We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection, well presented and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge de Wam - CLOSED

L'Auberge de Wam
Seaside | Behind Kep Market, Kep 01800, Cambodia
036 210095
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Cambodian, Chinese, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gibsons, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good selection, well presented and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We cycled to this restaurant in the morning, checked it out over a coffee, and reserved a table for the evening.

Location on the beach just past the fishing village is interesting, though a long way from most of the action (and a $3 tuk tuk ride). There was a strong breeze so there was no problems with mosquitoes.

The menu is interesting with a good balance between western, French and local cuisine. Prices are high by Kep standards.

We had the prawn/potato/cucumber salad and rillette salad for starters. Both were interesting and tasty. The steak with pepper sauce and fries was very good and so was the stir fried prawns in Ricard. Unfortunately there was a mix up in the order (#24 instead of #34) and a burger arrived instead of the stir fried prawns. This was easily rectified, but did interfere with the enjoyment.

Our fellow diners included a very loud person holding forth at great length on some subject and commanding the attention of not only his table but of most of the restaurant staff as well. Somewhat annoying.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    34
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
alameda
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very nice location and setting. Waitstaff very friendly and efficient. Foos was good with several types of food. Soup excellent. Dessert was great. Bring your Deet because the mosquitoes were pretty bad.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stopped in for lunch yesterday and as we were a little Khmer fooded out we went for sandwiches on fresh homemade baguettes and a salad.
The food was beyond good ( if one can become super enthused about a sandwich ... Shows what three weeks of rice can do to a person ) they gave us complementary little nibbles of pâté, smoked salmon and Camembert cheese .... Very yummy
Excellent service and a very wide choice of French cuisine which if the sandwiches and the home made bread are anything to go by would have been amazing.
The view is great and right on the sea front ( behind the market don't be put off by the shacks you have to pass through to get there you are in the right place ) the restaurant itself is done out very nicely
My only slight comment is that the owner/ manager ? Hid behind his desk the whole time we were there and as we a were the only customers in the place he could have got up and come over to welcome us ... I would have done if I were the owner/manager

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best restaurant in Kep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

the food is amazing, a lot of choice between local food and french food, test the 'Cigalles' they are amazing !
The service is competent and friendly !
The place is beautiful ...!
best restaurant in Kep ! thank you !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The setting and the attentive staff make this place. Whilst the food is ok we didn't feel it was exceptional like many of the reviewers. An ok choice if you fancy French food in in Kep, but a tad on the pricey side.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Auberge de Wam also viewed

 
Kep, Kep Province
Kep, Kep Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge de Wam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.