We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Save Saved
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
San Bruno, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at Punnamada Resort recently during our one-week vacation in Kerala. This resort is an oasis on the water, a peaceful setting away from the hectic main roads of Aleppey, with lots of greenery and birds.

The service is great. We needed an adapter for our laptop computers, and one of the staff was very helpful to loan me such an adapter during my stay. He also provided me with the wi-fi password.

We were quite pleased to see bicycles available for the guests to use. We rode twice through the adjacent neighborhoods and enjoyed seeing locals in their daily lives and friendly children waving at us. If biking isn't your thing, there's also a pool table and ping pong.

Also, we booked a trip for several hours on one of the resort's houseboats and we loved seeing the backwaters. The crew was very friendly during the ride and the lunch feast was delicious. For resort guests wanting to do a houseboat tour, I definitely recommend the convenience of boarding a Punnamada houseboat instead of going into town and dealing with the more chaotic atmosphere of the jetty. I also recommend the free sunset cruise from 5pm - 6pm which departs from the resort.

Our only real complaints are that the wi-fi was unreliable from my cabin - I was in one of the cabins facing the swimming pool - and the breakfast buffet could use some improvement in the variety of foods offered. We found that the food we ordered from the a la carte menu at dinnertime was quite good, though.

Next time we return to Alleppey we will stay at Punnamada Resort for at least two or three days.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Richard,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

My team and I are very pleased to read your pleasant comments of the property and I have shared your feedback with the team for whom it is a source of motivation.

Also noted the feedback on wi-fi and the choice of menu, based on your feedback we will be re working on it.

Once again thank you for the comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    106
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
107
173
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This resort is beautiful, carefully set out and well planted and tended. The pool is great and the view of the lake from the lakeside rooms, with the boats going by is relaxing and picturesque. Service is very attentive and efficient. After a relaxing first day we went to dinner and were told there would be no a la carte as a wedding reception was happening in the grounds that evening, so we could only eat from a buffet. This set alarm bells ringing and after a quiet start the wedding reception got louder and louder with a DJ playing club-volume music all night making it impossible to sleep, even with earplugs. This continued despite several complaints by us to reception. Then at 4am wedding guests started shouting and jumping in the pool right by our room. At breakfast the next morning we received sincere apologies from those in charge who admitted it had run out of their control, and the offer of a complimentary massage to compensate. We appreciated this, but felt the hotel should never have booked a large wedding reception in a resort which also had guests who were paying significant amounts of money for peace and tranquility. The resort would have a rating of 5 points from me if it hadn't been for this incident and I hope the management has learnt a lesson from this. Once this was behind us however we had a great stay, and loved everything about the resort. The food was good, the rooms clean and nicely decorated without being too fussy. The semi-outside bathroom was a nice touch, and the attention to detail was impressive. The free evening hour-long boat ride on the lake (ask about this at reception) was calming and a great way to follow the incredible massage we had earlier. Altogether this would have been a perfect stay if not for the disturbed night's sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Paul,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable so detailed comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our facilities, architecture, staff, location, and the service provided by the team.

On behalf of the team I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations due to the wedding party happening at the place, as discussed on the day - your comments have taken up with serious note and corrective actions been taken on the same.

Thanks again for your feedback; it is valuable to us in ensuring the finer details and I do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our stay was lovely, the staff very cooperative, willing to help at every turn. The views of the lake are beautiful and lounging around the pool was a delight. There is a games room which closes at 7pm (i did wish it would remain open for longer!). Games here include pool, snooker, carum! There is also a trampoline and bikes to ride! You can go on the sunset boat which is inclusive, beautiful sunset.
The food was lovely, good prices f paying. Buffet was very enjoyable for me. Breakfast lovely. Rooms cleaned well! Loved the outdoor bathroom theme! Not a bad word to stay to the staff!

At first when we arrived there was some confusion over room booking with 2 rooms booked instead of 3 but this was soon sorted out and the 3rd room was in addition an upgrade! Need to be aware of the mosquitoes in this area although a low risk zone for malaria, still not nice to be bitten so prepare!

Nice stay need at least a week to really chill out and relax! Only went to the town and back and local temples minimum 4km away. Some amazing memories.

Thank you from Rowena and the Rees family!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable so detailed comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our activities, facilities, staff, and the food provided by the team. We are glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time here. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My family and I stayed for one night on Punnamada Resorts premium houseboat and it was amazing! The houseboat itself is very clean, comfortable and well maintained with beautiful furnishings and interiors. The warm and customer centric staff included two experienced captains who took turns to navigate, point out the sights and share interesting information about the little villages we lazily sailed by on the gorgeous backwaters of Alleppey, as well as Jettson the chef who prepared for us some of the best Malayali dishes we had eaten during our entire stay in Kerala! Would definitely recommend this to my friends and will go back for another visit. Special thanks to Aby, Vidya and Sophia from the resort for ensuring all arrangements were in perfect order. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!

Thank you so much for appreciative comments on your recent stay at the Houseboat by the Punnamada Resort.

I am elated to know that you have a good memorable experience with us. Your comments on the team has been noted and conveyed, it shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location and offer a quiet and serene atmosphere. The space planning is good with plenty of greenery and well ventilated and maintained rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. You can enjoy a nice view of back waters and enjoy a day cruise in the house boat arranged by the hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room with good view of the back waters
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Padma,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for valuable comments on your stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am pleased to learn that you like the resort and enjoyed staying with us on your recent holiday.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our first time together in Kerala, and we wanted a place where you can experience the backwaters and which is romantic in its setting. We couldn't have gotten a better place than Punnamada that fit the bill and added several other points to it. It was a impromptu trip and I had no idea which place to stay till the last day, when one of my freinds helped me book a pool view villa in this resort...I was not sure wht to expect as I didnt have time to check the property.. What a pleasant surprise it has been.Punnamada is a 'spectacular' resort for a great value set on lake Punnamada, Aleppy, the entrance is set amidst the small trailing village road with bamboo and coconut trees and opens up Right on the backwaters lake..infact the lake seems an extension to the resort..which is a breathtaking view in itself. This part of the resort  is completely green with manicured lawn and big old trees and garden, it houses the restaurant on one side and a refreshingly uninhibited view of the lake on the other..a vast expanse of water dotted with many houseboats and small canoes..looks right out of the fairy tale movie. The swimming pool is at the centre of the villas and there is an ayurvedic centre with specialised Dr and message therapist. To add on, the quality of food is really good, esp the Kerala fish delicacies and the coconut soufle. The restaurant people are very well trained and pleasant..makes you fell home, so are the people at the reception who immediately escorts you to our own Villa on arrival. We found the rooms amazingly cozy, in very heritage kerala style, always aromatic of herbs and impeccably clean, with all amenities. There is a yoga session with Pradeep in the morning and a complimentary boat ride in the evening.I thank Mr Jomon, the GM of the resort for personally taking care of us and giving us such a lovely romantic gateaway. It has been a wonderful experience from start to end and we are definitely coming back.  

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are the best. But if you are looking for something economic, go for the garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Dev,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable so detailed comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our facilities, architecture, view, staff, location, ayurveda spa, yoga and the food provided by the team. We are glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time here. Your feedback on the staffs has been noted and conveyed, it shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Is there a place lovelier! The resort is amazing and we had a lake view bunglow. Absolutely romantic experience to sit on the porch with your fiance. The room had a four poster bed, open air bathroom and was very neat and clean. The food was great and we tried all the Kerala dishes.

We did the Kerala massage but we aren't fans of it.

The only negative is its location since you have to travel for 10 minutes through a one lane bumpy road. But we never got out since it was so nice there.

Recommend it if you wanna visit Alapuzha.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ms. Sandhya,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests. We are happy to read that the atmosphere, view, food and the team here was able to create some memorable moments for you.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.