We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there for relaxed stay by the back waters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Go there for relaxed stay by the back waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Of course the location is great and the attentive staff make up for the rest.

The villas are designed in traditional style and bath room spacious.

We loved the food in their only restaurant facing the back waters.

The hotel's approach is very strange was difficult to locate and but once you reach it completely changes.

We had their house boat which was pretty good but be prepared to get stuck into a same place for the full night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review regarding Punnamada Resort on Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you had a lovely time here in our Resort. Let me thank you for staying with us as well as for your review. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    128
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
122
199
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

In the midst of a long journey on the hectic roads of Southern India, a night on the quiet waterways out of Alleppy was a most welcome change. We were the only passengers on board, along with three wonderful crew. Our A/C room (with en suit) on board was very comfortable, the fresh flower arrangement on the bed beautiful, all three meals were delicious and the slow pace of the journey was perfect. It was a great reviver after 23 days on the road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VargheseKE, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about us on tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your backwater trip in our houseboat. let me thank you for staying with us . we look forward to welcome you back again to our resort and house boats during your next trip.

Regards,

Varghese.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We slept there for just 2 nights after a long trip from Mumbai, lasted 1 week. The travel agency booked for us so I don't know how much it cost, but the experience was priceless. The room was speechless, so the general atmosphere and the food as well. I think I've never been in such a place

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely review regarding Punnamada Resort. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us . let me thank you for staying with us . We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnmada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This review was long overdue. Stayed in this lovely place in the end of August 2013 with my wife. I'm very glad that I cose this place to celebrate my wife's birthday. Considered to be one of the best, if not the best resort in Alleppey.Atleast my research before my trip tell me that this place outscores all other places around in terms of Value for money.
Travelled to Alleppey from Bangalore by train, reached early in the morning, called the resort requesting an early check-in, they happily obliged as it was an off-season. Reached the place by an auto. I had booked the garden villa for the first night and the houseboat for the next. The management graciously upgraded our room to lake-view villa!
The rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the resort ambience really helps you relax. The ayurvedic massage here was out of the world, so were the houseboat and Shikara rides.
The food was amazing. I particularly liked the soft and delicious pan-cakes.
There are facilities for various indoor and outdoor activities. We chose to cycle around the town on the last day.

The staff were very courteous and made the stay very comfortable.
We are definitely coming back here!!
Special mention for the manager, Mr.Varghese who offered us a few hours of extended stay in the resort to freshen up as there were some generator and ac problems in the houseboat in the previous night. We are very grateful for that.
There is definitely scope for improvement in some areas. I'll mention one here - The swimming pool was closed for maintenance. Maintenance is a neccessity no doubt. It would have been good if the management had informed us about this at the time of booking or when the maintenance was planned (Swimming pool is a key feature in any resort)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review regarding your stay at Punnamada Resort. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful time during your holiday. Let me thank you for staying with us . We have noted your point and it will be taken care of in future. By the by our pool has been functioning for the last one month after up gradations. sorry for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Kumarakom in one of the finest resorts and came to Punnamada for 2 nights. The price was exactly half but the quality and experience is just the same if not better.
The food was very impressive. The taste and the service were top notch.
I never seen such a professional people who thrive to keep the guest happy. I initially planned for one night at houseboat and had to change for some reasons and the resort happily accommodated the change and also upgrades my stay to better cottage.
The view was amazing.
The front desk person was very friendly and took good care.
Room service: Have you guys ever got any prompt room service anywhere consistently? Check this resort. Whatever you ask they get that done quickly and does not need a reminder.
Resort Location: I thought this was the best location compared to any other resort in Alleppey. I came from Kumarakom on houseboat and crossed this resort and saw few other resorts but Punnamada is located at such a great place.
Massage was good.
Areas of Improvement: Should give package including all meals not sure why for 2 days package one meal is not covered ? Why cant we increase the price and include that as well?
I can go on and on talking about this resort.
If you want to have a good peaceful vacation in Alleppey try Punnamada.

Thanks guys again....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on trip advisor regarding our Punnamada Resort. We are happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us . Let me thank you for staying with us . WE look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

varghese.K.E.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsganj
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for two nights. Approach to the resort is a bit tough and have to ask many times but once you are there you forget everything. Reception was good, and when we were taken to the room I was amazed to see the exterior and interiors. Totally different style, kind of antique style but with all modern facility.
The resort gave us free boat ride in the back waters for the first evening which was a nice experience.
Food is good and with lots of options.
Just a little pricey though.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea would be a delight to stay but they are even more pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest , thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor. We are glad to note that you really enjoyed your holiday. Let me thank you for staying with us and your lovely review in trip advisor. We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnmada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.K.E.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days on their Romance in the Rain package (luckily for us it didn't rain !).
Mr Vargehese the manager sent me an e-mail a couple of days before our arrival to inform me that the pool was out of use due to refurbishment and offered to send a car to pick us up from our hotel in Fort Kochi as an apology for the inconvenience. He is a gentleman and his kind gesture was most appreciated .
We were welcomed by Mr Vargese and his staff and were treated like Royalty during our stay. A GIANT round of applause for the Chef, he has a huge menu, and as we were on a full board package we could choose anything we wanted. Every single dish I tried was divine. Again as part of our package we were entitled to a candlelit dinner. When the chef asked me where we would like to have our meal ,I replied 'surprise me'. He jolly well did ! They built a Raft, which they floated on the lake, and we dined beneath the stars.....Fantastic !
Again as part of our package we had a full body massage. This was excellent...very professional and the best massage I had during my 3 week visit to Kerala. The Spa is impeccable !
We also went on a Sunset cruise which was lovely. The staff were always on hand and gave us lots of tips about visits in the area. Thanks to them we were lucky to see a carnival that was organised in Allepey.
The Resort is gorgeous, and there is so much to do, the fact the pool was out of use was out of use wasn't a problem.
Our last day and night was spent on the Punnamada Houseboat...amazing experience.
The houseboat is huge, and really lovely. (We were so lucky to be on their boat as some of the other companies boats on the lake looked really old and dirty). We had 3 staff to take care of us. They are very professional and they keep away from the main drag, at times we felt we had the backwaters just for us. The food was excellent, and the lovely chef sent us a delicious cake for dessert. They moor the boat in a very secluded spot at night, and a very discrete, allowing a truly romantic experience..
All in all a wonderful experience, their lake view Villas are lovely, their staff are very kind and helpful, and their location is truly lovely.
Three rounds of applause for Perfect Punnamada !

Room Tip: The lake view Villas are Fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJoseph, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review about Punnamada Ressort. we are delighted to know that you enjoyed your holidays thoroughly. Let me thank you for your stay and your review. These encouraging words are the moral boosters for all of us in Punnamada Team !! We look forward to welcome you back again to Punnamada Resort.

Regards,

Varghese.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.