We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta e Basta

Pasta e Basta
Kep Beach, Kep, Cambodia
036 67 66 667
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 37 restaurants in Kep
Cuisines: Cambodian, French, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A nice quiet spot in a nice quiet town.
Talk with JC and say hello to his twin daughters who have gorgeous dark eyes.
If you are French speaking then you must got chat with JC the co-owner and find out what Kep has to offer.
THe food's good and you won't find it busy and bustling ( unfortunately ).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    19
    17
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lacklustre menu, western prices, sterile atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I don't ever want to be a pain in the butt vegetarian, ever. No veggie options on the menu is fine - I ordered an entree salad with greens, poached egg and tomatoes sans the bacon, making doubly sure the server understands. It comes with bacon anyway, so I politely send it back. It returns promptly without the bacon and the picked apart bits of a poached egg. I ask if the bacon has been removed or a new salad made - again, I HATE being difficult but my meal is now a wet bowl of lettuce and stray egg bits for a staggering $5 in a French owned establishment in Cambodia. After some time, when my husband had long finished his "okay" spaggheti carbonera, another salad without bacon arrived. Sorry, can't recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampot, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Over-Rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

After giving this place multiple chances, I am probably never going back. The staff is slow, unfriendly, void of smiles, and the food is over-rated. A few years ago, at least the staff was nice. The pizza is often burnt. The staff was unable to change a $20 bill, and told me I need to get smaller money. This is acceptable at a Khmer streetside restaurant, but not from an expensive place. After asking the staff what they would have done had I not been able to get smaller money, I was greeted with silence and a zombie face. After repeating the question many times, I asked, "Do you understand?" They said yes. Determined to get answer I spent five minutes looking at zombie face silence. This place is too depressing for me.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have other reviewers had real Italian food?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have to question whether the other reviewers of this place have ever experienced good Italian food because this place was one step from out of a can spaghetti O's. We were enticed by these reviews and all four of us agreed, it was poor. The service staff also acted totally disinterested which did not help. Also, compared to other restaurants in Kep it was very expensive. Save your money and eat crab while there. It's maybe the best place in the world for that, but not Italian.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A long way from little Italy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not sure where the glowing reviewers ate...but it certainly could not have been this restaurant.

A clean, modern, open-air dining room with little else to recommend.

Food - absolutely average. Service? This was the first time in all of Cambodia where I was not sure our group was really welcomed, even though there were just 4 in our group and the restaurant was virtually empty. As for the food...overpriced and average. The pizza is thin crust and a bit bland, the pastas were again... totally.

High on potential... falls way short on delivering a memorable meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta e Basta also viewed

 

Been to Pasta e Basta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta e Basta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.