eating dinner and breakfast at a small room with blinds closed, which was a bit of conds for our stay, since this hotel is not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us . special thanks for your praises for our yoga classes and Mr. Pradeep. It is our endeavor to provide the world class service to our guests . your great review will be a moral boost to our team who strive and achieve excellence in customer service. looking forward to have you with us once again . Regards,

varghese.K.E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    128
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
122
199
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is our long over due review of outer wonderful stay at Punnamada Resort last year as part of our holiday in Kerala. Our stay began with a night on one of the resort's houseboats followed by 5 nights at the resort itself.

The houseboat is truly an experience of a lifetime. A drop of Zen in the colour and noise that is India. After a hair raising trip to the resort we were greeted by an immaculate houseboat staffed by three lovely crew. We had hesitated about taking our 3 and 6 year old children on water overnight but I'm very happy we went. Lake Vembanad is an amazing location and Punnamada Resort's houseboat was the perfect way to experience it. Our boat was certainly the nicest looking one of all the boats we saw while on the lake. The food prepared by our chef was amazing, he very happily and easily accommodated for our vegetarian family with fabulous Keralan food. Each meal we had was abundant and delicious.

Back at the resort we stayed in a double story garden view villa right by the pool. The highlight was the outdoor bathroom with its own private courtyard. It really had a fun spa feel.

One of the highlights of the stay was meeting and practicing with our yoga teacher, Pradeep Kumar. I specifically chose Punnamada Resort because I saw they offered daily yoga classes. I had not expected the quality of the yoga offered by the resort. Pradeep is obviously passionate about yoga and a committed practitioner of the art. My husband and I attended his classes daily during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. My husband, who doesn't often practice yoga, really found a connection with Pradeep's style of teaching. I felt both challenged and relaxed in my classes. I also learned some interesting mantras and pranayama techniques that I have continued to use. Some of this information is offered in a short manual available for sale at the Ayurvedic doctor's office for a few rupee, I highly recommend it. Our experience at Punnamada went from wonderful to extraordinary because of our yoga classes there. We really recommend all guests take advantage of the yoga classes.

The other highlight of our stay was the food at the restaurant. Each meal was extremely fresh and a visual as well as sensory feast. The restaurant had an abundance of vegetarian meals that we found it difficult to choose with so many options. There were local Keralan dishes as well as meals from other regions to sample. The restaurant happily accommodated for our children who were not used to eating spicy foods. We also loved trying all the different Indian breakfasts at the breakfast buffet.

We also had the pleasure of experiencing the Diwali celebrations during our stay. There was live music and the entire resort was lit up with thousands of candles.

A big thank you to all the staff at Punnamada who are always in our memories of our trip to India. We spent a significant part of our first visit to India with Punnamada and I am very happy I chose them.

Sandra, Damian & family

Room Tip: Stay in a villa by the pool. You get to just walk out of your room straight into the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review about Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay . Let me thank you for staying with us and for the time you spent to write a review. Your review will certainly motivate us in our journey to excel. We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this place very difficult to find since it's not particularly well signposted but when we arrived we found the Punnamada Resort to be an oasis of peace, calm and quiet well away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Our villa room was in a traditional decor with a four poster bed and a very nice outdoor bathroom. The restaurant was very good and the Indian cuisine excellent. However, out of the four nights we stayed at this hotel, on two of the nights we were the only guests (and therefore, well looked after) so it's difficult to give a balanced review on quality of service etc. If we have any negative comments they would be that the hotel needs a little tlc (cracked powerpoints in our room for example). Another comment is that the Punnamada has an ayurvedic centre so why aren't there bathrobes in the rooms? Overall, though, we did enjoy our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review regarding Punnmada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had enjoyed your stay . let me thank you for staying with us as well as for your lovely review. Your points are well noted and will be taken care of . thank you for the frankness. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Of course the location is great and the attentive staff make up for the rest.

The villas are designed in traditional style and bath room spacious.

We loved the food in their only restaurant facing the back waters.

The hotel's approach is very strange was difficult to locate and but once you reach it completely changes.

We had their house boat which was pretty good but be prepared to get stuck into a same place for the full night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review regarding Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had a lovely time here in our Resort. Let me thank you for staying with us as well as for your review. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In the midst of a long journey on the hectic roads of Southern India, a night on the quiet waterways out of Alleppy was a most welcome change. We were the only passengers on board, along with three wonderful crew. Our A/C room (with en suit) on board was very comfortable, the fresh flower arrangement on the bed beautiful, all three meals were delicious and the slow pace of the journey was perfect. It was a great reviver after 23 days on the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about us on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your backwater trip in our houseboat. let me thank you for staying with us . we look forward to welcome you back again to our resort and house boats during your next trip.

Regards,

Varghese.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We slept there for just 2 nights after a long trip from Mumbai, lasted 1 week. The travel agency booked for us so I don't know how much it cost, but the experience was priceless. The room was speechless, so the general atmosphere and the food as well. I think I've never been in such a place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding Punnamada Resort. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us . let me thank you for staying with us . We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnmada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This review was long overdue. Stayed in this lovely place in the end of August 2013 with my wife. I'm very glad that I cose this place to celebrate my wife's birthday. Considered to be one of the best, if not the best resort in Alleppey.Atleast my research before my trip tell me that this place outscores all other places around in terms of Value for money.
Travelled to Alleppey from Bangalore by train, reached early in the morning, called the resort requesting an early check-in, they happily obliged as it was an off-season. Reached the place by an auto. I had booked the garden villa for the first night and the houseboat for the next. The management graciously upgraded our room to lake-view villa!
The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the resort ambience really helps you relax. The ayurvedic massage here was out of the world, so were the houseboat and Shikara rides.
The food was amazing. I particularly liked the soft and delicious pan-cakes.
There are facilities for various indoor and outdoor activities. We chose to cycle around the town on the last day.

The staff were very courteous and made the stay very comfortable.
We are definitely coming back here!!
Special mention for the manager, Mr.Varghese who offered us a few hours of extended stay in the resort to freshen up as there were some generator and ac problems in the houseboat in the previous night. We are very grateful for that.
There is definitely scope for improvement in some areas. I'll mention one here - The swimming pool was closed for maintenance. Maintenance is a neccessity no doubt. It would have been good if the management had informed us about this at the time of booking or when the maintenance was planned (Swimming pool is a key feature in any resort)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay at Punnamada Resort. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful time during your holiday. Let me thank you for staying with us . We have noted your point and it will be taken care of in future. By the by our pool has been functioning for the last one month after up gradations. sorry for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.