We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kep Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kep Guest House to your Saves list
Kep Guest House
Road 33a | Kep Market, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 37 Kep B&B and Inns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“peaceful retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private double with a/c which was great. although the hotel is pretty cool and the fan is sufficient, if you wanted to save money. The food was absolutely divine and great value for money (every morning I gorged on a huge plate of beautiful fresh fruit for $2!). Vincent and his wife are incredibly helpful and if you stay here you're very near the national park and the temple, for a great price. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    4
    7
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kasterlee, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Vincent and his Nepalese wife were very friendly when I arrived. I stayed in the dorm, which consists of three big sized beds. Only downside was the matrass, it was not so good but still had a good sleep here. The shared bathroom was clean and so were the rooms. The place has a good atmosphere and the food is good and reasonably priced. Expect to wait some time when you order the food, but hey, it's cambodja, kick back and relax;). They also have some very good Nepalese dishes. It's located next to Kep market and about 20 minute bike ride from the Crab market/ centre. But you can rent a bicycle very cheap. Too bad some people did not like there stay here but for me it was all good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked the balcony room and were really pleased with it. The balcony was lovely catching the sea breeze later in the day.
The bed was comfortable and room clean. We did not have hot water in the room though but as it was hot weather no real drama. The fan cooled the room Adequately and the only issue was some power cuts which were out of the owner's control.
We hired a motorbike through the guesthouse and it was fine. We had an issue with the clutch cable but it was fixed straightaway.

The only issue was room was not cleaned for the 4 days we were there so no clean towels but i am sure if we mentioned it it would have been sorted

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We didn't stay there for accommodation, but were pointed there a couple times by the owners of the guest house we stayed at for Nepalese food and for renting bicycles. Both were very disappointing, the food was 2.50$ for 'massala' that was just fried rice with a couple wedges of tomato, extremely salty and bland flavourless schluck with some vegetables tossed in as meat options were even more overpriced. Eat somewhere local along the same strip instead for a dollar cheaper.

We rented mountain bikes for 3$ which I guess is pretty standard for Kep but more expensive than Kampot which were half the price, Kampot's far better than Kep in just about every way. We quickly looked them over and the front gear slipped constantly, but I managed to get it into a working gear, but later when riding on anything but a flat surface all the gears slipped terribly, it was basically unrideable, resorted to walking up a pitifully small slope, would've preferred a fixed-gear, would've avoided this issue, but it probably doesn't help having braindead people renting them and fudging the gears either.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This guesthouse is in a bad location by the old market and dirty beach. I didn't get the room with a balcony that I booked, the window in the room looks directly into the dorm room. I have travelled extensively and have never seen this before. The attitude of the owner was to blame me saying I had booked the wrong room, which I proved to him later on was his error online. If I hadn't have booked online I would have walked out, I cancelled my next night immediately.

The room was claustrophobic hot and the bed and pillows are like a straw bails, he wouldn't even give us the remote for the air con unless we paid more. Clean bathroom powerful shower hot water.
The roof top bar is shabby, he thinks its ok to call it a bar as he will bring you a drink upstairs. He keeps all the lights switched off in the hallway, I was trying to plug cables into the wall so I could see where I was going.

We hired a moto from him to go into town for a dinner no more than a twenty min round drive trip. The gears were backwards and we felt unsafe to drive around the following day so when we checked out we explained that we didn't want to hire the bike. The owner a french man freaked out demanding we pay him, he burst into a rage threatening to go the the police station which is directly opposite, we agreed then he quickly ran and chain locked us inside, very aggressive and unnecessary we paid him $4 otherwise we couldn't leave, a very stressful horrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontois666, Owner at Kep Guest House, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello, effectively, there was a mistake on booking.com, and because it was not the room you expect, i made a discount and you kept the room.
I offered you to pay more for the air con but you declined my offer.
After i rent to you a moto and the next day at the check out , you have not wanted to pay the rent of the moto...you agrred the evening before and when the bill came, you have not wanted to pay the rent of the moto, do you think motos are for free? and if you found a moto for free in any guest house, tell me where please, i will sleep there long time...Dreams and reality are so different...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Nice and quiet place, even though it's near the market, with a small rooftop and seaview. The owner, first of all, is french and speaks good english which is really appreciated in Cambodia. Secondly the rooms are cheap. 9 dollar for a dormitory with shared bathroom and 11 to 13 for double rooms with bathroom and fan. All are quite spacious and well-maintained, although a ceiling-fan would be more efficient. The food is also cheap, with generous portions AND delicious, and you can even eat Nepalese food, or french Pastis. We also used motorbike rental, boat and bus tickets from here, and everything went good, for very reasonable prices (1000 riels to refill your water bottles, best price seen in Cambodia!). The location is east of Kep "city center", next to a charming old-style fisherman village, and it's actually just a short walk away from the boat pier to Rabbit Island, or the entrance to Kep National Park (a little longer walk maybe). It is also a little closer to Angkoul Beach and the Pepper Farms, all located east of Kep, near Kampong Trach. So all in all a very enjoyable stay. Too bad the owner is little bit awkward in his manner of offering services, like he's afraid of customers going to the competitors, but there's none in this part of Kep!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived at the bus station and the owner talked to us, and as the beds were cheap and he seemed friendly, we took a tuk tuk to his guesthouse. The house itself is okay but it certainly needs some work. There is only one small bathroom (cold shower) for all rooms in the guesthouse. Also, there is no proper place to brush your teeth, you basically have to do it in the kitchen. It is okay for a night, but made us feel a bit awkward.

As other people stated, the guesthouse is located next to Kep Market, meaning that there are not really any alternatives for going out in the evening unless you take a tuk tuk or bike. Food and drinks at the guesthouse seemed rather expensive for Cambodian standard.


What let us down was

We took some bikes out to cycle the trail in the national park. The bikes looked ok but we should have really checked them properly before leaving as one needed more air in the back tyre and the back brake did not work and only a few of the gears worked. We had requested more air but were told that it has been topped up on the previous day. On the other bike the gears would not change at all, coupled with the fact that the chain kept jumping which meant cycling up hill in the national park impossible. On the cycle back the chain broke on the second bike which was not at all surprising as it it was really rusty. After walking back to the guesthouse from the other side of town we did not receive any apology from the owner. We were told that we should have got the bikes repaired in town or phoned for him to come out. We did not know the location of the repairman or have a phone to make the call and as our bus up was due to leave shortly we made the decision to walk back. We were not angry about the situation but very surprised by the owners attitude that we were in the wrong and the lack of apology and only after a short discussion did hee agree to reduce the hire fee on each bike by 50 cents. It left an unnecessary bad taste in our mouths.

The owners wife however is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kep Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kep Guest House

Address: Road 33a | Kep Market, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kep Guest House is located in front of Kep market and you can catch all the buses in front of the guest house.It s in the middle of the village of Kep and from there you can appreciate the life of the Khmer people.There you stay between the mountain and the sea in a familial guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kep Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kep Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.