We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to 'watch paint dry'!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Veranda Natural Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Veranda Natural Resort to your Saves list
Veranda Natural Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Kep Hillside Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An excellent place to 'watch paint dry'!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stumbled upon the veranda after looking for somewhere to stay in Kampot. I had originally dismissed staying in Kep as I read on a forum that it was a great place to watch paint dry. I am glad I ignored this in the end as I think Kep was one of the nicest places we have stayed in Cambodia!

After an initial mix up with the booking in which we arrived from Phnom Pehn and were told that our booking on Agoda would not be honored as they were 'full'. The staff tried to put us in a nearby hotel but after some persistence from us and some creative manoeuvring from them a room was miraculously found. It was a two bedroom room with a huge terrace overlooking the water. It was magical!! After initially only wanting to stay one night we extended our stay to three unfortunately we had to move to a smaller room, the rosewood room that had no view (except of the car park). Despite this we still enjoyed the rest of our stay. The breakfast had an excellent amount of variety and the pool was great. There were also a number of nooks and crannies to relax and enjoy the view and a good book like in the library situated above the bakery.

There were some negatives about the place though that you might like to be aware of. Firstly the water pressure in both rooms we stayed in was non existent. In order to get hot water in the second room we were advised to let the water run for 10 minutes first! Also when we stayed there it was quite busy and on one occasion there were not enough pool loungers to go around. Also although I found the food and beverage staff to be very friendly and helpful we were not fans of the staff at reception, they could have been a bit more pleasant!

Initially I thought my review was going to be a negative one but after weighing everything up it really was a lovely relaxing stay. I would recommend the short 10 minute walk down the hill to the crab market to eat at the Kimly restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent!!

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a view, the rooms overlooking the water are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    193
    68
    18
    5
See reviews for
116
270
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights was supposed to be 6 but they had no room so we moved to Knai Bang Chatt. We stayed in the cave. Nice room, a bit on the dark side, we were unable to sit outside in the nice seating area due to the mossies. Could have done with a bit more storage for clothes. We had AC, a flat screen tv, wifi, separate bathroom but no safe. The door is concertina style and you have to make sure the bolts are in place before you lock the main door. Breakfasts are served buffet style, plenty of choice and a cracking view. We also ate here twice (as my partner was ill so we couldn't stray very far if you know what i mean) and the food was very nice. First day we stayed by the pool and there was building work going on immediately next door, although it didn't spoil our day. The resort is up a hill on what seems like a dry river bed and the tuk tuk drivers weren't keen to go to the top, but would drop us at what seems to be a new reception area for you to walk through, also take a torch if your walking at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everett, WA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

An absolutely beautiful setting. We stayed four nights. The first two in the luxury, nonrustic two bedroom suite with a deck as big as the room. (C3,4). The last two nights we stayed in a more rustic room but just as nice. Again 2 bedrooms and two baths. Spectacular sunsets from the deck complete with hammock. Food was good and pretty reasonable considering you are a 30 minute walk to town but tuk tuks are plentiful for about $2. Resort located steps away from entrance to national park with miles of trails. Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Bungalow b2 with 2bedrooms probably one of the best sunset views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday in unspoilt terrain in Cambodia, this one is for you! It lacks the brash, tourist feel of some of the 'party' spots, which was exactly what we wanted. It has a lovely, clean aspect and is close to a beautiful mountain. Hire bikes and go cruising through the district and eat fresh local seafood. The staff are gorgeous, the pool is stunning, and make sure you take some time out in the amazing Spa facilities. The buffet breakfast is simply out of this world, in terms of variety and quantity. Best time I spent in Cambodia!

Room Tip: Be careful to enquire if the bungalows or cottages have doors on the bathroom. This can be awkward f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A beautiful hotel with stunning views. We stayed in a deluxe family room which was perfect for our family of five. It was directly under the restaurant so a bit noisy, but I think this is the only rooms that have this problem. Beautiful pool. Be prepared to walk as the resort is set on.a hillside. Food was good and the restaurant location is top notch. The breakfasts were delicious, fresh and varied. Service can be a bit slow and everyone seemed so serious, but they did their jobs well. Kep is a quaint little town, go there before it is a major tourist stop.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a10 and a11, as they are right above the restaurant and can get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the private pool villa with its own waterfall. A beautiful two floor villa with bar, outdoor kitchen and ensuite luxury rooms. No need to leave the villa for anything but the views from the numerous verandas and the communal pool were equally as stunning. A fantastic buffet breakfast and complementary fruit basket and champagne added to the luxury. I would definitely come again. Quite pricey but well worth every dollar. Our 12 year old loved it here and didn't want to leave.
Dont use the resort shop as even water is overpriced but its only a short walk to the crab market where you can grab what you need.

Room Tip: All rooms completely different
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What a great escape this is from the chaos of Phnom Penh and the tourist trap of Siem Reap. Located high up on a hill outside of Kep fishing market, this is the perfect place to simply chill for a few days. Hire some bikes and explore the rural surrounds, the locals in the villages love posing for photos! The rooms at Veranda are on stilts, high above the jungle floor. They are rustic, open to the elements, but that’s part of the charm. Don’t stay here if you don’t want bugs to interrupt your part open aired shower or toilet! The bar area and restaurant area is massive; the fresh fruit cocktails are awesome. Great spot to watch the sun go down over a bite to eat and drink. Patchy wi-fi but why would you want to check your emails here? Large, modern pool completes this excellent off the beaten track guesthouse.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Veranda Natural Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veranda Natural Resort

Address: Kep Hillside Road, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kep
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Veranda Natural Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIDDEN below Kep National Park overlooking the Gulf of Thailand, Phu Quoc Island (Vietnam) and Bokor Mountain, you find a retreat dedicated to the finer things in life: beauty, tranquility and great food. Here, just a few hours from Phnom Penh airport, you feel light years away from the crowds, ready to experience the true Kep in its entire splendor. The retreat presents a unique concept with raised wooden walkways made of stones and wood connecting all our private bungalows in the resort. Visit some of the area’s most iconic attractions or find your own hidden gems. Or maybe just lounge by one of the biggest salt-water pools in Kep, enjoying views of natural surroundings including uncounted exotic fruit trees as the tropical breeze carries fragrances from nearby flowers from the wild mountains. Welcome to Veranda Natural Resort - enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Veranda Natural Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veranda Natural Hotel Kep
Veranda Natural Resort All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veranda Natural Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.