We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mealea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mealea Resort to your Saves list
Mealea Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #25, Street 33A, Phum Prey Thom, Kep, Cambodia., Kep 855, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 37 Kep B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tropical Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This charming, small boutique get-a-way has recently changed owners and has been renamed as Mea Lea Resort. The rooms are comfortable and vert clean and the staff is super friendly. Plus, the location unbeatable for Kep, just a short walk to the Crab Market

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorsaran, General Manager at Mealea Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for such an in-depth review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mealea Resort and your exploration of Kep, Cambodia. We appreciate your kind commends regarding to the attentive service and food. We hope that during your next stay you will experience the Unique rooms at Poolside Deluxe Bungalow which indeed possess the "Character"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel has a great location and could have so much going for it as it is opposite a little beach and the crab markets. But it feels like no one cares. Staff that weren't very helpful, a room with a very smelly bathroom and brown water, a bright green pool that you couldn't swim in (and one of the only reasons we booked this hotel was because it had a pool, as the days were so hot while we were there). When my husband complained about the pool he got told it was because they had put the wrong mix of chemicals into the pool and it would be fine in a couple of hours but it wasn't even when we checked a couple of days later. Ants in our breakfast, stale bread and you had to pay extra for juice and fresh fruit - which was the first and only time that we had to do this in our whole month of travel throughout Vietnam and Cambodia.

We booked in for two nights but left after the first night!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel is small but very welcoming and the rooms are big and spacious (we stayed in one of the red clay ones), there is a small but sufficient pool and an open restaurant area. The hotel is situated across the road from the 'private beach' (really a sandy topped sea wall with some tables and chairs) which is a fantastic place for breakfast and to watch the sunset. Nicholas the French owner is a wealth of local information and definitely worth talking to. He recommended the Sunset restaurant in the crab market (about 200m away but not close enough to disturb) which was fantastic. I would also highly recommend a trip to the Sailing club for evening drinks. Downsides in the hotel would be that if the shower is not pointed correctly there is a tendency for water to flow into the room, the toilets can be a bit fiddly flushing and the breakfast was pretty average (with the exception of the Mango Jam which is insanely good...). All in all, a great little base to explore Kep for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

We didn't like Kep at all. It's really run down and the beaches are a mess with litter everywhere. The sea is murky. There are stray dogs everywhere. We understand that Cambodia is in a big transition in terms of tourism. However, Kep is nowhere near ready yet! If you like it back to basics and don't mind not having your comforts (hot water and a toilet that flushes) the Champey Inn will be fine for you. The room we stayed in was finished in red clay. It makes it very dark and there is not enough light in the bathroom. There was a safe, but not attached to anything, so anyone could pick it up and walk off with it if they got into the room. It's also quite lifeless, so if you like your own company, you are fine here. 2 days is enough in Kep. We were due to stay 2 nights, but we left after 1. We would have stayed in Kampot longer as it was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

After a bad hotel experience near Kep Beach, we checked into Champey for two nights. There are two types of bungalows. One type has thatched roofs and a bathroom area without roof coverage. The other has been updated to a clay roof and an enclosed bathroom. We paid $50/night to stay in the latter. The a/c was very powerful and we even had a second bed.

The breakfast was unremarkable and we had problems with drainage in our bungalow (#4). Those checking out when we checked in complained of construction noise, but it didn't bother us. The pool was decent, the room clean and there was a nice waterfront area to enjoy a drink. It is the hotel closest to the Crab Market, which is where we ate every meal in Kep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

If you want polished surfaces and are a bit precious about your bathroom and toilet situation, and think that a flat screen tv is a necessity this is not for you. If you want magnificent sunsets, a nice little pool, no real dustractions and very pleasant surroundings, the Champey in Kep is for you. I thought it was lovely, my travelling companion was less enthusiastic. It is about 200 metres walk to all the seafood restaurants, and it currently only offers a seafood menu itself which is a bit of an issue if ypu don"t eat seafood. The bathroom is a semi open air deal but that was a positive because it meant there was no bathroom pong as is so common in Asia. There are cheaper places to stay in Kep but this was a definitive thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The resort is located next to a little strip of beach, where you can choose to eat your breakfast or drink a cocktail at sunset.
The bungalow we stayed in, had an safari lodge looking interior. Very nice with 1 kingsize bed and 1 single bed and outside bathroom. There is no television in bungalow. But who needs it?
The breakfast is made on request.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mealea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mealea Resort

Address: #25, Street 33A, Phum Prey Thom, Kep, Cambodia., Kep 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mealea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mealea Resort Kep, Cambodia!A new generation of Bungalows Resorts that deliver ultra-luxury in design, space and bespoke hospitality combined with comfort and hospitality offers a warm, welcoming atmosphere for all our guests.The Bungalows in an oasis of calm, sea bank offers a private hideaway in central Kep. Hidden in a fragrant garden surrounding a shady pool, Mealea resort overlooks to beach and is located just around the corner from the Crab market and the popular street 33A, with its shops, bars and restaurants.Mealea Resort offers 10 unique rooms blending contemporary elegance with Cambodian traditions, 10 Bungalow rooms in a traditional Khmer Cottages.Escape from the heat and bustle of the city, relax and lose yourself in secluded tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Mealea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mealea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.