We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akkarakalam Memoirs

Save Saved
You added Akkarakalam Memoirs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Akkarakalam Memoirs
Chennamkary PO | Kainakary, Alappuzha 688501, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

On a trip comprising of atleast 4 hotels at different locations in Kerala, Akkarakalam Memoirs turned out to be the best. The way the homestay has been constructed keeping the essence of old Kerala homes is beautiful. Our rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We fell in love with the open to sky showers and the beautiful gardens. The best part of this stay was the sunset cruise that they had offered us.The staff is extremely courteous and they went out of their way to make sure I was provided all assistance for my 5 month old baby. The manager made sure we were comfortable and politely helped us with our food preferences as well. We are glad to have chosen this as part of our trip and would highly recommend it to everyone as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mersea Island, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was part of our tour of Kerala, having already experienced several excellent hotels and the marvellous houseboat, we wondered if we could beat that - well we did! The hotel is located right on the edge of a peaceful backwater, with lush greenery and paddy fields all around. My favourite pastime was to sit on the edge of the water in my chair just watching life go by - on the opposite palm fringed bank we could see village life, and small canoes and houseboats chugged by. The temple nearby provided a peaceful backdrop with faint chanting to make me feel completely relaxed. The hotel was a traditional building, which is what we required, we specified no plastic hotels! The food was amazing, tasty local dishes were arrayed before our eyes at lunch and dinner, all freshly prepared. The manager arranged a boat trip for us on our first evening, so perched atop we set off chugging along the water, in the calm of the evening - lovely! I truly relaxed at this hotel, and wished we had another night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was disappointed by this hotel. We stayed in the garden rooms which were pretty damp but clean. The dining room lacked atmosphere and food was ok but in the land of lovely fruit there was none for breakfast. The manager was helpful but it just had no heart. The surrounds were lovely but unfortunately there was a festival in the next door temple which begun at 5 am for a couple of days while we stayed there! We went on their sunset cruise which was laid on as part of our stay, that was fun, but on that cruise I saw places I would have rather stayed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place with beautiful views,excellent rooms and the food to die for. We have never tasted such a beautifully balanced combination of flavours.
Tranquil and relaxed with some amazing views from boat trips along the river

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I had stayed here previously and decided to return. I was not disappointed. The manager is a charming , helpful man who ensured my companion and I were made comfortable. We were in one of the garden rooms, which was very clean and tastefully decorated. There was an eye for detail here- clean white bed linen and towels , fresh flowers etc. the food was excellent, though again much more than we could eat. The staff were so polite and ready to help. The manager helped me with my train bookings and arranged a car for us. We borrowed a couple of bicycles and had a great time exploring the back roads. The manager agreed that maps of cycle routes would be a good idea. The sunset cruise was swapped for a canoe ride down a backwater which was very tranquil. I recommend this place - not cheap but worth the money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The place was recommended on our travel guide, it had good reviews and the website was promising. What we then found was a complete disappointment and was miles below of what we had expected. The location is nice and peaceful close to the river, but the view to the river was completely blocked by the houseboats which had docked there.
The whole place is not well maintained and far away from beautiful and comfortable. Our room was of average size with no ambiance and spartan furnished. The gardens are not well looked after. There was no place where one could sit outside in the garden and the sitting accommodation behind the house with the houseboat blocked view was not really appealing. The furniture in the dining room is completely worn out and sticky. The service was poor and the food was not good. The 4000 INR including breakfast for 2 people where offered as a special rate. I call it a rip-off.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We were only here two nights, but it was a restful and comfortable place to stay. Rooms are large with wonderful old furniture. Staff was helpful, and informative. Breakfast and dinner were delicious. Only the bedrooms themselves are airconditioned and mosquito-free. A quiet and peaceful place to relax and overcome jetlag! The homestay staff can arrange houseboat outings on the backwaters for a day, or for overnights as well -- or you can sit on the porch and watch the backwaters go by as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akkarakalam Memoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkarakalam Memoirs

Address: Chennamkary PO | Kainakary, Alappuzha 688501, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Specialty lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akkarakalam Memoirs an exotic farmhouse presented as an excellent souvenir of the ancient Akkarakkalam family in Alleppey district with a tradition of 150 years.Akkarakkalm Memoirs is a sprawling 10 acre land with natural flora and fauna, beautifully converted into an ideal tourist destination for the nature lover as well as for the common glob-trotter. Here you can experience the backwater life at close quarters and inhale the natural scent of pristine countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Akkarakalam Memoirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkarakalam Memoirs Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akkarakalam Memoirs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.