We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of Serenity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punnamada Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Punnamada Resort to your Saves list
Punnamada Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Alappuzha
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Epitome of Serenity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Punnamuda an epitome of serenity and relaxation. We had been to Punnamuda for our wedding aniversarry. We opted for lake-view villa, the view from the villa was awesome. It was monsoon that made the view more picturesque. Staff were courteous and very helpful.

One thing that could have been better. More authentic Kerala delicacies on the menu.

If you looking for a resort in Alleppey. I would highly recommend Punnamuda.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Shivanand,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our room and the staff, your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests. I have noted your suggestion on the authentic kerala cuisine and will adding more dishes on the daily menu.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    128
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
122
199
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This resort was one of my most awaited stay during my 1 week tour in Kerala. I choose this resort based on other reviews from trip advisor and I definitely didn't go wrong. The location and the ambience of this resort give you the feeling of a perfect peaceful getaway. The lake view rooms were simply superb. The only setback was that I checked in almost 2 hours after the standard check in time and I was asked to wait for my room since the previous guests had yet to check-out. I wouldn't mind waiting but the staff who was at the reception did not tackle this well and instead made things a bit more difficult for my wife and myself. The only thing that needs to improve here will be the service of the staffs. However, I did not let this incident ruin my much awaited stay here. I felt that the staffs at the restaurant were more courteous than those at the reception especially the captain. The food is simply mouth-watering. The rooms are kept quite well and clean expect for a bit of water dripping from the air conditioner. Quite a number of activities available here such as kayaking, boat peddling, ping pong, cycling, boating, speed boat cruise and many more. It was indeed a fantastic stay and I am definitely looking forward for my next stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our facilities, staff and the food provided by the team your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests. I have also made note of your suggestions on the various fronts.

Once again thank you for the comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend chose this hotel for a relaxing break, because it looked luxurious located right on the backwaters and it has a pool. We spent the final 2 nights here of our 10 days in Kerala during my half term holiday. The hotel was as described. Our poolside bedroom was beautiful and we enjoyed the outside bathroom area as well as the attention to detail e.g. the duvet decorated with different leaves and petals each morning, the daily 'Hindu' newspaper. We took advantage of the complementary services e.g. boat trips on the Backwaters, yoga & meditation class, pool and table tennis. We had a mixture of weather: heavy rains from Cyclone Nilam on the east coast (complementary guided walk to village canceled) then hot sun, and saw a range of wildlife: eagles, kingfishers, bats with 3 foot wing span and a mongoose. The location and grounds are lovely. The dining room with its high ceilings and glass fronted walls is a former cement works and waiter service is impeccable. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The duty manager, Sanu, is particularly amenable and was happy to spend time talking to us. We appreciated the hotel hospitality which offered us the use of its facilities on the day we checked out, as our flight did not leave till 4.30am the following day. The resort is a 15 min tuc tuc drive from the golden sand beach at Alleppey with its rolling waves, pier and lighthouse.

Room Tip: We were pleased with room 201 overlooking the pool. Some rooms look out onto a garden and the backwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Ms. Sara,

Thank you for taking the time and the most valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

Your explanation is very much in detail and it covers even the regular visitors of our property from the nature. The resort grounds are home to a profusion of birds, tree species, including many ayurvedic and medicinal plants. The dining room was an old lime shell kiln and it’s converted in to a charming multi cuisine restaurant overlooks the lake.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our staff and I thank you for your kind and motivating comments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We rolled up at the Punnamada and were greeted with a beautifully laid out hotel seemingly in the middle of nowhere. It is in Alapuzzha India. The chalet we had was right on the lake with a beautiful four poster bed and roofed 'outside' bathroom. It is beautifully decorated. There was a lovely sitting out area outside the french windows where you can watch the Rice boats glide by. The complex has a swimming pool and a restaurant where we dinedon pleasant food.
This complex is small and intimate and rates as one of our favourite places to stay at (and we've been to a few!) It is so romantic!
We booked a trip on our own Rice Boat which cruises the Keralan backwaters and was absolutely terrific (we had our own cook, waiter and captain. The boat came right up to our Punnamada Chalet and as we stepped on to it we were presesnted with garlands of flowers.

Room Tip: Go for a chalet on the lake. See if you can negotiate for a bottle of wine for the boat trip!!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. We are happy to read that our houseboat team was able to create some memorable moments for you.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was a good thing that we arrived at the resort via 'shikara' from Alleppy. The approach to the property is thru a village which does not give a good first impression. However, the place itself is lovely! Rooms are spacious and clean. We loved the outdoor bathroom! The food was of good quality but the best part were the staff who were always around to help and accommodate our needs. The yoga instructor in particular was very good and explained what and why we do certain routines.Just wish we had more time to spend at this property

Room Tip: We had a poolside room which was spacious enough for an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Mr. Sunil,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your valuable comments on your visit to Punnamada Resort.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our room, open to the sky bathrooms, staff, and the food provided by the team and glad to learn that we are measuring up your level of expectation. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service to all our guests.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in the punnamada resort houseboat for one day.. the property is absolutely stunning and beautifully done up... havent seen anything like that ever... the road leading to the resort is a little scary but the resort on the whole is very peaceful... the houseboat was very well equipped and served us good food... just wish that instead of bringing guests from the weird road that leads to the hotel .. it would be more fun if they would have guests take the speed boat..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Mr. Prasad,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your valuable comments on your visit to The Punnamada Houseboat.

We are grateful for your appreciation of our resort, houseboat and the food provided by the team and glad that we are measuring up your level of expectation. Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and offers a world of heritage and luxury club together. We also noted your suggestion on the approach road to the resort.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back here.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Both my husband and I were here for a night early October....The resort is styled with a mix of kerala architecture as well as villa type architecture.We stayed in a lake view room and could just look across the vembanad lake while having afternoon tea.The room had traditional yet new furniture and was in very good condition.The washrooms were the best with pebbled floors and had partial open roofs and were very spacious.Even then Amenity kit provided was of good quality.I usually never use hotel amenity kits and carry my own but the ones at Punnamada resort were different, they supplied beautiful handmade soaps.The rooms open to a private outdoor area and you can always see the beautiful coconut trees along the shore and houseboats and fishing boats go passing by.
We wanted to have Buffet dinner and would have liked to have out door dining but because of such close proximity to the lake there are mosquitoes in all outdoor areas.However, they never come into the rooms becaue of the AC.At last we moved in to the restaurant and were hoping to have a quite dinner as the place looked lovely at night time.However there was a whole group of people who came in at once with lots of small children and the whole place became very noisy and as the children were playing near the buffet area,taking huge amounts of dessert and then throwing them away, it was difficult to even serve.At this point i appreciate the way the restaurant staff realised the disturbance and dealt in an appropriate manner.The food itself was good with a good variety.However traditional kerala food such as Puttu and Aappam were missing.The breakfast next day was also good but the western dishes were not up to standard (the bakery items were too hard).However , this is a problem with all the resorts we stayed in Kerala.
We got our houseboat to pick us up from the hotel itself , and the reception staff were so helpful trying to co ordinate with our houseboat captain and the whole checkout process was very smooth.
On the whole I totally loved the stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Lake view villas are more expensive but they are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JomonJosephGM, General Manager at Punnamada Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Ms. Sudha,

Namaste!!!!

Thank you for taking the time and the valuable comments on your recent stay at The Punnamada Resort.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. We are happy to read that the culinary team was able to create some memorable moments for you.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our staff and I thank you for your kind and motivating comments.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and looking forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Jomon Joseph.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punnamada Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnamada Resort

Address: Alleppey 6 | Punnamada Resort Private Limited, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Punnamada Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punnamada Resorts is nestled on the serene banks of Vembanad Lake and gives a world of heritage and luxury. The divine ambiance and the hospitality lead to a total relaxation of mind, body and soul and it highlighted the rich heritage and the essence of Kerala in its true form with a focus on the eco system and being an environment friendly resort by taking initiative in various fronts. The green leaf certified Ayurveda centre at Punnamada puts a new life into yourself and to regain vigor and vitality and lead a stress-free life. The essence of Kerala and its magical backwaters can be experienced aboard Punnamada’s exclusive 'Kettuvallam' (houseboats) by the resort, the houseboats of Punnamada equipped with the best of luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Punnamada Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnamada Hotel Alappuzha
Punnamada Backwaters Hotel
Punnamada Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punnamada Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.