We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great as a getaway location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Natural Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Natural Resort to your Saves list
Veranda Natural Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kep Hillside Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kep
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really great as a getaway location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Was riding around Cambodia and Kep was the midpoint of my trip. Stayed at the Veranda for 3 days to unwind and it was one of the highlights of my trip. I stayed in the Cave Room, which was great. The pool is fantastic and the breakfast is amazing. Can not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    177
    66
    18
    4
See reviews for
102
246
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ok, so it's perched on top of a hill (which means a climb if you are walking) but the views are great, the atmosphere is natural charm and you can also hire a cheap Tuk Tuk to get you to where you want to go. The stone bathrooms were a favorite and the open are beds - we had our own section. Had the best meal while we were in Cambodia here - yummo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Verandah six times and every time I leave just a little disappointed. It is such a beautiful place and there are some lovely details and small touches - pebble and tile walls and patterns in the pathways, plants everywhere, some beautiful wooden features in the rooms. However, service is often, especially in the evenings, often pretty sparse. On this trip, my children and I returned to the hotel at 11.15pm on a Saturday evening after a wedding elsewhere. There was no-one at the reception desk and our key, unlike five others that were left on the desk for anyone to take, was nowhere to be seen. There was not one member of staff anywhere and I had to search the dark rambling grounds in the hope of finding someone. No luck. I called the mobile number only to hear the phone ringing behind the empty front desk. The security guard at the carpark, finally attempted to call someone without any luck initially and then walked off. More than half an hour after us arriving, a sleepy young man, came and found my room key. This all seemed crazy to me given that it was a weekend and the guesthouse appeared quite full. After past incidences of having to wait nearly two hours to check in, having incorrect room charges, constant disturbances by renovation work, stepping over dogs to get around and generally feeling as though our needs were unimportant, I have finally promised myself to stay at one of the many new places springing up in Kep next time and leaving The Verandah to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our Cambodian holiday. This place has been built to blend in with the surrounding environment (it backs onto a national park). It is perched towards the top of a hill and the views from the Veranda restaurant down to the ocean are amazing. The pool area was beautiful and we spent many hours relaxing on a sun lounge with a good book and delicious cocktail! The bakery sells delicious sweets and served one of the better espresso coffees I have had in Cambodia. There is a small shop near reception where you can buy snacks, drinks, toiletries etc. You can walk to the crab market from the hotel (approx 10 minutes) and a tuk tuk ride back costs $2. If you visit the crab market you have to try the Kampot pepper crab! The staff are very friendly and always greet you with that warm Cambodian smile. I would highly recommend this place if you are visiting Kep.

Room Tip: Bungalow 4 had a more private deck as it was away from the other rooms and common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I make it a point to only review properties that we really like. Therefore, this one deserves a review. Gorgeous views, very nice rooms and a beautiful property. What we liked most about it was that it seemed to disappear into the jungle -- its totally organic with its surroundings. We stayed in a Rosewood room, which was absolutely lovely with an incredible view of the ocean and a private outdoor seating area and daybed. If we had one complaint, it was that the shower had minimal water pressure, but beyond that, it was ideal. We had massages at the spa, which were excellent and the breakfast and on site bakery were both very good. I'd highly recommend this property -- its unique, natural and very close to the national park for trekking. And Kep itself is absolutely charming. My only regret is that we weren't able to stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosewood room, which was very nice, but I'd look into the bungalows if I had it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

the Veranda is a tropical paradise in the midst of some difficult times in traveling Cambodia. It is extremely clean and the service is fantastic. It is set into the side of a mountain and the wood and natural appeal is something you will rarely find. Make sure you stop here. The food is fantastic as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We returned for our fourth stay at this wonderful hotel. We had previously stayed in the one bedroom timber bungalows. (see my earlier reviews). None were available this year but was offered the delux family retreat by Sambath, their customer service officer. Sambath has always been very helpful, last year phoning me in the UK to check on some details. We were travelling with my son and fiance who both live and work in Phnom and the price was comparable with the two bungalows we normally booked. The retreat was excellent. there were two separate bedrooms (both en suite) which opened out onto a large balcony complete with sun loungers. The view looked out across the Gulf of Thailand and below was a canopy of trees. There has been some expansion at the hotel but done so there is no loss of character. A welcome addition is a new side entrance which saves walking further up the hill to the main entrance. The buffet style breakfast offers a wide range food to suite all tastes and If you dine in later, the standard is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Natural Resort

Address: Kep Hillside Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kep
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Veranda Natural Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIDDEN below Kep National Park overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Phu Quoc Island (Vietnam) and Bokor Mountain, you find a retreat dedicated to the finer things in life: beauty, tranquility and great food. Here, just a few hours from Phnom Penh airport, you feel light years away from the crowds, ready to experience the true Kep in its entire splendor. The retreat presents a unique concept with raised wooden walkways made of stones and wood connecting all our private bungalows in the resort. Visit some of the area’s most iconic attractions or find your own hidden gems. Or maybe just lounge by one of the biggest salt-water pools in Kep, enjoying views of natural surroundings including uncounted exotic fruit trees as the tropical breeze carries fragrances from nearby flowers from the wild mountains. Welcome to Veranda Natural Resort - enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Veranda Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Natural Hotel Kep
Veranda Natural Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Natural Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.