We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little R & R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bacoma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bacoma to your Saves list
Bacoma
Street 33A, Kep 07503, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A little R & R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked here simply because we met someone who had stayed here and said it was their favourite place in Cambodia. We hadn't actually planned on going to Kep but we are so glad we did!

Bacoma is situated just a couple of minutes walk from the Crab market and it set in the prettiest gardens we have seen so far in SE Asia.

We decided on the basic bungalow which at only 10USD per night was a steal. The bathroom is shared, often not just with other guests but with a little wildlife :). I actually saw the most amazing gecko I have ever seen in my life here and am just bummed I didnt get a photo.

The hosts are warm and welcoming and their little son is so cute.

The food is amazing and made to order. It is so fresh and delicious we ended up eating here a couple of the days.

The large communal space and the cinema room are awesome for chilling out and we spent most of our time lazing on the sofas in the sunshine. This is really a place to get away from it all and just chill out!

They have bicycles free to use so we cycled into Kep one of the days - there isnt really much to it but the cycle is pretty nice along the seafront.

Our favourite thing was the proximity to the Crab markets, both my boyfriend and I have agreed that the meal we had there was one of the best we have had on our trip around the world. We went to Sokheang (sp?) which is right next to Sunset restaurant and it was AMAZING! If you stay at Bacoma you have to go here and try the fried crab with Khmer sauce and the Shrimp Tom Yum. Soooo good.

We loved it here and would recommend it to anyone wanting to chill out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the fifth month now that I am traveling around in South East Asia and I have been to many places which I really liked, but this was the most perfect one! My stay at Bacoma turned out to be like I had been invited to the ranch of my best friend. The owner Michael and his family were happy to see me and did everything to make me feel comfortable. I got a five star service for backpacker price, in a beautiful and peaceful environment. Bacoma is a good place for families with little children - Michael and Seraina have a lively son of five themselves. Further for honeymooners, solo travelers, for people seeking peace, a good night sleep and have pleasure in nature. For people who appreciate cleanliness, orderliness, good food. And also good movies, as Michael is an expert with a huge collection which you can watch on a big screen. It is not a place for loud party animals, big drinkers, roughnecks and freeloaders. I would like to mention this as I wish that Bacoma remains like it is and everybody has such a good time here as I did and the people who stayed same time and before. I'll plan to return for a longer time next year. In addition would like to highlight the food, which is freshly made, healthy, a right portion and very tasty. All this for an affordable price. Bacoma is just amazing, I love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great small and cosy place. We went there in July so it was raining a lot but this was almost better because it was nice and breezy. Everything is open but sheltered off too. There is a movie screen outside, a pool table, and a bunch of lounging chairs. For only 5USD a night per person, I could not believe how good the rooms were. Massive bed with mosquito net, fan, and a cool ventilation system at the top of the bungalow to keep it cool. Micheal owns the place and he is a fantastic host. We drank with him all night at the bar and had a great time. Definitely recommended. The location is fine as well, Kep isn't exactly the biggest happening place so Bacoma is a nice place to spend the evening and relax with friends. The only problem was that the shower was cold.

Room Tip: Just get the bungalow without a bathroom. The shared bathroom is absolutely fine, it's clean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A perfect place to stay, it has it all. It is new and beautiful. The little huts are gorgeous. The set up is stunning. The owner and his family are so friendly and helpful.. And the food, :)) You wont want to leave this place! It really has it all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay as a base for traveling around Kep, and even Kampot. Very close to the delicious Crab Market too!

Michael, his wife & their kid are very friendly and entertaining. We ended up staying for five nights, despite being rained in and not being able to do much, as the family were so welcoming and it felt almost like home staying at Bacoma.

The chill-out, restaurant/cafe area is a great place to watch the rain, use the wifi or hang out with the family. The 'cinema' in particular was a favourite of ours as we were able to watch a movie every night (sometimes even two movies!).

Bungalows were cute and 'hobbit-like' with a mosquito net. Ample hooks for hanging clothes too. A rarity!

Three bathrooms between 5 bungalows meant no waiting times. These bathrooms were huge too, again with a great number of hooks for clothes, and were cleaned everyday first thing.

All in all, an amazing stay. Thanks Michael & Family.

Emma & Lionel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this lovely, tranquil Resort and could have stayed forever! Michael the swiss-owner is a very very friendly and helpful guy! Also his charming wife and his cute son Somnang! The stone bungalow are really cozy surrounded by a lush garden. It really suits everyone, from family's, Solo-Traveller and Backpackers. The Lounge-Area is great to relax or enjoying the great food from michael wife's! We had without exaggerating the best schnitzel there outside from vienna!! ;-) But not only the western dishes are superb as well the khmer-dishes are delicious! And if you are missing watching a good movie, just ask Michael and he will roll his screen down in his fancy "open-air Cinema"! You only have to choose the movie! :-) Everything is nearby if you want discover Kep. Only a short stroll to the famous Crab-market and nationalpark.
An awesome place, we can't recommend it enough!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 3 friends stayed for a few nights in May 2013. Everything exceeded our expectations. The rooms were bungalow style and very cute. The beds were much more comfy than any we had had on the trip in Cambodia and Thailand. What made this place really special was the owner though. He was super friendly and very accommodating. He treated us like we were friends coming for a visit! Thanks again if you are reading this! We will definitely be staying there again, if ever back in Kep. :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bacoma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacoma

Address: Street 33A, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows and Khmer traditional houses.Located within short walking distance from Crab Market, Kep Beach and Kep National Park.Restaurant serving Khmer & Western food, full bar with cocktails, pool table. Free Wifi. Public laptop.TV-hut with big screen (2.5m) for sport & movies.Great chill out spot for after your daytrip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bacoma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacoma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.