We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kep Lodge to your Saves list
Kep Lodge
Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Battambang, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

stayed here with my boyfriend for a few days and really liked it. that being said it is a bit expensive for what you get, and the dogs are no good. However we liked it and will return. The owner, Dan, is a nice swiss guy and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    105
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
68
140
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights after 3 months in Cambodia and although the grounds are beautifully done up with lush vegetation and tasteful bungalows, the resort is vastly overpriced.

For 33usd per night, our room had no tv or aircon. It was basic with mosquito net having a couple of holes in the seams, which cost us a number of bites. Also, on the first night, we didnt have a hot water.

The restaurant was equally disappointed. We had 8usd crab cakes, which for the price came without tartar souce (apparently run out) and the potatoe side dish lacked any taste.

The staff is very friendly though and made for a pleasant visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Marci,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TA community. We are happy that you liked our impressive garden and our tastefully decorated bungalows.

We are not so pleased that you had wholes in the mosquito nets and will address that with my cleaning staff. That there was no water is because we have this a bit complicated gas heating system which can be sometimes complicated to maintain. That is of course not your problem and we are sorry that you had to take a cold shower.

Your bad review about our restaurant astonished me, since most of our guests are more than happy with our dishes. Of course that the crab cake had no sauce is not acceptable and shouldn't be served when we ran out of sauce. Again, sorry that your dish wasn't as expected and please believe me that this won't happen again.

We are pleased that after all you had a pleasant visit and we hope we can accommodate you again during your next visit to Cambodia.

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A lovely relaxing place with a great pool for children - our 4 year old and 21 month old loved it and we had great trouble keeping them out of it! The food was lovely and I will remember the Kep crab we had for dinner till the end of my days.

The staff were great and I would definitely stay again. We stayed for 2 nights in the deluxe double bungalow which is a hop, skip and jump from the pool and bar/restaurant area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in Kep Lodge 4 nights while in Cambodia, and would recommend it for travellers who want a relaxed and laid back experience.

We stayed in the bungalow Banana, which had a nice terasse with a hammock. The bungalow itself was quite rustic and the doors and windows did not seal off insects and the like from outside, but there was a moscito net over the bed, so it didn't matter that much. It's a "safe" way to experience the Cambodian jungle. But if you're not up for this, a better option would be to book one of the more luxuriuos bungalows.

The staff was incredibly friendly and definitely deserves a special mention! In the few days we were there it was almost like we were part of a family.

The bar/restaurant/reception area was a great place to relax and enjoy the home cooked meals which was actually the best we had in Kep. The salt water swimming pool was great for winding down after hot day trips in Kep and surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Where to start, I had 5 nights in "Banana" which I think was $42 a night, this I think was the cheapest A/C bungalow and I thought it was reasonably priced, however the other bungalows are more pricey. Nice sized room, mozzie net over the bed and a large shower room.
A nice pool, came in handy a couple of times just to cool down. Nice bar area, friendly staff although some did not speak good English so a bit of a sense of humour is handy (in fairness their English was better than my Khmer), a couple of the Cambodian staff did speak excellent English, and an English girl called Cat was helping out while stopping over on her travels. If your looking to just take it easy for a few days this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a great time at Kep Lodge but i wouldn't go back based on rooms. We tried two different rooms for a few nights each. One was a traditional style wooden hut that was charmingly built but overlooked some kind of a fetid pond/muddy pit. The house was sweet but there is a Khmer house within earshot who have cows, young kids etc and all of these liked to rise extremely early as is the Khmer way. So if you aren't so fond of being up at 5am i wouldn't recommend the standard bungalows. We then tried the more upmarket concrete bungalows which are fine and newly built but the decor is like something that my great aunt would have done in the 60s. Think frilly bedspreads, heavily laquered wood panelling and global hypercolour tiling. Given the standard of good accommodation available in cambodia upwards of $60-70 per night for the concerete bungalow was mightily expensive for cambodian standards. I think some of the other rooms are better so maybe we just had bad luck but these are likely to be more expensive. But I can't fault the bar area, laid back owner, swimming pool and staff (particularly Chanon) who were fantastic.

Room Tip: The large 2-storey bungalow looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Monsieur Rabbit,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at the KL. We were happy that you really enjoyed our salt water pool, the bar area and our welcoming staff. Thank you - I will pass your compliments on.

However we are not pleased since you wouldn't come back and I will try to improve the negative points you have mentioned - if possible.

I went and talked to the family who is living next door to our property already and told them to be more quiet at 5am when they get up, specially that their son is not so noisy and that they try that the cow doesn't make so much noise (that is more of a challenge :-)).

Regarding your second stay in one of our more expensive rooms, I only can say that of course the rooms haven't be decorated by an interior designer. However, we tried our best to make them not only comfortable but also pleasant for the eyes (with some nice paintings on the wall, terra cota tiles, give windows and glass doors). Then again, over taste you shouldn't argue.
Of course there are more modern accommodations in Kep (and in the rest of Cambodia) eg. with all concrete rooms and almost no wood, but that is not my understanding of being at a Lodge, just next to the National Park (this you have in PP en mass).
Specially a concrete bed (which there are plenty of in Kep) is in my eyes very questionable, since with a concrete bed, there is no ventilation of the mattress at all, so you can imagine how it must feel/smell after a few sweaty nights!!! Not to mention the bed bucks, which love damp areas, are a very unpleasant event.
So our bed might look from the 60ies but at least it is made out of wood and does have adequate air circulation.

We hope you will have some better designed rooms (with wooden beds) and wish you all the best on your trip throughout Cambodia.

Dan & the Kep Lodge Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Having read a few travel articles extolling the virtues of Cambodia's peaceful seaside resort town, I decided to book a week in Kep just before Christmas, choosing Kep Lodge based on the good reviews on this site as well as the information on their own website. We were not disappointed, either with the Lodge or Kep itself. It was my wife's first trip to Cambodia and having heard a few tales of caution back home in Hong Kong she was nervous about what to expect, so to find the resort clean, friendly and well managed put her at ease right away.
We booked one of the Deluxe Bungalows, very reasonably priced, with a nice big balcony enjoying views down to the ocean. It was a nice spot to sit out with a drink and wait for the sunset, with a few shy Gecko's to keep us company!
The restaurant/bar which doubles as reception is a nice place to relax and they have a decent pool table. The food is decent fare also, we ate here on quite a few occasions when we couldn't be bothered to make the trip down to the crab market or to one of the other resorts.
The location is good, set up on the hillside there is a steep but short path up to the National Park where one of the Lodges' dogs will probably keep you company you should you choose to go for a stroll, and also walking distance down to the Sailing Club which we found a great place to have a few happy hour cocktails at sunset and then stay for dinner. It's a 5 minute tuk tuk ride to the crab market or a few minutes more to Kep beach.
The pool was small but clean and nice to laze around in on the afternoons, and the dragonflies buzzing overhead are a welcome sight, they eat the Mosquitos!
Overall we couldn't have asked for more. The owner Dan, his wife and his friendly team of staff were very forth coming with advice to help you plan a few excursions such as day trips to Rabbit Island, Kampot and Bokor Mountain, or the Pepper plantations and the caves. And when that seemed like too much effort, just sitting around the resort and dining on the delicious local crab fried with fresh green pepper was a joy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kep Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.