We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lakeside resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Save Saved
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 hotels in Alappuzha
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful lakeside resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A beautiful place to take in the amazing Backwater scenery, do yoga, have a massage and go boating. The service and architecture of the hotel were also splendid, and the rooms held a very high standard. The price was high, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the location, architecture, ayurveda spa and yoga. We are glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time here. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    113
    28
    5
    5
See reviews for
109
176
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Its fantastic Resort. Excellent Service, Everyone was so Kind and flexible. Its very good place for couples, family, friends and Solo. The flower Decoration of the bed was wonderfull. Very good food in the resturant. we felt that we are in different world.

Room Tip: I stayed in Lake view Villa and it is just next to the Lake. We can see the Morning Sun rise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Mr. Parthipan

Namaste!!!

Thank you for taking the time and share your valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

We are delighted to read that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and particularly value our hotel. Your comments on the service provided by our staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you here again.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesna, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend ended up booking the Punnamada Resort for our two last nights in India. Although it was way out of our budget, we loved the place and found it worth every Rupee we paid. Never have I been taken such good care of by the staff! They were all so smiling and helpful, made us feel right at home.

Our garden villa with its outside bathroom was lovely, well equipped, clean and with a super comfortable bed! We ended up spending most of our last days at the resort cos it had so much to offer. Complimentary sunset cruise every night, free use of paddleboat and bikes, yoga classes in the morning, and the clean and refreshing swimming pool! Awesome breakfast and delicious food from the restaurant. Really delicious!

And just to point out how the good the service was: while there i was a bit sick and in need of antibiotics so i went to the reception and asked for a doctor. The ayurvedic doctor on site helped me find out what kind of medicin i needed and ordered it for me. An hour later it was delivered to my door!

The resort was everything we could ask for and more, absolutely worth the money! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Namaste!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our staff and I thank you for your kind and motivating comments.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I didn't stay overnight at the resort; however, we spent one night in one of the Punnamada Resort's houseboats and it was the experience of a lifetime! The boat was beautiful and the service was great -- there was a dirty sheet on the cushion out in front of the boat where people can lay down and I asked the staff if they could replace it with a clean sheet and they did so promptly. The food on the boat was excellent and the service was great! The staff would often point out noteworthy things to us along the journey. Be sure to pull down the drapes in the common area as early as possible in evening to keep mosquitoes out. Also, be sure to keep the fan off during your evening meal; otherwise, mosquitoes caught in the fan will fall into the meal. We really wanted to do a smaller canoe ride through some of the smaller canals and Punnamada was kind enough to organize a one hour small canoe ride for us and another couple. It would have been nice to be on a private canoe, but regardless, the canoe ride was breathtaking, as was the whole experience. We know houseboats aren't the most environmentally friendly thing and are causing real problems in the region, so we are glad we only used it one day and resolved to try and be eco-friendly in other ways. It was one of the most relaxing and scenic experiences we have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada.

Your compliments on the Houseboat services have been shared with the entire team and I am certain that feedback such as yours would definitely motivate the team.

I also noted your feedback on the sitting area in front and the canal cruise. Am taking this opportunity to share that Punnamada houseboats follows eco friendly practices and do our level best to initiate such activities in this region.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband, son and I took a trip on one of the Punnamada Houseboats and it was a lovely experience. The chef, Jitson, was very creative and no dishes were repeated. the food was tasty and well-prepared. The captains, Suresh and Anoop, were good company. Suresh was explaining the sights and pointed out many interesting spots and buildings. A truly enjoyable experience, thanks to the professional and courteous Punnamada staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Ms. Kalpana,

Namaste!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada.

My team and I are very delighted to read your pleasant comments about your recent stay in our houseboat. It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our staff and I thank you for your kind and motivating comments.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It was a truly rewarding experience at the Punnamada Resort in Alapuzha. Right from the traditional welcome on arrival to taking care of our transfer to the houseboat and back was as smooth as it could be - Thanks to the courtesy of staff at Punnamada. We were allotted 3 rooms (as we were 3 families) just opposite the pool and the quality of rooms were impeccable. The rooms are designed in traditional Kerala style to give you a feel of their tradition. One thing I found exquisite about this place is that it had like a open air bathroom - The bathrooms had a partial roof just enough to provide cover over the head for shower and closet and had a nicely textured garden in the open area. Effectively, it feels like having bath in an open garden.

The second day was to be spent in the houseboat and they hired one from Palma Verde Tours. It is a 3-bedroom house boat and was a really good experience. The boat and the rooms are well maintained and the food surprisingly was excellent! The manager Tomy was courteous to prepare something that would suit us all. However, there are a couple of things to be aware of - (a) They park the boats near the bank at night and mosquito menace has to be tolerated although they help you with coils (b) The airconditioners will function only during night as the on-board generator is not powerful enough. During night they hook the boat's power to a power-supply on the bank to run the airconditioners.

When we returned to the resort the next day, we couldn't get back the same rooms but they upgraded me to a superior room with two levels for the same cost. I didn't get a chance to experience their spa but a few in our group who used their service said it was quite good. With respect to food, it was reasonably good and in fact we like the food in the houseboat more than the resort. Of course, the native Kerala dishes were really good and I think it's unfair to expect the same taste with other cuisines. Apart from this, you also get a complementary boat ride in the backwaters and for a bit of adrenaline rush, you can try the speed boats. For those who just want to relax, you can settle down with a book in one of the benches on the shady lawn overlooking the backwater.

As far as activities go, they have a variety of indoor games including Table Tennis and also a fairly vast outdoor play area which includes a volley ball court.

Overall, it was a very good experience at the resort right from the point of checking-in till we were dropped back at the Alapuzha Railway station. The tariff is generally on the higher side but watch out for special deals. I will strongly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a nice backwater place in Kerala.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backwater are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Ramanujam,

Namaste!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada.

I am delighted to read the long, detailed comments and happy to learn that you and your group have had a good time here. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our staff and I thank you for your kind and motivating comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights. It was an amazing experience. The resort is on the banks of Punnamada lake. Our duplex villa room were nice, build in the exquisite Kerala style with copper vessels and all. The resort has great ambiance, with a picture perfect Shree Krishna statue in the lobby, the architecture of the rooms. Food was amazing too, though I missed out on duck. I wonder why no restaurants I came across aren't serving it.
We also had booked a house boat from this resort itself. And boy was I thrilled. The house boat experience was amazing. Enjoyed to the hilt. There was a canoe ride too which too us inland into the paddy field country. Enchanting and amazing. Revelation of why Kerala is called land of coconuts and God's own country.
The staff was very courteous and helpful. Overall a very fulfilling and amazing experience.

Room Tip: The Lake villa rooms are bang in front of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Prabhoth,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our location, the structure, architecture, houseboat and the food provided by the team. We are glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation and you had a good time here. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Also noted the comments on the duck preparations, once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.