We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fossil beds, Idaho” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hagerman Fossil Beds National Monument

Hagerman Fossil Beds National Monument
221 North State St, Hagerman, ID 83332
208-837-4857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 attractions in Hagerman
Type: Canyons
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This 4,000-acre park is known for its variety of fossils, particularly the horse, Idaho's state fossil.
Sherwood, Oregon, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fossil beds, Idaho”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Scenic winding road to Hagerman Fossil Beds sign. Not much to see @ monument. The Snake River Overlook is nice. The Visitor's Center/museum is not very big or noteworthy. The fossils displayed are o.k. The new museum room is focused on the internment camp in the area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very long drive for nothing. The area was beautiful and it was quite a surprise to find the beautiful valley in the bottom of the canyon. But as a few others have said, it has little to do with fossils and being able to actually see the fossils, as it is about the Oregon Trail. We did the driving tour and stopped at every view point, we even drove as far up road as Simplot's old potato barns. The Oregon Trail is very interesting, but you will learn very little about it here. This was what my husband used to tell our boys was a 'purple' ... a waste of time and money (for fuel).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“not what we expected, but still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The other reviews all have some valid points. The visitor center is worth the stop. We did the driving tour, stopping at each point and doing a bit of hiking. It turned out to be more about the Oregon Trail than the fossil beds, once you start the driving part. Those Oregon Trail folks - they had an incredible life out there for months. Unbelievable stories.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Borrrringggg and barney fife cops”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Do not waste your time. I enjoy the national parks and outdoors but this whole area is like a fossil - dead. Also beware of the barney fife like sheriff/cops. We were doing the speed limit but yet we were still followed by this dumpling gang of an outfit for a few miles until we got on the interstate. Save your gas and time and visit something else.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sounds Amazing, But Don't Dust Off Your Shovels...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Seems like it will be a great day trip, but all that there is to do is stop at the visitor's center and take a 30-minute (or so) drive to see some interpretive signs and an impressive overlook of the Snake River and the fossil beds themselves.

If you also plan on visiting any of the local hot springs or doing some hiking or biking, you'll have a good day trip.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagerman Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Hagerman Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hagerman Fossil Beds National Monument, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hagerman Fossil Beds National Monument to your Saves list