We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful if you book the Lychee Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kep Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kep Lodge to your Saves list
Kep Lodge
Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful if you book the Lychee Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The welcome was underwhelming - there didn't seem to be any real system or anyone in charge. The owner/manager? was never in evidence and although we did see him eating late one evening with his wife he never made any attempt to speak to any guests despite it being a very small resort hotel. Thank goodness for Channon - the best asset this hotel has. She was helpful, friendly and efficient although we never quite understood what her position was as she seemed to do everything!
Hotel is in a beautiful position and is very pretty with a lovely dining and pool area. We had booked the Lychee Room - the best in the place - so were very happy with it and so we should have been as it was more expensive than our suite in Bangkok or our hotel in PP. Food is good but also PP prices!
Lots of things to be improved, e.g. 'free bicycles' are so poor that they are not worth using, the snorkelling equipment promised was broken and unuseable

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Twooldies,

Thank you for your time to write a review on TA. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time at our Kep Lodge. We are in an everlasting process to make the Kep Lodge better and better, so the reviews are very important for us. Let me respond to the negative points you mentioned.

I don't know what went wrong with your Welcoming/Check-In-Process. Normally this is done in a very professional way and has been trained a lot. We do have a reservation system which works totally fine. Sorry if there was some confusion.

It is right that I didn't talk to my guests a lot in the last 2 weeks, but normally I care a lot. I have been building another room at my house and was therefore quite tired in the evening.

Chanon is a real angel as you remarked correctly. We are so happy to have her and she is not only a great manager, but also a wonderful person with always a smile on her face!

We know about the issue with the bicycles and I think it is time to buy new ones. Thank you for the tip.

Regarding the snorkeling equipment. I am sorry if there was a misunderstanding but we don't have any equipment anymore (or only unusable ones). You can get this equipment normally direct at the Rabbit Island or from one of the different agents who sell the tickets to Rabbit Island.

Our restaurant prices are for obvious reasons more expensive than they are in a local restaurant (view respond below), but if you compare our prices to other western guest houses/restaurants in the area we are quite moderate.

I hope we can welcoming you again and see the improvements we have done.

Dan & Cheang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    105
    35
    18
    12
See reviews for
67
140
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed at Kep Lodge for three nights with our young daughter. The bungalow was charming and great value (nice views of the bay from our balcony). Fantastic swimming pool and excellent quality food. Staff were attentive and helpful and we would love to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We just came back from traveling in Cambodia and Vietnam. We stayed in six different hotels and Kep Lodge was by far the best. The place was very well kept and looked after, it had a very nice atmosphere and excellent food.
We were planning to stay there for one night and we ended up staying for 3. We had booked two bungalows, durian and another one I can't remember and they were secluded with amazing views of the sunset.
The rooms as I said were very clean and well kept, spacious and with hot water. We had a hammock in the balcony which was ideal for chilling out.
The food was excellend and initially we were planning to eat out but we never did. The staff was excellent and very friendly, we played pool together and we had a good laugh. They have arranged everything for us for really good prices (eg crossing the borders to Vietnam, trip to Rabbit Island). We stayed for 3 nights, ate and drunk like kings and we only spent $140 each including transport to Vietnam and boat to Phu Quoc (and we ate quite a lot including crab and squid).
The grounds of the hotel were simply beautiful and they had lots of unusual plants, a very chilled out restaurant and a very good swimming pool. They also have some super cute dogs.
We all thought that this was the best place in our trip and we are definetely going back and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I really loved the Kep area and I also found Kep Lodge quite nice. We stayed in Lycee bungalow. The price was bit high and breakfast was just ok but the service was nice even if they forgot to book motorcyckles for us. The pool was the best thing. It was nice to lay there and look the sunset. Only thing that really bothered me was that striped dog that terrorised the young ones and no one seemed to care.. The dog didn't let the puppys even stay in the main building and was chasing them all the time. It bit one of them that was crying like hell. It really disturbed me and I don't understand why the striped one is not operated?!?!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We chose the two rooms that are sold as 'de-luxe', 'Lychee and Melon' at $65.00 for the lower of the two storey/two room building and $75.00 for the upper one. It should be said that $75.00 is a fairly high price in Cambodia and generally buys you excellent accomodation, we had just stayed at the amazing 'Sanctuary' hotel in Battembang that was simply stunning and well into the 5 star rating, so were expecting good things from Kep lodge despite knowing that Kep would be a bit pricier due to the relatively small amount of accomodation available.On reflection judging a property that is essentially a $30.00 set up but is flogging a couple of rooms for top dollar is probably not 100% fair but I feel the owners have got it all wrong by attempting to sell superior accomodation (that isn't) in an inferior compound.The regular cottages looked OK and if you could over look the general poor set up, I suppose are not too bad an option. Our rooms were gloomy, furnished with battered furniture and generally had a neglected air about them, something you could overlook for much less money but at these prices were simply a con. The grounds of the guest house, despite being elevated with a good view to the sea, shared the same neglected look and simply needed a bit of attention. I would have thought the staff that seemed to spend a lot of time playing pool in the bar would have been put to better use at some times, cleaning up the grounds. As is usual in Cambodia there were many dogs roaming around the property. I have no problem with this, we loved a couple of them and are avid dog lovers. I do however not want to share my meals with them sleeping all over the restaurant floor and at one time copulating in front of us at breakfast!, let alone having two sleep on our verandah sofa that rendered it un- usable due to slobber and hair. The pool is the nicest part but again suffers from neglect and is marred by having a selection of broken and disintigrating umbellas and only 7 sun beds for all the guests and anyone who wants to use the pool for $5.00!. (there is also a pile of baby toys in the pool for the resident owners kids). Again, judging from a $75.00 standpoint, the breakfast is utterly dreadful. Scrambled eggs of varying quality with a bit of bread a fruit, OK for the $30.00 set up, not the higher end, our $25.00 guest house in Siem Reap managed a much more luxurious affair!. The fact that they will credit you with $1.00 towards an a-la-carte breakfast if you skip the included one shows the value they place on it. The advertised 'free bicycles' are unusable but should be museum pieces!, we attempted using them but after 1 minute one chain broke and the other 3 had punctures and no brakes working but hey, you can pay $2.50 for better ones, funny that....So to re-cap, for the price we paid it was a bad deal, a complete waste of money. If you take the cheaper rooms you still have to contend with the owner running the place as an extention of his home (seeing that might be a bit scary) and put up with depressing surroundings and dodging dogs/kids and frugal breakfasts, on the whole, with the new places opening up in Kep...do some homework and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keplodge, Owner at Kep Lodge, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Hello DruryDrury,

First of all I would like to apologize if you didn't like your stay at the Kep Lodge. Most of our guests are very happy here and don't have the same problem like you had. Let me respond to both of your reviews in one reply.

The rooms you stayed in are brand-new, very spacious and equipped with all the amenities you can think of with a 20m2 balcony. The hot shower system is for the rest of our guests quite easy to use (it is a gas system and explained while check-in and written down on a info sheet in the room).
It is true that we do have dogs and my two children, sometimes more from the guests. Of course the kids like to swim and play and most of the time the guests also play in the pool. I don't know why you have been disturbed by the few toys and balls in the pool? Yes we only have 7 sunbeds, 2 tables with 4 chairs and 3 relaxing chairs but that is normally more than enough, since our guests like to explore the area during the day. We don't charge 5$ for the pool. Outside guests have to eat or drink for 5$ to use the pool, which I think is only fair when you want to use such a beautiful pool. Our sun-umbrellas are 5month old and the sun-mattresses are brand-new.

The Kep Lodge is located on 10'000m2 of land and we have 3 guys taking care of the garden. Again, most of our guests are quite impressed with the garden, but apparently not you. Of course our staff play pool when there is nothing to do and when they have finished their work.
For breakfast you have the choice of either a khmer soup, eggs with an entire baguette or bread, butter and home made jam. This comes with a fruit salad and your choice of quality tee or coffee. Again, for the other guests this is enough and quite ok (nothing special), but for sure nothing to complain about.
Our bicycles are not new and are not mountain bikes but they do the job. I personally checked them and they are ok. Maybe 1 did have a broken chain, but the rest are ok. We constantly fix them, since they are not bikes from Europe and tend to need a lot of attention. Of course they are no mountain bikes and that is why you have the choice to rent those next door.

My house is on the other side of the compound and of course my children are sometimes in the restaurant. Do you want me to look them in my house? Check on my webpage and you see that I have a family. Did you think that you don't see them when you were staying with us?
And why did you find the surroundings depressing? We have plenty of fruit trees, flowers and other plants and a beautiful view down the ocean from each bungalow. Very relaxing and with always a breeze. I think you underestimate the maintenance of such a big compound. Of course there are sometimes old leaves lying around and not everything is like in a picture book, but at the end we are a Lodge, situated just below the national park, so call it nature.

Of course you get a much higher class accommodation for the same price in Siem Reap with all the competition going on there and most of the hotels half finished or empty. But I still think that for the price you pay at the Lodge you get quite a lot. Just check out the other reviews of our place.

Best regards,

Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa, Yemen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We have spend very good moments saved in our memories in Kep Lodge, the kids had very good time.ertz

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

A friend of mine and I stayed here at the end of our trip to Cambodia, just before taking off for Vietnam. It was very rustic, the rooms are like little straw huts in the forest, but the beds are huge and so comfortable. We had a few weird nature-like experiences (a cat that got into our room somehow and was chasing geckos) but nothing bad at all. In fact, it was kind of funny.

The owner and his wife are both really nice and our waiter while we were there (I can't remember his name but he was a really nice, young guy from Takeo) was really wonderful. We definitely missed the hospitality of Cambodia when we got to Vietnam!

We also loved the pool (and the view with a beer at sunset). There was a little bit of nightlife in Kep (sort of, kind of), but we kept it pretty mellow, but the main lodge at the guesthouse is fun. You meet a lot of the other guests and we stayed up late drinking wine and playing pool with the owners and some tourists from Switzerland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kep Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Lodge

Address: Pepper Street 1, Kep 8888, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Lodge will make your holidays as relaxed as possible. Our salt water infinity pool with a stunning view over the ocean, our well stocked lounge-bar, the pool table, the delicious food with some Swiss specialties, the private bungalows with hot water, minibar, kettle, private balcony, the lush green, well maintained garden, the nice and welcoming staff - all these things will make you never want to leave again. A warm welcome to you! Our brand new stylish Deluxe Bungalows with air con and fan, safe, TV/DVD with small sound system, tea/coffee maker, minibar, mp3 player, king size spring mattresses and a 15m2 balcony with sofa corner, hammock and one of the best views in Kep down to the Gulf of Thailand. Our newest edition is the extension of the restaurant with an additional floor, which gives you the fantastic sea-view everybody is writing home about, which can also used as a lounge or meeting room for small to medium conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kep Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kep Hotel Kep

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kep Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.