We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb. Friendly, relaxing, welcoming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bout du Monde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Bout du Monde to your Saves list
Le Bout du Monde
Preah Thom, Kep 10000, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb. Friendly, relaxing, welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a week here in a Khmer Suite for a week, and could happily have stayed much longer. The room was great with a fabulous view of the ocean. Nice balcony, and plenly of space. The staff was friendly and welcoming, and were happy to help with everything.
A highlight was the restaurant, which also has a spectacular view of the ocean and the sunset. The food was superb, and all of the herbs were picked fresh from the hotel gardens.
The manager (who is also the chef) was happy to spend time chatting, offering advice about local activities and talking about the cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    76
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
167
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at Le Bout du Monde for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. We were coming from Phnom Penh and this was the perfect place to get away from the city and relax somewhere that's quiet and has great views of the sea and the hills. We stayed in one of the larger bungalows (the Sorya, I think), which was beautifully decorated, very clean (and cleaned every day), and had a large balcony that overlooked the sea. The layout of the place makes you feel like you're in the jungle or a nature preserve. We ate dinner and breakfast at their restaurant - the food was very good, higher prices than you'd find in Phnom Penh but that was expected and we thought the prices were reasonable for what we got. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well when we wanted to arrange a trip to Rabbit Island and transportation back to Phnom Penh. They took care of everything. All in all, it was a lovely atmosphere and just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I'm reluctant to review this place because I want to keep it a secret. We just spent over a week in Kep and this place was our preserve. The view towards the islands and Bokor Mountain is something from over the lip of a hammock or top of a book. It's high enough to catch the breeze and close enough to everything in Kep to easily walk. The staff here were lovely and the food was top knotch. Our thatched Khmer-style room was very accommodating with a fridge and balcony facing the islands. Stay away from this place. It's mine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phnom penh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kep. Le Bout du Monde is the perfect retreat, unique, authentic, peaceful - no concrete, no plastic, no telly, no aircon - hoorah!!! Set in a hillside garden, backing onto the forest track, great views, sea breeze, flowers, butterflies, birds, fish ponds, arbours, home grown food, home cooking to order, great nreakfast, a warm welcome from friendly local staff who are only to pleased to help, restaurant with a sunset view, wonderful accomodation - traditional architecture, natural materials, tastefully furnished, plenty of indoor and outdoor space. I visit several times a year, have never had a problem with mosquitos, heat, service or food. Some of the comments on here are simply beyond comprehension.....

Room Tip: Don't let the fact that the place is on a slope put you off staying here. If you're not so g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your true opinion and hope to welcome you as soon as possible at Le Bout du Monde.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittwe, Myanmar
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

stayed 3 nights at Le bout du monde last month. it was very relaxing and we're lucky to have good weather throughout.
the bungalows on the upper part have great views of the sea and sunset. try the fish gratin at the restaurant.

Room Tip: pick bungalows at the upper part. the rooms have fans and mosquito nets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Le Bout du Monde -- a truly unique place and a highlight of a two-month trip throughout SE Asia. The bungalows are sizeable (especially given the price), nicely decorated, and have wonderful views out onto the ocean. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff was incredibly helpful. It takes a little work to get there -- it's a hike up the hillside (we had to get out while our tuk-tuk driver transported our bags with some difficulty) -- but it's totally worth it. We'd definitely go back and would have stayed for two weeks, not two days, if we hadn't already booked a flight to Bali.

(One thing I'd note though: you're definitely in nature so expect some critters. The bungalow came equipped with a mosquito net and other tools to keep them at bay.)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed there with hubby and 2 kids and the staff very kindly provided extra bedding for the kids, who thought it was like staying in a tree house (with great views!), with hammocks, nice furniture and sort of outdoor shower room. It therefore means that you are a little close to nature and although you have a mozzie net you can't help some of the "wildlife" swinging by .
The staff is very friendly and the food lovely, the owners are passionate about growing and cooking with own herbs.etc...
I also know they're trying to set up a kids' library nearby so if you have any unwanted books, drop them off there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bout du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bout du Monde

Address: Preah Thom, Kep 10000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#3 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant at the top of the hill near Kep National park.Traditional Khmer wooden houses with modern confort.Botanical gardensKhmer and french inspired cuisine with view over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Bout du Monde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bout Du Monde Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bout du Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.