We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant to your Saves list
Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant
next to Kep Hospital, Kep, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Kep B&B and Inns
Nice, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A welcome place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 6 days in Kep and we spent them at Rega.
First let me tell you one thing, the "beaches" in kep are not good. The only place to have a nice beach is Koh tonsay. And the boat to go there is about a hundred meters from Rega. That makes it an advantage. You can rise, have a nice breakfast, take your towel, a nice boat ride and you arrive on rabbit island to enjoy the day.
Apart from that the hotel is nice, a beautiful lush garden, a bar, two dining/drinking/socializing areas.
The rooms are good, good bed, a bit of decoration. The showers could use more pressure, but they take their water from a well and it was dry season so....
The food is good but not too diversified, but as I found out you don't have many options in Kep.
The staff is very nice and helpful, they have to do with a lot of problems, such as the electricity.
We found it a very nice place, you have to get in the mood of kep, you are here to relax, do nothing, meet others and see how things are coming.

Room Tip: Choose between the 12, 13, 14, 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    37
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
10
68
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We reviewed the comments on line and decided to take a chance as the online price was $12 - $15 so was a bit sceptic. We checked in for one night intending on checking around as we were far from the Crab Market. The gardens are the best thing about the whole place. Upon check in I was told $12 when my hubby checked out he was charged $17 - I only found out later. Perhaps if you are french and miss hearing other frenchies then you will likely enjoy this place. The room was small and very dated. some of the comments mention this is a new hotel (why we were willing to give it a try) but it is not new at all. Seriously some of the comments I read I wondered if we stayed at the same place. There is no extra in the room at all. For $8. more ($25 US) we moved to Reaksmey Krong Kep which is brand spanking new right at the end or begining of the Crab Market where is where all the great seafood and meals are to be had. We stayed in Kep 5 nights and fell in love with this quaint little town. The best thing about this hotel was the restaurant that is at the pier that takes you to Rabit Island. Cheap cheap with clean outside eating overlooking the bay and Rabit Is. Do visit the Kep National Park which is the most clearly marked trails that we have seen on our visit to SE asia. There are maps everywhere and elevation posted. We would go back to Kep but not at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in #8 small and dingy. The pictures must be from 10 years ago. You need a Tuk tuk to go eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

I spent a few days in Kep @ the rega. My room was very clean and cozy, nice deco! I really appreciated the garden area and the hammocks! Green pepper shrimps were just delicious!!! It' situated very close to the pier to go to rabbit island! I took an amazing tour with Florian visiting countryside on a scooter! Loved it, we saw caves, salt pan, ate amazing crabs on angkol beach, rode through isolated villages, visited different charity associations! It was so nice to get a chance to visit all these places with someone who know the area very well! Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed for 2 days in December 2011. Had to change room because the air con didn't work in the first room. Were happy that air con was OK in the other room. Bot not for long because in this room it was not the air con but the WC which did not work. It was simply stuck. Impossible to use.

Our gentle complaints have been received by management in the morning, but nothing was done when we came back in the evening. Just imagine how it is when you not able to use WC through the night. We woke up in the morning to discover that not only the WC did not work but there was no water. And the management and the staff reacted like it was a kind of normal situation and did not offer any excuse nor compensation.

The 3 bikes in front of the hotel supposedly for free use by the customers were out of order: had flat tires. But we did not see nay rush on the part of management to solve the problem.

Food was good.
It is located far from the center, but very close to the pier where you can take a boat to the Rabbit island.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed two nights in this welcoming Guesthouse, located in a quiet street very near from the Kep National Park and the harbour for the Rabbit Island boats.
The rooms are situated around a a lovely garden with some tables, where they serve the breakfast and also lunch or dinner, if you want. There are some hammocks on the first floor, a great place to relax and read a book. The room was quite small but clean, as well as the bathroom. The bicycles that you can rent for free are not the newest ones, but okay for a short ride.
The young french couple who manages the guesthouse was very friendly and also the staff was great!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you stay in Kep. Conveniently located near the pier for Rabbit Island, it is very well maintained and clean. Rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day, the landscaped garden is gorgeous and the restaurant very reasonably priced (and very good too! we ended up eating there quite a lot during our stay; the restaurant has a good selection of western and khmer dishes).

We paid $12 for a room with fan and $17 for air/con (hot water in both). True, the rooms were not "perfect": my front door had a small gap at the top (but there was a nice mosquito net around the bed); the bathroom door would not close properly and the furniture was kept to the bare minimum. However, I would still consider this very good value for money: It is clean, pleasant (the garden!!) and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Florian and Aurelie seem to be running this hotel (and the staff) very well and are a pleasure to talk to.

The service can be a little slow, but after all we were on holiday!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The only thing wrong with Rega Hotel is its location ... it's not oceanfront. But, if it were oceanfront, the price would not be $10/day. The rooms are moderate, and the bathroom is typical for SE Asia where the shower is not separate from the rest of the bathroom. The water pressure wasn't the greatest, but the in-room hot water heater worked extremely well for 4 of the 5 mornings I was there when the water was luke warm, but hot water problems seemed to plague me throughout Cambodia. There is no fancy in-room flat screen TV - there is no TV at all - anywhere in the hotel. The closet is a rattan shelving unit with 3 bamboo hangers. Due to the unenclosed shower, there are NO electrical outlets in the bathroom - the switch and plugs are on the outside of the bathroom door. The lighting in general in the room was a bit on the dim side, but the bedside light would be OK for reading. There is a restaurant on site, and you have your choice of "French" or "American" breakfast; i.e., continental breakfast with OJ, fruit, bread & butter, and your choice of coffee (instant), chocolate (instant) or tea (pot). I recommend the hot chocolate or the tea. The dinner menu is varied and includes pasta dishes, asian dishes, plus a daily special menu board that seemed to always include a hamburger and french fries. The omlettes are good. The road in front of the hotel was a mess when I was there because a new 4-lane road from the beach to the new independence monument is under construction adjacent to the hotel, and the new road in front of the hotel has been rough graded and still gathers water when it rains. The hotel is a long "block" from the oceanfront, but a somewhat short walk to the jetty where the boat to Rabbit Island takes off every morning at 7 AM, returning at 3:30 PM. The walk from the hotel to Breezes restaurant is doable, especially if you walk along the seawall, but most folks would prefer a bike or tuk tuk. The local market is also very close to the Rega Hotel. The staff of the Rega are very helpful. I was unable to connect to the free wireless (!) and the meeter/greeter spent quite some time getting me set up - he obviously knew what he was doing. Meals were served quickly and cleared quickly. My only suggestion for improvement would be a wider selection of wine. If you like white wine, you had your choice of savignon blanc and savignon blanc, and that seemed to be the case at most restaurants in town. All in all, I rate the Rega quite high, especially for the price. The garden setting makes up for the lack of sea breezes - almost!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant

Address: next to Kep Hospital, Kep, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the rabbit island, The Rega guesthouse is located between the sea and the mountains and only two blocks away from the Kep Market.You can drink a delicious cocktail in our luxurious garden, discover the tasty French-Khmer food in our restaurant or let yourself be guided by the warm and calm atmosphere.The Rega' staff is very happy and pleased to welcome you in this unique place. * Tel & Fax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rega Kep Ma Campagne Guesthouse & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.