We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Save Saved
You added Our Land Island Backwater Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Karimbavalavu | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay @ INR 5396 per night
Ranked #5 of 130 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had a great time there . First time my daughter seeing a Village life in India. Prefect place for relaxation and enjoying local cusine and culture. We liked the bird watching and trekking. Water rafting on the small boat was very exciting. We could able to spot some water snakes , I understood that they are not poisionous. You will really enjoy wheather visting alone or with family. Very safe and secure surrounding. Above all all the local food was awesome - cook told me they use the vegetable and fish availbe in the resort area. Wow.. We enjoyed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Our Land is situated on a small island in the backwaters of Kerala.
We were wellcomed by Benni, who canoed us to the island. He took very well care of us during our stay. We were the only guests and stayed in a small bungalow at the seashore. The meals were served at the veranda. We were canoed in the backwaters at sunrise and sunset and saw a lot of birds. Benni had a great knowledge of birds. We were taken on a long early morning walk along the narrow paths between the backwaters and the ricefields and houses. The silence was a great contrast to the noise in the cities. The big houseboats were passing in front of the island.
The room and bathroom was clean and well maintained.
If you like the countryside, birds silence and peace, then Our Land is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our Land is one of the most beautiful experiences I've had while travelling through our amazing country. We were there with some friends and the entire place seemed like it belonged to us.

The staff literally bends over backwards to ensure that you have a good stay. :-)
They even go out to different parts of Kerala with you to ensure that even your excursions are smooth and hurdle free.

In short, beautiful place, owned and run by even more beautiful people. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Forget the houseboats, they are overrated. Go for a couple nighst at Ourland resort located on an small Island in the Backwaters area. It is a nice retreat, away from the hectic Indian life.

Rooms and food were simple but surprisingly good.

There is not much to do, which was a blessing for us. The manager took us for two guided tours, one on foot and one by canoe. Other than that you can take a canoe tour or feed the fishes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Ourland - now I understand why they call it "God´s own country".
Magnificent place. Great hospitality and the food is worth traveling for.
The staff is so kind, helpful and enthusiastic and will take you to cano-, hiking-, fishing-, bicycling tours. Actually the will do whatever to make your stay perfect.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

As part of our 17 day most enjoyable visit to Tamil Nadu and Kerala in S. India my friend andI stayed for 3days on a small tropical island situated in the picturesque backwaters of S. Kerala. We could have saied from the island on a houseboat but instead we opted to use a small canoe or hired an old fashioned boat.By doing this we were able to sail along the small narrow canals and we could stop wherever we wanted. This gave us a feeling of great independence and we could really enjoy the intimate friendly atmosphere of the local people and communities. Ourland resort is a place for total relaxation where the staff pamper you with good food and friendly but discreet care.The island itself has been kept with its original natural vegetation but the accomodation is very well appointed cottages and one small tree house.The houses have all been built by the local people and some of them have been built with material from old Keralean buildings.
Yes indeed this was a most enjoyable and memorable few days.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Our Land Island Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Land Island Backwater Resort

Address: Karimbavalavu | Punnapra, Alappuzha 688004, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every once in a while, when the hectic pace of city life overwhelms you and the chaos of the urban crush threatens to consume you, it’s always wise to retreat into some much-needed solitude. Tucked away in the backwaters of Kerala is Our Land, a panacea for the soul. An island getaway from the rigmarole of daily life, Our Land sits in an island of tranquility to the south of Alappuzha, surrounded by green paddy fields fringed with coconut palm, bamboos and banana trees that stretch as far as the eye can see. In the lap of nature, Our Land has stayed true to its roots and blends in perfectly with the rustic landscape that surrounds it for miles. The resort’s modern amenities unobtrusively attend to the comforts of guests and do not compromise on the hotel’s natural ambiance and pursuit to ensure that its carbon footprint on the environment is minimized. Our Land invites guests and divulges secrets – this hideaway island was a one-time den of a fierce bandit immortalized by the locals as a Robin Hood! During your stay here you can unravel the secrets of this one-time bandit hideaway and ensconce yourself in its warm and welcoming world.Hearty welcome to Our Land... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Our Land Island Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Land Island Backwater Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Our Land Island Backwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.